I Still Love Tatooine

Even though it’s not as exciting now that the Rakghoul virus outbreak has been contained, I still enjoy visiting Tatooine. I finished the regular quests there last night. Of course, while I was there, I spent some time getting datacrons. (I know you’re all so very surprised.) Sunday when I first landed on the planet and was doing the quests in Mos Ila itself, I decided I was getting that datacron on the roof even if it took all night. Last time I got it Roz had a sorcerer along with him who ended up pulling him up when they finally managed to make the last set of jumps. (Roz is the one I’ve been dying to play. I need another sin. But I want to make a merc and try healing again, too. Argh. Must. Get. Legacy. Soon.) Well, apparently all the practice I’ve been getting recently has improved my skills, because I did manage to get it! I didn’t screenshot that one though.

The second one I was planning on skipping, because the area you jump down from is a heroic area. But as I was riding by, I thought ‘you know, I should just see if I can get to the spot without fighting anything.’ Well, there was a single elite standing in the way that I didn’t think I could avoid. So I rode towards him and force charged from my hoverbike and … an add popped up out of the sand behind him as soon as I entered combat. Also elite. I stayed on the one I was attacking and let Quinn take it on the chin from the other one. He held on long enough for mine to die at the same time he did. The second one killed me, but despawned when I died. Mission accomplished!

From there I rode out to the southwest corner of the Dune Sea to the half-buried sandcrawler where you catch the Jawa balloon.

I’ve heard stories of it bugging out and dropping people to the sand halfway through the journey. Fortunately, this did not happen to me, and after a leisurely ride (during which I took the opportunity to stuff my face with chips and salsa and punish Quinn) it finally approached the sandcrawler that the datacrons are on.

I made the jump and collected my prizes.

I didn’t go to the one in the cave yet. It’s in the bonus area and I haven’t decided yet whether to stay on the planet or move on. I want my legacy but … I don’t want to rush the questline so fast that I’m unable to complete it, either. Sure, there are at least half a dozen people who would be happy to come to my class quest and slam that Jedi into paste for me, but … well, we’ll see. At the moment he is on his ship, because I ended the night with the space missions.

Tonight is probably D3. I started the download shortly after midnight, and when I got up at 8:30 it was 79% done. Yes, my connection is slow. We’re supposed to raid tonight though so we’ll see. I know pretty much everyone is playing D3 though so I don’t know if they will show up or not. At least if we’re all on D3 we can tell who is online and coerce them to raid, thanks to stalker ID.

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “I Still Love Tatooine”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    They called the raid because 75% of the guys are going to play D3

  2. repgrind Says:

    I figured as much, considering some of them even took time off work. Although I’m still not sure how you take days off when you work from home in your undies anyway. Hmm … this post needs one more tag.

    Assuming D3 installs without a hitch, I’ll see you guys there, then.

    If anyone not already on my stalker ID would like to find me, my battletag is repgrind#1492

  3. koalabear21 Says:

    When Slice logged in this morning Sorak and Zug were playing and level 13 already.

  4. forthepie Says:

    Arelin isn’t going to level himself…

  5. repgrind Says:

    Yes, trust me, I know what he does when left to himself …

    It’s the normal SR raid night, and they’ve been talking about D3 for months. I need to at least log into it and see what it’s about and harass them on stalker ID for a bit. The plan is to play both games tonight, unless D3 is good enough to really suck me in. I don’t think it will because I’ve tried other games of a similar style and not really been super keen on them.

  6. Skaggy Doughnut Says:

    ahhh I love Tat simply because when I saw Star wars in 77 it was where Luke lived. Simples 🙂

  7. forthepie Says:

    /jedi mind trick
    This is not the game you are looking for.

  8. repgrind Says:

    I am Sith. Do you really think your little Jedi games will work on me?

    @Skaggy ahhh, 77. So many of the people I play with weren’t even born yet. In this new guild though, there are at least TWO people who are older than I am. hehe

  9. forthepie Says:

    HEYYY..I resemble that remark.

  10. repgrind Says:

    I ❤ u Pie ^.^

    Can I borrow your cane?

  11. repgrind Says:

    Well, I currently cannot connect to the Battle.net servers for either D3 OR WoW so … guess I’ll go level Arelin!

Leave a Reply

