Spending Dust

Oh hey, I have a blog.

Haven’t had much to say. I barely spend any time in WoW right now. I’m just … not out of things to do, but out of *new* things to do, and so, well …

I do play Hearthstone every night though. I mean, I always have, but lately I’ve been even more into it. I’ve discovered the wealth of Hearthstone streams on Twitch, which I watch at work when no one is looking. I know, I’m way behind the times, but hey, I’m old, I’m not supposed to be on top of what’s new and hip. Oops, hang on, there’s some kid on my lawn, brb.

So anyway … what was I talking about? Oh yeah. The new Explorer’s League adventure brings with it many new cards, which means it’s a great time to watch the pros build new decks to incorporate these new tactics. And I’ve noticed one thing. Every single deck … even the old decks before the exploration commenced … has a Dr. Boom. There’s just no better 7 drop in the game. I’ve been content in the past to patiently buy packs with the gold I earn from quests, and have amassed a tiny bit of dust, at least in comparison to those of you who were willing to drop $50 on the Argent Tournament presale special and opened 50 packs at once. I probably open 50 packs in an entire year. So, since Hearthstone came out, I have collected something like 2100 dust. And I just spent 1600 to craft myself a Dr. Boom. There are other legendaries that have a much higher sentimental value for me. For example, most of you know that I am a huge fan of Tirion Fordring. But I have held off on using that dust on a card like that because it can only be used in one class’s decks. I wanted the most boom for my dust that I could get, so I waited until I could craft something that I felt would really be worth the steep price. He’d best not let me down, because I can easily turn him back into dust … at a loss to be sure but he’d be no less vaporized than if I got the full amount back. You have been warned, goblin! šŸ˜‰

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Spending Dust”

  1. tomeoftheancient Says:

    Hey! Hey! That darn kid’s on my lawn now. Loose the dogs!

  2. repgrind Says:

    At least YOUR dogs are big enough to knock that kid over. Mine can only, I dunno, untie his shoes or something.

  3. Cain Says:

    I’m surprised you didn’t have more dust than that if you play every night, but I guess it depends what you are willing to dust. I’m still surprised they never nerfed him because he really does seem to go into every deck.

    I rarely ever have time for twitch, but youtube clips of twitch streamers is a constant for me.

  4. repgrind Says:

    Well, play every night doesn’t mean I complete a quest every night. Sometimes I have a bad streak and some nights I only have enough time to play one or two games. And you’re right, if I dusted the golden cards instead of collecting them and dusting the plain dupes, I’d have a lot more. But, ya know, I’m a girl, so I like ’em shiny! :p
    I’ve seen people with golden cards from the adventures and wonder how they acquired them.

  5. Jennifer Morton (@ShawndraKai) Says:

    I feel your pain, I really do. I still don’t have Dr Boom, but only because I am stubborn. I use my dust (mostly) to craft commons until i have them all, then rare, then epic. I do pay for adventures, but I have mostly bought packs with my gold.

    It’s looking more and more like I NEED to craft that jerk, and I don’t like it.

  6. wolfgangcat Says:

    I would never dust a golden card O.o
    I like pretty shinies too!
    I really should pop for the adventure since it seems fun. I’ve tried the brawler a couple of times (even won once!) and I like it better than the regular matches since I’m behind an entire expansion.
    Hmmm….wonder if I have a Dr. Boom…probably not but I think I’ve got lots of dust doing nothing.

Leave a Reply

