Sweet, Sweet Dust

Just got this email:

Greetings,

Patch 8.4 for Hearthstone introduced new infrastructure to prepare for the recently announced improvements to card drop rates. As a side effect of this change, a small number of players who opened packs after the patch launched received one fewer Legendary or Epic card than they would have otherwise. We have identified you as one of those players, and we’ve given you 2000 Arcane Dust to use however you want!

Thank you for your continued support, and we’ll see you at the Inn!

Hearthstone Team

Yeah baby! Now, what to craft …

I’d already crafted The Lich King because, duh, have to have it. I also have 3 of the DK heroes, one from the prologue reward and two from packs … shaman, warlock, and druid. I’ve had fun so far with shaman and warlock. Druid, yes, I know, it’s the strongest class right now, if you have the cards. I don’t have any Ultimate Infestation. I don’t have Aya Blackpaw or Fandral to make Jade great. I’m just kinda ‘meh’ with the druid, and don’t like it enough to spend dust on the cards I’d need for it.

As for the other DKs …

Mage, I dunno, I don’t have Antonidas or the quest so I’m not playing any of that.

Priest, yeah, you really need Raza to make it work. And I don’t have Kazakus to make a Highlander version.

Rogue … not really my class. I’m missing some staples for any of the good decks, like Edwin or Shaku. There ARE good decks, right? It’s not just an arena class? My miracle deck could benefit from an Edwin I suppose.

Paladin, no point when I don’t have Beardo to power the Exodia win condition. I also don’t have Tarym which is in every deck ever now.

Warrior, I have my quest warrior, I love it, I don’t really want to play whirlwind stuff; it’s never been my style, even when every warrior I faced featured “Everyone, get in here!”

Which leaves us with hunter. I’ve watched several of my favorite streamers create armies of zombeasts. It may not be on top, but it sure as heck looks like fun. I want it.

Now, notice, I did mention quite a few others from previous sets that I could make. In fact, there are plenty of others that weren’t mentioned, like Deathwing, or the currently very popular Black Knight. There are plenty of uses for Deathwing, and right now at this point in the meta, The Black Knight can be slotted into just about any deck. But for how long? And honestly, there are substitutes for it. Spellbreaker anyone? A simple silence removes the taunt and any buffs, deathrattles, etc. Sure, TBK removes the body as well, and if I had him I’d use him, but I’m not sure it’s worth the cost to craft him, especially when his longevity in the meta is uncertain. After all, I’m not swimming in dust here, I’m talking about enough to craft a single legendary.

Of course, each class got its own regular legendary too besides the DK heroes. Moorabi? No. Lana’thel? I don’t like discard THAT much. Hadronox? meh. Archbishop Benedictus. haha. Lillian Voss could be fun. Bolvar, Fireblood. eh. Rotface. Ok. I admit. I’d make a whirlwind warrior if I had Rotface. Putricide. He also looks like fun. What’s the mage card? Oh yeah, Sindragosa. Sexy. But … far down the list if I’m looking to craft something for a mage deck considering I don’t have Antonidas or Kazakus.

I could just craft epics instead. I still don’t have a single Doomsayer. Or Ultimate Infestation. I only have one Primordial Glyph. I don’t have any Obsidian Statues.

Sometimes, though, you just have to go with what is going to be the most fun. So … Hello Zombeasts.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

