Thankfulness Challenge

One of my favorite authors, Faith Blum, is doing a Thankfulness Challenge this month on her blog. Now I’m pretty terrible at having to come up with something every day to fit a specific topic, so I don’t usually participate in these types of things. But I do have something I’d like to share which fits the theme.

I drive pretty much the same route to work every day, even though there are many different ways I could go. Creature of habit and all that. My regular route takes me past a school, which has a 5-way intersection where everyone has a stop sign. During the school year, there is a crossing guard here in the morning. I’ve been going past this intersection for a little over two years now and it’s always the same lady. One morning as I pulled up to stop, I happened to catch her eye. So I smiled and waved and she smiled and waved back. Now, I don’t know her from Adam, and she has no idea who I am … but we recognize that our paths cross daily and so we share this little bit of connection when possible. Some mornings she’s sitting in her car or facing another direction. But at least once a week, we share our little greeting. And you know, it’s amazing how much of an impact that one simple kindness can have on how the rest of the day goes. Just starting off smiling and happy because someone else was smiling and happy and acknowledged you in this way is HUGE. And, sadly, this type of human interaction does not happen often enough these days. We’re too busy being wrapped up in ourselves or our cell phones to notice anyone around us. Try taking a moment to look around you and see if you can find an opportunity to connect with someone else. You will find that your whole attitude changes in that moment.

So, I am thankful for this crossing guard, whose smile and wave set my mornings off with a bright and positive attitude, and thankful that God put her there so that I would have this opportunity.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Thankfulness Challenge”

  1. Faith Blum Says:

    It’s great to find fans I didn’t know I had. Thanks for taking up the challenge! I love your thankfulness post. It is so true! 🙂

  2. Zeirah Says:

    I love your story Rep :), I always find it awesome if I can catch the eye of someone when I’m out and about and smile and get a smile in return. It always makes me think about how connected we all are and really excited that something as simple as a smile can make pure strangers share a moment that is really easily missed.

Leave a Reply

