Notes From the Weekend

Lazy today, so instead of breaking things into their own posts I’m just tossing stuff together here. Deal with it.

Ragnaros. Still needs to die. Sigh. We made super awesome progress … especially once we switched over to 2 healing it. Things just all go to hell in the final phase though, and having an extra healer isn’t going to solve meteors rolling through the tanks/melee. Our best attempt was … 1%. Yes really. All of my friends in other guilds were telling me how they downed Rag this week. Well … so what. We’re as close as you can get without him actually dying. It’ll happen soon enough.

Direbrew. Got Juna to 84 over the weekend and found that she could queue for it now. Woohoo! It’s probably a good thing I have recount disabled on her though. Also, despite running the boss on 8 (now 9) toons each day, the only thing I have to show for it is a couple of tankards. You’d think I could get a mount in there somewhere eh? Zari got one. Kisara got one that she already had! One funny thing happened though .. queued up on Arelin and guess who was in my group? Arv’s hunter! And we didn’t even queue together. Oh, yeah, and he got a mount.

Hartbane. Is bored already and I haven’t really been able to help entertain him since I have so many projects I’m working on. Sorry! Yo dude, roll some alts or somethin!

Dizzee and Dyle. The main reason I didn’t play with Hart much. Arv is eyeing those Direbrew trinkets, so we’ve been pushing hard through Northrend. We’re about 2/3 of the way through 77 now. Tempted to open up the Argent Tourney at 78 to boost the xp in those last two levels. Probably about time to start looking at Cata greens so I have replacements for the heirlooms once I hit 80. We’ll need an ilevel boost to queue for BRC once we get there. I’m just a few points short of Cata tailoring … my enchanting is about 15 points behind.

Rathanos. Ā Wrath-a-who? Yeah, um … there was this article a little over a week ago on WoW Insider about rolling a prot pally. I left a comment about how I was really tempted by the article… and something about how you can never have too many pallies or belfs … and when the author (veteran prot blogger Rhidach from Righteous Defense) replied to my comment, it totally sealed the deal. I know! I know. I already have a paladin. Um .. some paladins. Two on the same server and faction now. So??? Here he is at level 4 or 5 in the starting zone.

Yeah he didn’t even have a shield yet there. I finished getting him to level 15 yesterday. I crafted some green stuff for him to wear. I found a couple of old enchants lying around to put on a couple of his things. I reached for the LFD button … and had a total breakdown in gchat. Dude. My first toon to kill an end boss this expansion was a tank! I’m not the greatest at it, but I willingly step into raids as a tank when needed (or did before Firelands at least). Why does the prospect of tanking 5 mans freak me out so much? Especially level 15 5 mans? I mean seriously … I think I even said in chat “It’s only RFC, how bad can it be?” Except my next thought was “but what if I DON’T get RFC? WC and Deadmines are right there on the possible list too!” So yeah … I finally talked myself into it and got an RFC in progress. There were two other paladins there wearing shields. One was holy … the other wasn’t. Really? Why queue as DPS if you’re prot? They at least didn’t have RF on, so once I had aggro it was all good. But it was only like 3 pulls and the boss. Since I missed the quests because of zoning into the middle, I wasn’t down for staying around. I decided to count it as a success and get the hell out of Dodge. Small steps … with my stage fright, this is totally the way to go about it. No way am I gonna try to learn prot on one of my 85s. Hopefully Arv won’t get sick of me asking questions, because I’ll probably drive him crazy later when things get more involved and I have more to do than throw my shield and curse about the 20s cooldown on Word of Glory.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

25 Responses to “Notes From the Weekend”

  1. repgrind Says:

    OMG. I think I tanked RFC without my helmet. I did the Wolpertinger quest and wore those Synthbrew Goggles and it looks like I didn’t put my helm back on. /facepalm

  2. Analogue Says:

    Die rags die

    Seriously, just die.

  3. Troutwort Says:

    Ragnaros – You’ll get him, that’s awesome progression for what, one/two nights? Lots of people still seeing and learning mechanics, great job!

    Direbrew – Tankards are win!

    Hartbane – Run the ICC heroics this week with me, I needs some transmogrify gear.

    D&D – Argent Tournament? Le sigh.

    Rathnaros – What are you, the evil BE paladin spawn of Ragnaros? No, I don’t think so. Oh oh oh, RathANOS. You’re good then. šŸ˜‰

  4. repgrind Says:

    Actually, there’s a story behind the name. Back in TBC, when my very first toon (Junahu) hit 70 and my friends started teaching me about heroics and group play, the tankadin in our 5 man group was named Rathanos. My pally fixation really started with him.

  5. Arvash Says:

    Rhidach is awesome. I’ve been following his blog since mid-Wrath. He has great insight on prot pallies and is always an enjoyable read. I’ve even recommended his blog to several friends who’ve been wanting to try out pally tanking.

    Rathanos is actually on an epic quest to recover epic gems to assemble his Infinity Gaunlet so he can rule the world.

    Oh, and you forgot to comment on how sexy Paladin T13 gear looks…a perfect mix of Silverhawks and Mardi Gras rolled into one, lol.

  6. repgrind Says:

    You know … the T13 looks AWFUL on the fat human model, but it might be tolerable on a belf.

  7. koalabear21 Says:

    Rades did a post on how you can get the trinkets on low level alts. You won’t get a keg but you can get the trinkets.

  8. repgrind Says:

    Hmmm …. trinkets plus achievement. I’m sure Arv will be interested in that. Awesome! šŸ˜€

  9. Arvash Says:

    I just read that post….we don’t even have enough guildies online on off-raid nights for a five-man for that to work lol

  10. repgrind Says:

    Lies. We only need 3 people besides you and me. And I don’t really care about a trinket, get me in there for one pull for the achievement and I’m happy.

  11. Arvash Says:

    Ahmule and Ahzug dont count, so we’re still short….bump the achievees, I want my +1020 stam trinks and a stopwatch

  12. repgrind Says:

    Ado is usually around. Sorak can be drug online easily enough if he’s not already. Hmm … Stalker ID grouping would work right? You could always dial up Stunnah. We’ll make it work! Stop being Negative Nancy. :p

  13. Arvash Says:

    You are the best healer in the

  14. repgrind Says:

    I just got a 10k crit!

  15. slice213 Says:

    I blame Killing Spree for da wipe

  16. repgrind Says:

    See, I was being all nice and not blaming Sorak and you had to go and ruin it …

  17. slice213 Says:

    But I didnt mention any names!

  18. navimie Says:

    Good luck on Rag this week! And about the throwing all thoughts in one post… nothing wrong with that imo. At least I can get catch up all my reading in your blog in one hit (unlike me who feels each topic must have it’s own post – means nobody reads them as they get pushed off in 5 minutes by the next post…)

    And btw… thanks to you I keep looking on AH for seahorses. I was perfectly happy not having one until I read your post and now I can’t stop looking. Sometimes I almost feel like forking over the 75k… but that would be just stupid. STUPID I tell you. No. Don’t buy it. No.

  19. repgrind Says:

    It’s funny how different the prices are. Arv got one for 30k. 30k!! Unless he’s yanking my chain about the price, which is entirely possible, but he does have one.

    There’s been another one on the Alliance AH for like 63K … still too much IMO. The one on the Horde AH has been listed for a couple weeks now at 175K. All I can say to that is .. good luck dude.

    BTW, you can ride those around the ship in Deadmines. Don’t ask how I found that out …

  20. Arvash Says:

    30K. No joke. Saw a mage post it in trade chat, knew what you paid for it, so I figured I got a good deal.

  21. Leit Says:

    Starting to dislike Direbrew. Been running 5 lvl 85s every day for the past few days, but no mounts at all on any of them.

    The other pally with a shield might have been ret… long long ago before I understood how weapon speed and damage worked, I would queue as ret with a shield and a 1h because the 1h was the same DPS as my best 2h and I could have the extra protection “free”!

    (This is one of the things that the game doesn’t intuitively make clear and could really do better.)

  22. repgrind Says:

    Arv, yeah … I thought *mine* was a good deal at 42K. Yours was a steal at 30.

    Leit they were definitely prot in this case, they were throwing Avenger’s Shield. In the belf starting zone most of the quest rewards are 1H which definitely leads to confusion. I *think* though now once you choose a spec at level 10, that 2H weapon specialization is one of the bonuses you get for being ret. This of course assumes that people actually read.

  23. Leit Says:

    It also assumes that people know how the skills work, since the “dps” entry on the character screen also only shows base weapon dps, which is sometimes higher with a 1h even when compensating for 2h spec.

    No kidding… one reward from an early quest is a *3.6 speed* 1h axe. It outperforms everything you can get until the dwarven diplomat’s 2h, even with the 2h spec. WTB a 378 1h with that speed.

    Prot does a lot of damage while levelling, and has better AoE options, especially in the early-game. It’s also got the benefit of being a questing *monster*, with survivability, ranged pulls, aoe and self-healing. Of course, a lot of the extra damage is tied to how well Vengeance stacks, but even so, I could see someone playing the spec without wanting the responsibility.

  24. Hartbane Says:

    I’m not really bored anymore šŸ˜€ thanks for trying though! Much appreciated. I’ll probably be super bored when I get back to Crapghanistan but I won’t have the internet to do anything too big so anything other than small group oldie runs is probably out of the question šŸ˜¦ MAYBE heroics and lagging out of BGs lol

  25. repgrind Says:

    How long have you got before you have to go back?

    I’ll still need someone to help me clear BWL šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

