I Hate Summer

Blargh. Work is so busy and I want to post. Leave me alone, phone! Ok, I’ll make this short.

Last night I took Bar Fortress from the Poles. I figured since the not asking thing worked for Minsk it would work again. I patrol around the fortress for awhile and then Colonel Matviy Gladkiy’s flag appears over it. Hmmm. Ok. The Poles come and take it. (I leave and let them. It’s not mine, I’m not fighting 600 of them to defend it by myself!) Once they’re gone I take it back and again, don’t ask for it. And again, it goes to Gladkiy. I guess since Gladkiy owned it for a long time before they came and took it, he’s got rights to it. So maybe if I can get Minsk back, then it will be mine since it was before. Oh well. At least I got more siege practice in, and when I took it back the second time I also freed my favorite buddy Les’ Gritsenko and Colonel Ivan Sirko, who were being held in the prison there.

One other really cool thing happened. I was hanging out with Colonel Ivan Bogun and we ran into Skrzetuski. When he defeated me a few nights ago, he took some things from my inventory, including some of my books and my backup horse Teddy. When we defeated him, I got all my stuff back, including Teddy! I was very happy, especially since I had been unable to find another heavy thoroughbred with the same stats. Instead, I bought a lame troop horse on the cheap. So now I have a healthy troop horse that I don’t need. I guess I’ll just increase one of my followers’ riding skill enough that they can ride him, because I’d feel bad selling him back and taking a loss on him without him ever even being ridden.

I really need to get a fortress soon. Now that my renown is higher, my army size has increased to 140+, and the types of campaigns I am going on are tough without the more expensive soldiers from the mercenary camps. My funds are dwindling.

Oh, and since I promised something about WoW this week, here .. have a screenshot of Lyss and Kash hearthing away from me at the end of our alt raid on Saturday night. Lyss and Slice both came along! It was really awesome to get to raid with them again. πŸ™‚

WoWScrnShot_080214_215332

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “I Hate Summer”

  1. khizzara Says:

    I hope Lyss and Slice can make it to more alt-raids! It’s fun to have them around. πŸ™‚

  2. slice213 Says:

    your image has a problem in it Van, it does not have glorious me in it

  3. koalabear21 Says:

    Hold up, you bought a lame horse? Was it cute or something?

    Khizz I know we would both love to be invited back πŸ™‚

    Your alt raids work out really well for us because we don’t have to get up early for work the next day.

  4. repgrind Says:

    Yup. They don’t stay lame forever, they heal over time. So it’s cheaper to buy a lame one and wait for it to recover.

  5. khizzara Says:

    This is not at all how horses usually work in real life. Though I’ve always found it pretty horrifying that most lame horses are just killed without even trying to heal them. Yes, I know that a horse’s legs are very important, and that it’s difficult to heal them properly because horses stand 99% of the time. It still seems heartless.

  6. repgrind Says:

    Yeah, it all kinda depends on the owner and whether they consider the horse as a living being or as a financial object. My real life horse in high school had a pretty significant injury that led to tendonitis. But he was like a part of the family, so when the local vet couldn’t do anything more for him, we hauled him to the vet school at Kansas State a couple hundred miles away. Every day before school and again after school I was running the hose on that leg for no less than 10 minutes, rubbing new medication on it and rewrapping it, then walking him for at least another 10 minutes. Although the vets thought he would never be more than pasture sound again, he made a full recovery and I rode him for a few more years.

  7. khizzara Says:

    Yeah, see, that’s the thing that’s always bothered me. It’s totally POSSIBLE to heal a lame horse, it just takes time and effort, and far too many people aren’t willing to even try. Especially if it’s like, a racehorse or something, because then they’re all, “Oh, this horse has no value now.” I don’t understand people sometimes.

Leave a Reply

