Meet Me At The Faire

Out of all the new features to come out in this patch, the one that I didn’t really give two thoughts about was the revamped Darkmoon Faire. Oh, I read all about it. Thanks to places like WoW Insider, I knew exactly what to expect from it … or so I thought. I wasn’t the least bit excited about it, although I knew I would end up there because … well, come on. Mounts. Pets. CHEEVES!!!111!!1! But I was convinced that I wouldn’t like it. Good thing I am not one of those people who is always right. 😉

The games are quick and mostly easy. Tonks are my fave, and I will often spend extra time there killing off the zepp and other people’s tonks after I have gotten my targets down. My least fave is the cannon. That cursed cannon. The first time I did it, I must have spent a dozen tickets as I went back and forth between undershotting it and overshooting it and then riding allllll the way back to the cannon at the other end of the long and colorful midway. (Protip – talk to the gnome that’s fishing at the shoreline near the target. For 30s he will teleport you directly back to the cannon.) Do make sure to check out everything along that midway at some point though. There are so many things to do! Eventually, one of my toons got lucky at the cannon.

If you go to the petting zoo, clear in the back corner there are ponies and miniature rams that you can ride. You get an achievement for riding a pony. And when you do, make sure to hit the space bar while you are standing still. The ponies do not rear like regular horses.

AND they come in different colours!

The profession quests are great. You get an achievement if you do six of them (2 for your main professions and 4 for the secondaries). You must have at least 75 skill in order to pick them up, so Kale had to go work on his arch last night. Totally worth it though. These quests are NOT repeatable dailies, you can do them once each time the faire comes .. but they reward 5 skillups, so they are great for toons like Dyle or Ragle who are working on the last 10 or 15 points in their profs.

It will be quite a grind to get the mounts and pets you can buy with tickets. BUT .. there is one pet that is easy to get. You just have to fish it up.

So I popped on to Wowhead to find the details on where to fish for it (anywhere around the island, but most people seem to be catching them along the boardwalk) and noticed something interesting in the comments. (Note: if you’re on a PvP server be very careful about leaving the boardwalk area, as it is a sanctuary but the rest of the coastline is not. Kale got ganked by a stealthed cat druid while he was sitting on the shore fishing.)

The comments mentioned that the Steelscale Crushfish is being caught with some regularity here. Now, this is one of the fish that counts for One That Didn’t Get Away … which is part of the fishing meta and the last thing Karius needed to get his Salty title. He’s been sitting around with that lone achievement hanging over his head for more than a year now. So he ported onto the island and rode right down the midway without stopping. No games for him. He was there for one thing and one thing onry.

So … two thumbs up for the new Darkmoon Faire. It’s a lot more fun than I expected. Make sure to check out everything while you’re wandering around. They really did a great job on it!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Meet Me At The Faire”

  1. wolfgangcat Says:

    Grats on the fishing Achieves!

    Yes, the DMF is a lot more fun than I expected and will be great for alts working on leveling up professions!

  2. Troutwort Says:

    THAT IS SO AWESOME!! I guess Elgar will have to spend some time fishing there!

  3. repgrind Says:

    You totally do. Kerick got his sea pony last night, so now all 3 (main) pallies have one.

Leave a Reply

