So Long, Molten Core

So, the 10th Anniversary Event is going away today. I didn’t get everything I wanted from it, and it was a dreadfully long and painful raid for one guaranteed helm (and a mount on your first victory of course). Despite that, I consider it a successful anniversary. If they had nerfed it, it would not have conveyed the epic feeling of the original. It needed to be something that required some dedication and desire. Everyone got a Molten Corgi just for logging in. However, a bit higher drop rate on the pet and enchant would not have hurt anything. Sure, I only ran it a half dozen times or so, but figure 3 to 4 hours for each run and that turns into one full day spent in Molten Core.

Apparently last week when it was extended for an extra week, that was enough to motivate me to gear up the two alts I have at 100. Junahu was first, then Sanbec followed over the weekend. I also ran both of them through LFR Highmaul. Juna was lucky with gear drops, San only got a ring. San also spent a good part of nearly every fight watching from the floor. It’s not that I’m not used to melee considering my ‘main’ is a ret pally. I guess I just never quite realized how much I depend on sacred shield and word of glory to manage my health bar, not to mention divine protection which has a relatively short cooldown. And then there are divine shield or lay on hands in extreme cases. What does my warrior get? Die by the Sword on a long cooldown? That’s it? Really?? Oh, right, and pending victory or whatever every 30 seconds. And a healthstone.

Now that I have those two ready to lolraid, I’m not sure what I will do next. I have a project in the works on Alliance side which requires a fair bit of gold, so I’ve been playing there a lot more, so maybe it’s time to play with Kerick again. San got an upgraded quest reward in Nagrand that replaced his Garrosh heirloom, so it got passed down to Kerick. I just need a chunk of playtime long enough to get him through the jungle and get his garrison set up.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “So Long, Molten Core”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    I still don’t know how you managed to run it that many times. I ran it once in a pre-made and that was more than enough for me.

  2. zarigar Says:

    I finally ran zari through it once before it disappeared and I nearly went insane. I couldn’t imagine running that multiple times.

  3. dragonray Says:

    I wanted to run it more – i really did – i wanted the pet – but seriously….the first time killed it for me and mine wasn’t premade. Kudos for your tolerance levels!!!

Leave a Reply

