Terrific Trio

Well, that part didn’t take long at all. Once I switched to fire, I stopped watching the xp bar and started having fun. I don’t believe things actually died faster, it just seemed like it since I was enjoying it.

WoWScrnShot_082113_000138

Yes that is my buddy Kovok covering my head in the shot. hehe.

So, that was the easy part. Now for the hard part. The two scenarios to unlock the Barrens questline, which I will coerce guildies into helping with, and then the Barrens stuff itself, which will be faster with help but can be done solo if I am patient.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Terrific Trio”

  1. slice213 Says:

    Grtas on the trio!

  2. repgrind Says:

    It’s actually five but .. you know … 2 pallys and 2 DKs doesn’t count for anything :p

  3. kamaliaetalia Says:

    Congrats! Best of luck with the Barrens stuff 🙂

  4. wolfgangcat Says:

    Grats! What’s your secret to getting a Mage through Pandaland? Mine would die every two seconds – Frost and Fire lol 😀

  5. repgrind Says:

    Well, there’s this thing called ‘kiting’ … although I do usually end up toe to toe with the mob because I’m lazy. Be careful not to blink into other mobs though. The Blazing Speed talent is nice for a quick little speed boost with complete control over your movement.

    Pull one mob at a time. This seems strange when you’re used to paladins and DKs (especially those in tank specs) who wade right in and just kill whatever they see.

    Use CC. Polymorph is not just for having fun with random critters!

    If you’re frost, make sure your pet is alive. You can place his frost nova ability directly on your bar using a very simple macro .. /cast Freeze
    The talent Frostjaw will also freeze a mob in place for a few seconds.

    That’s all I can think of off the top of my head.

    Oh yeah! Glyph evocation. It will heal you for 60% of your health bar then. And if you’ve learned first aid (which you should on a mage) USE IT. I bandage after almost every kill.

  6. tyledres Says:

    Grats! I can’t even image taking a mage though Panaria. Although… I did level my druid two whole levels by doing nothing but pick flowers and archelology. And it does bite that having doubles doesn’t count. I’d have the five achievement already if it would just count both of my dks.

  7. koalabear21 Says:

    Grats on the ding!

    I second her suggestions. I have been leveling failmage through pandaland as fire and have only had problems with a few rares. Kiting is definitely king. Polymorph has saved my ass more times than I can count.

    I also use dragon’s breath and cone of cold on cooldown. While I am leveling I like to use any stun or interrupt I have to be able to stop the mob from hitting me. I even specced into the ice shield and set up Vuhdo so I can keep it on me constantly.

  8. arvash29 Says:

    Grats on another 90, thank God it wasn’t another paladin =P

    I leveled my mage as Frost and did ok with it. I had my Water Elemental and Mirror Images “tank” the mobs as much as they could, while I bursted them down, freezing them or blinking away if they got too close. I couldn’t pull packs of mobs like I could with other classes, so that made it a little slow.

    I might try to go Arcane or Fire just to change it up a bit, loved Arcane in Wrath and never played around with Fire too much.

  9. tomeoftheancient Says:

    Grats! If you see me on, Sasche would be happy to beat up those guys in the Barrens with you!

  10. Cain Says:

    Grats on another 90!

    For me mage you had to be more careful about the size of your pulls, but at least they have a lot of escape mechanisms. Then again I’ve seen friends that have had mage mains pull huge groups and always play reckless, so maybe it’s a comfort factor. Mage definitely became much more fun to me after getting geared up. It was painful as a fresh 90.

    To expand for others on one tip you gave. I found macroing the elementals freeze into frostbolt so that I always had the reticle available to use very helpful.

Leave a comment