Clash of the Dragons

I haven’t had a lot to post about because I haven’t really been logging into my major titles as much. But that doesn’t mean I’ve been sitting around doing nothing. So today I thought I’d show you guys what else I play.

No, it’s not Farmville. >.>
But you CAN play it on Facebook if you want. Personally, I prefer hanging out at Kongregate.com though because of the chat rooms and wide selection of free flash games to check out.

Anyway, the game I spend most of my time on is a CCG called Clash of the Dragons. I’ve played during downtime at work for quite awhile now, but I recently joined a clan and became even more active, so I’ve started playing at home a lot.

When you first start out, you can choose to be a Sentinel, Assassin, or Pyrelord. Pretty self-explanatory I think. Probably doesn’t surprise anyone that I went with a sentinel named Kerick.

Go ahead, you can make fun of my paint editing skillz. I’m no Sorak that’s for sure! And yes, he has a shirt … I took it off. ^.^

Class choice really doesn’t matter a lot, it just affects your base stats of weapon, magic, and absorption. As far as I know though, there is only one card that is restricted to a single class. Most decks have a mix of weapons and magic in them.

There is a pretty cool storyline if you take time to read it during the questing. You fight enemies in quests …

and some of the nodes have a boss at the end which unlocks a brawl when you defeat it. Brawls are multiplayer real-time battles with 2-5 people depending on which one it is, where you all work together to defeat a powerful foe … and get loot, of course.

There’s also PvP, but it takes awhile to collect the cards you need in order to be competitive in that. I goof around in the custom battles that don’t cost any gold or energy to enter, just for fun. Those usually end with me getting my butt handed to me, like my buddy JC is doing to me here.


Yes, he hit me for 130+ when my actual deck size is only 44. Good times. Heh.

But the MOST fun part is drafts. Drafts are 4-player real-time tournaments where you choose your cards out of special draft packs that you purchase and are opened right there at the draft. Take a card, pass the rest to the next guy for him to choose, etc. You can get awesome epic and even legendary cards this way, including some that can only be gotten in drafts. I got my first legendary, Lord Edmund, in the second draft I did, which certainly helped form my addiction to the game.

I don’t have any screenshots from inside an actual draft because, well, I’m far too busy concentrating during one of those to think about it. But one of the best parts about drafting is, since you’re all choosing your cards right there from the unopened packs you’ve brought with you, it’s a level playing field. Your actual level in-game doesn’t really matter, although some knowledge of the cards and strategies helps, along with a good dose of luck. Here is a pic of me winning a draft over a couple of players that outlevel me by a lot.

So anyway … if you can’t find me on Battle.net or SW:ToR, I’m probably on Kong. My ID there is AceHawkblade, so feel free to follow me and say hi if you already play there or if you sign up to check it out.

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Clash of the Dragons”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    Sorak needs to learn from your paint skills!

  2. Arvash Says:

    You should try the WoW TCG, I heard they have phat lewt cards you can use in-game too…..

  3. repgrind Says:

    Yeah … but you live kinda far away. Who would I play it with? My dog?

  4. Arvash Says:

    He’s pro at playing the online game, so you say….so he’d be pro at playing the card game too

  5. Arvash Says:

    And it’s not too late to join either, they’re only on like their 18th expansion set….

  6. repgrind Says:

    Yah and it only costs REAL MONEY. Gimme some pl0x.

  7. Arvash Says:

    Ask Sorak and Zug for it, they’re killin’ it right now on the RMAH

  8. Sorak Says:

    Slice you better watch out!!

    Van is going to wreck shop in some MTG draft!

Leave a Reply

