Holy Cow! Cubs Win! Cubs Win! Cubs Win!

Man, I never thought THIS day would come. I’ve been a Cubs fan for 30 years. Now, I know some of you have probably been fans even longer, and that’s awesome; I’m just pointing out that this is no bandwagon I’m riding on. It’s more of an old, broken down but faithful plow horse that somehow manages to keep staggering along.

I didn’t grow up in Chicago. Heck, there was an entire state between us. When I was about 12, our rural community finally got cable TV. Now, it wasn’t like it is these days. We got about 20 channels. Probably 8 of them were home shopping or paid programming. Out of the remaining dozen channels, two of them were the big networks WGN in Chicago and TBS in Atlanta. A lot of times the choices were limited to baseball on one of those channels, or soap operas. Now I’ve always been a tomboy so the choice there was clear. I have nothing against the Braves, or at least I didn’t at the time, but their broadcasts were a bit bland compared to the eternally enthusiastic fandom of the iconic Harry Caray. So it came to be that while other teenage girls were putting up posters of Tom Cruise and John Stamos, my walls were adorned with the likes of Ryne Sandberg, Rafael Palmeiro, and Mark Grace.

I admit, as I grew up and other things took up my time and interest, I didn’t follow baseball that closely anymore. (I still have my card collection from the late 80’s though.) But I never wavered from the Cubs being my team. Living in Western New York now, it’s not the greatest spot to BE a Cubs fan. I mean, come on, they had to play the Mets in the NLCS last year, and there are plenty of Tribe fans since we’re closer to Cleveland than we are to NYC. But that’s ok. Because right now, everything is awesome. The only sad part is that it didn’t happen while Harry Caray was still alive to see it.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Holy Cow! Cubs Win! Cubs Win! Cubs Win!”

  1. tomeoftheancient Says:

    Yay! While I like the idea of baseball, I don’t watch it but I was dragged kicking and screaming on to the bandwagon this year by my husband.

    I couldn’t stay up last night but I’ll bet he did as he so wanted the Cubs to win. Hope he stays awake on the drive home from work.

Leave a Reply

