Lords in the Field 5

Let’s see, where did we leave off. Oh yes, Les’ and I taking back Kilburun. We bounced back from the Crimeans’ onslaught slowly, eventually gaining back Ladyzhyn and Izmail. Things held steady there for some time and it seemed like we might bounce back fully, although I never seemed to have many guys joining me. Then Giray got his full forces gathered again and took all three back. Once again, I was without any fortress or even village of my own. This time, I didn’t even bother trying to mess with his 900-man army. I went around doing quests until a couple of guys came to join me. Then two more showed up. Hmm … let’s do this! We took back all of them … Izmail, Kilburun, Kracow and Ladyzhyn. Oh, there was some back and forth with the three nearest their homeland.

I found a way to hold onto all three of my fortresses, however. Yes, three. Hmel was kind enough to give me back the three that I had been lord of in the past: Kilburun, Krakov, and Ladyzhyn. Izmail was granted to the one man that I have been unable to form any kind of friendship with, Army Chief Pavlo Gomon.

mb23

(Oh, hey, I got Timofiy Nosach in that shot too, on the left! Nice!!)

Probably has something to do with the fact that he is the one who I am always running against in the voting for Marshal. I’m sure being Army Chief and not actually being in charge has got to be grating on his soul just a little bit. Lord knows I’ve tried to win his favor but to no avail. At least I have succeeded in not making him an enemy, however. I only have one of those. Sedjet-bey got mad every time I had a chance to capture him and let him go free. Apparently he feels that he is disgraced by such acts of kindness, so I gave up on him and just put him in my prison after that.

Anyway, back to keeping my holdings. Shortly after we re-acquired those fortresses, Sweden declared war on us. Now, we are stretched thin enough with one enemy. I don’t want my colonels running off across the map on their own to lay siege to Sweden’s towns when we have the Crimeans right next door breathing fire on us. The mayors of the fortresses will offer a quest to convince two colonels, one from your own faction and one from the faction you are at war with, to bring a peace agreement to the table. So I went around to the Cossack fortresses and visited the mayors until one gave me the quest. I didn’t care which one of the two factions he chose, just as long as I could end one of them and keep my forces focused on one. Fortunately, it was the Crimeans, and even more fortunately, the general I needed to convince was Ahmed-pasha, one of my best friends. For the low price of -3 relationship, he was convinced. The other was Ivan Bogun. It cost a bit more relationship with him, but it was worth it because I could save my thalers. Bam! Done. After so much … WAR … it was nice to have the heartland of our territory at peace. Oh, sure, the Swedes took Kilburun and I had to get it back from them. But no biggie. And once we took, um … that fortress that starts with D and is next to Lviv … we pretty much pushed the Swedes out of our area.

It’s been fun fighting Swedes instead of Crimeans for a change. And holding Krakov, I have a nice short ride straight over the bridge behind Warsaw to get to Allenstein Castle. I led an expedition up there and took that, Kovno Fortress, and Narva. The Swedes have been in a bitter war with both Poland and Moscow for some time now, so they have very few things left. The Poles hold many of their strongholds, like Vilna and Riga.

One other thing before I go, since this will be the only post this week. I’ve mentioned that I’m reading the book. Lyss can testify as to how much I am enjoying it. I freaked out at her last week, afraid to turn the page because Bogun was going to duel and I was scared to learn the outcome. Well, the story has Ivan Bogun and Jan Skrzetuski both in love with the same woman. So when I ran into this battle back when we were at war with Poland, I had to get a screenshot, because, dude … Bogun vs. Skrzetuski!

mb22 (1)

In this battle, Bogun won and captured Skrzetuski. But we haven’t been at war with the Poles since, and I still haven’t gotten a screenshot of Bogun. Oh well, maybe next week.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Lords in the Field 5”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    I wanted to tell you last week that you don’t always die in a duel, but it turns out I didn’t need to. 😀

  2. repgrind Says:

    Well, I don’t know yet!

    *spoilers ahead*

    Yes, he lost, and was on his deathbed and barely alive when they left him. That was like 3 chapters ago and it just left me hanging. They all presume that he is dead and are going around bragging (well, Zagloba is at least because that’s what he does best) about having slain Bogun. Since this is Sienkiewicz and not George R.R. Martin, it’s probably safe to hope that he still lives, but … I don’t know!

  3. repgrind Says:

    WEWT! HE LIVES! Only took about six chapters to know for sure.
    >.<

Leave a Reply

