Extend That $#%@

We took a vote this week at the start of the raid. Extend the lockout, starting at Lootship 2.0 … or reset and start fresh? Arguments could be made in favor of either route. I voted to extend. Hell yes I want to get to Deathwing! I had confidence that we were up to the task. If not? Well, we’d be starting fresh next week either way. But why not push ourselves to see how far we can get?

Last week we only had about 20 minutes to work on the ship before raid time ended. So it was pretty much a new fight for us. It took us half a dozen pulls. The main thing we had to work out was which kill order for the adds would work best for our group, so that we would not get overrun and also would not get too much damage to our ship. It has to be balanced between the two. Once we  got that arranged, we got the kill.

Ok, on to the big guy himself! We all watched the cinematic the first time, and when we came out of it, a bunch of us were bugged and stuck in midair, unable to do anything. The next try we came down, people ran to the side, and Deathwing rolled and sent us flying. haha. It was actually pretty funny.

This fight is all about learning the sequence to get a plate pried up and getting enough burst damage to destroy the tendon holding it down. Think killing XT’s heart fast enough to send him into hardmode back in Ulduar. Rinse and repeat a few times. You don’t directly damage Deathwing himself … he takes damage each time a plate is removed. Sounds simple enough, right?

We started out 2 tanking it, but by the end of the night we had Cayle ‘tanking’ the bloods in frost spec for extra damage both on the bloods themselves and also on the Burning Tendon. Once we had the damage worked out, and Arv got the positioning down for the spot the big add needed to die on …

(slight spoiler: the kill goes directly into a cutscene, so my ‘kill shot’ is the staging area for the final fight)

The extra part we healers had to contend with is a debuff called Searing Plasma. It’s sort of the opposite of Gushing Wound from Alysrazor. Instead of letting the person take damage to get it to fall off, you must heal them for something like 200k to remove it. It doesn’t do much damage by itself. The kicker is that the person receives no *actual* healing as long as it remains. It took a good few pulls for me to really absorb how best to handle this. And to add it to my special debuff section of Healbot so that their bars would turn pink … the small icon in the corner of each frame is just too tiny in the middle of battle. I had to carefully balance when I could use single target heals and when I needed to get more aggressive and bust out my sexy Holy Radiance. And also keep an eye on Arv and Cayle … there was a spot in our kill pull (the infamous last pull of the night) when Zarm was frantically asking for help on Arv over vent at the exact same moment that I was already laying my hands on him. (yeah baby)

Mana? What is that I don’t even …

Seriously, I did very poorly at keeping my judgement buff up last night. I was very good at it when I needed to do it every 8 seconds and didn’t have AoE healing with a cast time. This patch totally changed how that works, and while I dearly love my Holy Radiance now, I do have to retrain myself a bit.  I’ve been stubbornly resistant to getting power auras or need to know or anything similar. Why? Hell if I know. It’s only once a minute, amirite? I can handle that! I just have to be aware of it and do better.

We didn’t take a group photo at Warmaster Blackhorn. But we took one here.

The excitement running through the group when that last plate came off and the cutscene started was amazing. It took almost an hour of fishing for my adrenaline to diminish enough that I could sleep. Tonight … well, this is it, bitches! Deathwing is goin DOWN!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 Responses to “Extend That $#%@”

  1. Arvash Says:

    “We gon’ eats us some Buffalo Deathwing tonite, ya hear?”

    – Captain Swayze

  2. Sorak Says:

    Swayze:Zarm as That fat human that stole our thunder @ LK:Kerick

  3. repgrind Says:

    bitches. Kerick wishes he was as awesome as Tirion.

  4. ReversionLFG Says:

    No one is as stonecold awesome as Tirion. We wanted to be but the Litchking did not target us.

  5. repgrind Says:

    /sigh

    See what you started, Sorak? ><

  6. Sorak Says:

    I thought fatties had a lot of body heat…

    Shouldn’t Tirion have thawed out sooner?

  7. slice213 Says:

    Tirion – WoW’s 1st – Kanye West

    “Look Random WoW raid, I’m really pumped for you. Imma Let you finish. But Tirion is the bestest paladin of all time.”

  8. Sorak Says:

    wtf are you talking about?

    Kanye isn’t good music…

    now the link is a good song!

  9. repgrind Says:

    /likes Sorak’s comment

  10. slice213 Says:

    pg-13

  11. repgrind Says:

    BTW there are addons out now to fix that mature language filter bug … so you guys can have all your words back.

  12. slice213 Says:

  13. repgrind Says:

    Good lord. Slice needs more to do at work.

  14. slice213 Says:

  15. slice213 Says:

    you know you like it.

  16. repgrind Says:

    You see this, people. DO YOU SEE THIS? THIS is how our raid leader gets ready to face down Deathwing.

    I hope he has chicken.

  17. slice213 Says:

    friendship is magical

  18. Navimie Says:

    grats Rep!

Leave a Reply

