This is it!

Only hours to go now before Warlords of Draenor. I’m … well, I’m excited, but not in the same way as I have been for past expansions. I’m taking a more relaxed approach this time, much as I did back when Wrath dropped … before I got involved in that whole raiding business. Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed raiding, and made a lot of friends through it. But I am completely ready to just be casual and go at whatever pace I want to set for myself.

I don’t even know who I am going to level first. Van has been my main for something like an expansion and two-thirds now. If I was raiding, well, he would almost certainly be the no-brainer choice. Since I’m only going LFR now, I’m not locked into a choice. And, honestly, even if I was, it seems like they have healers already and I would be reasonably free to choose another dps character if I wanted. So the choice now is really … who do I want to do ALL OF TEH THINGS? You see, even though I am very much an altoholic, I do tend to have one character who gets played the most and goes through all of the quests and reputations. Like for instance, I only had two characters out of 15 at max level who finished unlocking all of Sunsong Ranch. Van was the only character who finished every quest in Pandaria. I only had one character on each faction who completed the Warsong Offensive/Operation Shieldwall storyline. So it’s a bit of an important decision in some ways.

Ok, so Van seems like a good choice. He’s got the best gear, he did the most in the last two expansions, I know I like playing him. But … the blood elves don’t have new models yet. So I’d be playing an old one. And what if, when the new models DO come out, I don’t like them? It could happen. I mean, look at what they did to humans. If that happens, well … I already plan to make one of my three male blood elf paladins into a female tauren. But I will wait until the models come out to decide which one, if it’s going to be the one that I play, or one that’s further down in the alt hierarchy.

Junahu, my Tauren huntress, would be a good choice too. She was my first character, leading the way into Wrath, my first expansion. She did Loremaster back before Cata revamped it and made it easier to accomplish … or at least made it easier to track and eliminated the travel between continents to do a single questline. She collected all of the trackable pets in Mists, has all of the spirit beasts from Wrath, and certainly has her eye on some new hunter pets in Draenor.

Of course, I don’t HAVE to choose someone that I have played a lot. Heck, I could do something crazy like let everyone else go jam up the starting areas while I go back to Pandaria and get the last two levels on Vorta so that she can prowl around Draenor in cat form.

Camouflage kitty!

WoWScrnShot_110414_193354

After all, if I’m not raiding, I have all the time in the world to level. I just have to get one character to 100 by the end of the year so that I can do Molten Core LFR and get a core hound mount. Priorities! πŸ™‚

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “This is it!”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    I’m totally sticking with my warlock. I will eventually level failmage just so I can see the Alliance side of the story but that won’t happen right away.

    I probably won’t even get to play much until Friday anyway. I gotta work both days and right now Trout is in town so we are entertaining until he leaves on Friday.

  2. repgrind Says:

    Man, you are so lucky, you get to see him all the time! His company needs to get some business going on in Buffalo already. :p

  3. koalabear21 Says:

    He said he is looking forward to the wedding so he can hang out with you

  4. tomeoftheancient Says:

    I think Cat the Druid and Cim the Warlock are going to share going first. Kinda like a tag team, lol. And the Monk will probably come next just because she’s an engineer and is looking forward to making cool stuff!

  5. wolfgangcat Says:

    After playing the beta for a bit, only my two best geared toons are going to tackle it – Warlock and Priest.

    Unless they’ve tuned some of the mobs since then, my “premade” Warlock character died every time if more than 2 mobs were around.

    My Void Walker died pretty fast too and I think Destro lost the spell to heal demons so…leveling was pretty painful πŸ˜›

    The rest I’m going to leave for a while until the inevitable “down tuning” of leveling – unless I can find a leveling buddy or group πŸ˜€

  6. khizzara Says:

    I am obviously not in your position. For one thing, I’m still planning to raid, and for another, I’ve never felt any desire to switch mains. However, if I WERE in your place, I think I might make a short list of characters (or possibly a long list…) and then take each one out for a few minutes of questing, or run a dungeon/LFR on them.

    Then I would think about which one seemed the most fun to me. Do I enjoy the class changes? Does the character seem to be speaking to me, in the sense that I feel they have personality and back story that I want to explore more in Draenor? (Yeah, closet role player, in a way…) Do I feel like the rotation makes sense to me, and that it feels good? Do I feel over or underpowered? (Taking gear into account of course.) Do I like the way they look and move, their casting animations, their transmog opportunities, etc. Is there anything I just WANT to play right now?

    Of course, you don’t have to stick to just leveling one. You could level 2 or more simultaneously, just playing whichever one you feel like at the moment. Or you could get to 100, play around for a few days without doing any serious grinding of anything, and then level something else. After playing a few for a while you will probably know what you want.

    And if the answer is “Paladin, but which one?!” you could always level an alt first and go back to Pally when the BE models are released.

    So many options! I may have just made things worse! D:

    Also, long comment is long.

    Or just go Tauren Pally. Because Tauren > All and you know you love Pallies!

  7. Cain Says:

    Pick a couple and abuse the rested XP until you can make up your mind that you want to play one more than the others. Or just level all of them all the way switching when you run out of rested. This beginning of the expansion is definitely the time that I am missing playing the most. Everyone is off checking out the new content and learning everything, and before long it will all be old hat again.

Leave a Reply

