Some Important Swedes

I forgot my WoW screenshot so I’ll save it for Friday. I’ve been hanging onto these two for a week or so now so I really should get them posted.

Hans von Koenigsmark

mb110

Listed on wiki as Hans Christoff von Königsmarck, he led Sweden’s flying column, which captured Prague Castle in 1648 to end the Thirty Years’ War.

Arvid Vittenberg

mb109

Wittenberg commanded the Swedish right flank in the Thirty Years’ War under Torstenson (who we will meet later.) He led the army that marched into Poland and convinced the nobles at Ujście to capitulate, setting off the Deluge (Second Northern War). He captured Krakow and led the defense (and submission) of Warsaw after King Jan Kazimir’s return from exile. He died in 1657 in the prison in Zamość, the city/fortress of Jan Zamoyski.

I know these probably bore you guys, but I find it very interesting to learn who these guys really were and what events they participated in.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Some Important Swedes”

  1. wolfgangcat Says:

    Hehe…I love reading this just for the history lessons! Keep it up! 😀

Leave a Reply

