Fixed!

In my meanderings across the web yesterday, I ran across a lot of information about setting your graphics options to get the best performance. Now, this is something I don’t know a whole lot about. I’m not a software engineer or a computer geek … I’m a gamer. I’ve never been that interested in how the games are made or how all that code is transferred into what you see on the screen, I just play the games. I have no clue about graphics settings. So mine were set on … whatever setup put them on. So following these recommendations, I turned a couple of buttons off, flipped another one on, and hit ‘apply’. That reverted my resolution to the dreaded 1024×768, so I popped 1440×900 back into that window and hit apply again. Then the thought hit me … hey, maybe that fixed my screenshot resolutions too. No idea why it would but … meh, let’s screenshot the character select screen again and see what happens.

Well, would you look at that! It’s the correct size!! No more squished together anorexic looking faces!

I could sit here and admire Arelin all day, daydreaming about running my fingers through his hair …

BTW Trout, my guys are all body type 2. They are NOT the skinniest model. =P

Ok, now let’s log into the actual game and see how these settings perform. Wonder of wonders! OMG what a difference. Not in the graphics themselves … I’m such a graphics noob that I couldn’t tell there had been anything changed as far as how the ground or my character looked. But the text was so sharp and clear. Lyss will remember me complaining about how hard it was to read the purple party chat before because it was blurry. Not anymore! Arv and I grouped up to clean up a few quests on Voss last night that we were having troubles on, and I could read everything without leaning forward.  (Ok, fine, they were quests that *I* was having troubles on, and he was nice enough to come help me. There is a reason I have a lot of posts tagged ‘Arv Rocks’ … because it’s true!) Oh, and the lag. Wait what? There’s no lag! At least, not anymore. Seriously, my characters can spin in circles now. It’s great!

Some other nice Agent working on quests in the area I was in tipped me off to a nearby datacron. So now Van won’t feel so left  behind.

Bring on the patch! I think Arelin and Roz will be getting another brother soon …

Tags: , , , , , ,

30 Responses to “Fixed!”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    I hope you started the download before you left for work. It is a monster.

  2. repgrind Says:

    I did. Sorak texted me before I left for work and reminded me. Hmm … maybe I need to adjust the tags here.

    *fix’d

  3. forthepie Says:

    Can someone log in for me, from my computer and download the patch? And then again on my laptop? Oh, don’t worry, I am heading to my grandmother’s for the weekend, so it can take days for all I care.

  4. Troutwort Says:

    I like the picture of C3PO the best.

  5. repgrind Says:

    Haha, yeah, that was located in this spirit world or whatever so that’s why he’s all glowy. I’m not sure why it didn’t affect Vector though.

  6. Troutwort Says:

    So what you’re saying is…that’s NOT C3PO?

    /cry

  7. repgrind Says:

    Van > C3PO … not to mention, that particular droid model is Jedi filth. Ewww!

  8. Ado Says:

    What was it that you did to the graphics? Mine are a bit choppy at times when everyone in the warzone is chasing the huttball.

  9. forthepie Says:

    Lower shadows, that will help a lot.

    @jedi filth — one of these days, you’ll be pulled to the other side and then what?

  10. repgrind Says:

    What part of the first paragraph did you not understand? =P

    I have NFC what I did without looking at the options screen. Even then I might not be able to tell you with certainty.

    The only way I will be pulled to the other side is if I decide to make a pureblood Sith Jedi.

  11. forthepie Says:

    Also, in my experience, warzone performance is crappy. Huttball worse than others because of all the fire and acid and RNG air jets. Mouse over the selection and start dropping stuff and seeing if that helps your FPS/performance.

    @rep Funny thing, I won’t probably ever have a pureblood. In fact, once they describe what happens when you server transfer, I’ll probably make one of my sith, Mirialan(sp) since my Jedi Sage is 43.

  12. repgrind Says:

    DOH!!!! OF COURSE my MoP beta invite would come on the same day that 1.2 drops. WTF Blizz!!!!

    Oh well. Not like I would be a good beta tester anyway. Those of you who know me, know that I only got the yearly pass for the Angel Pony anyway. ^.^

  13. koalabear21 Says:

    WTH! Seriously! I STILL haven’t gotten my beta invite 😦

  14. Troutwort Says:

    When I get my beta invite I would only do it to test the pet combat system. Which means I’d just hang out in SW and running to the wild to capture pets.

  15. repgrind Says:

    …and then I got a D3 beta invite late last night, also. LOL.

  16. slice213 Says:

    50 50 50 50 GO GO GO

    Or you shall be demoted!

  17. repgrind Says:

    Stuff it, punk. Don’t you have a salon appointment to be at or something? =P

    I’m more than halfway to 48!

  18. slice213 Says:

    F-L-A-S-H-P-O-I-N-T-S!

    O-P-E-R-A-T-I-O-N-S!

    Stop slacking Arv and ally!

  19. Ado Says:

    What I did when I got close to max level was to finish the main story quests then do the ilum and belsavis dailies to cap my leveling. The lium quests alone are about 50% of a level. Once you open them up I’d be happy to run around with you you to help you though the dailies. They can be a pain for sub 50 or even a poorly geared fresh 50.

  20. repgrind Says:

    Sheit. Arv isn’t even gonna hang around once he gets 50. Ado made sure of that with his nerdpoints!

    I’ll get 48 tonight. I’ll be 50 by Tuesday night.

  21. slice213 Says:

    What Adoe said – the ilum story quests and the dailys from Belsavis and Ilum are worth a lot of cred and XP – something like 22k xp a quest or something

  22. gromitdaddy Says:

    You got the beta?!?!?!!!!?????? No fair blizz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. gromitdaddy Says:

    You got the beta???!!!???!!!??? No fair blizz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. repgrind Says:

    Wow. Someone really wants in the beta. hehe.

  25. gromitdaddy Says:

    At least I’d have something worth doing then.

  26. repgrind Says:

    Hm. ToR servers are offline til 7pm. Maybe Van will pick up eggs this evening …

  27. gromitdaddy Says:

    Isn’t this evening a raid evening?

  28. repgrind Says:

    With 3 declines and 2 tentatives? Um … we could run some dungeons?

    >.<

  29. gromitdaddy Says:

    Darn! I was hoping to get a few more raids in before my surgery on may 2nd… I’ll be out for at least two fridays.

  30. zarigar Says:

    heh..I only tentatived because of all the declines…I will be around on one of my toons if something is going on

Leave a Reply

