Post-Nerf Firelands

Three healed last night because our enhance shaman was out and his replacement was Zari’s resto druid (<3 Jendora) … Cayle tanked trash and Shannox, then Zarm tanked the rest of the night.

 

Shannox, Beth’tilac, Rhyolith – the 15% nerfs. Meh. The fights took less time. The damage was less severe. A dumbass healer could fall off the web, have the tank brezzed, and the raid could still recover minus a couple of dps. ( I blame Sorak .. I think he pushed me ) And Beth still doesn’t drop pally loot .. unless you count that freaking spindle trinket that drops every week.

The 25% nerfs.

Baleroc. Sigh. I wanted so badly to rank on this fight. I managed a 90%+ parse on each toon at least once. Kerick’s attempt this last week was the highest HPS I’ve gotten yet. I know, I know .. ranking doesn’t *mean* anything. It’s just numbers, right? Those only matter for DPS, right? The boss dies, we win. But dammit … I just wanted to, ok?  That will never happen now. The fight was so short, Arv didn’t even get to a million health. I look at the pally Arioch is always talking about, and he’s ranked on 8 separate bosses (from T11 but still … ). Ok, so maybe he’s Superman and it’s not fair to compare myself to him, but it’s human nature to feel a bit inadequate when you don’t measure up. Ok, enough of me being emo, let’s move on here.

Alysrazor. So um … yeah. Do the initiates even HAVE Fieroblast anymore? I believe someone said they do, but they chain two or three Brushfire first and … they’re dead before there’s anything to interrupt. Ok. Let me say that again. THERE IS NOTHING TO INTERRUPT! So they took the hardest part of the hatchling phase, and made it … I mean wtf are the dps supposed to DO now? We sent two up because … we didn’t need the second one to help with the nonexistent interrupts. The hatchlings died so far ahead of the tornado phase that we ALL stood around and picked our noses … or threw dps on the bird if we had ranged attacks. Arv got three feathers and went flying because he could once his hatchling was down. After the first full cycle she was around 33%. She died during the second hatchling phase. This was my second favorite fight to heal after Baleroc, and now it is B-O-R-I-N-G.

Majorodomo Staghelm. Ok, I have to admit … it is a RELIEF to have this fight nerfed to the ground. Flame Scythe is a joke. Cat phase can still be painful. Our solution? 12 – 4 – 12 or however many it takes for him to die.  Seriously … we had 3 phases.  We will never have to worry about the damn mushroom orb things again because we won’t get to them.

Ragnaros. Cayle was right. There, I said it. Ok fine, I’m the one who always heals him and am more likely to agree with him … I knew it would take time to learn the parts we haven’t seen. But I thought we would do better than we did. We had 90 minutes. We solidified phase 2, although we still make mistakes, and they are usually fatal. Even when we did manage to get through it cleanly, the second transition would blow us up.  I know for myself, I was unclear on exactly where I needed to be. Also, I was still healing up the damage people had taken in the previous phase, so between that and getting a Scion from the healing aggro, there was no way I was paying attention to Sons of Flame. Boom. On the plus side, the trap damage is much lighter than it was, and the Sons do die much faster … as long as someone is on each one.

Lore, I know you will be reading this. Grats to you and the Apathy team on getting him down! Our turn is coming. We won’t wallow in our defeat, we’ll go in there with a plan for how to handle that phase and get it worked out. We always do.

Tags: , , ,

26 Responses to “Post-Nerf Firelands”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    I wish we were able to go back in tonight. Stupid dentist. 😦

  2. Arvash Says:

    We can do BH or something while we wait for you get your new grill installed, Tyrone =P

  3. repgrind Says:

    lol Arv. You feeling any better today? Sorry I blew my seed on you last night.

  4. koalabear21 Says:

    LOL @ Rep

    I about choked on my bacon

  5. Arvash Says:

    Lmao, still congested as hell…

    Would that bacon’s name happen to be “Slice”?

  6. lorentharLore Says:

    Thanks for the congrats! BTW: dont get discouraged about P2.5.. its a total pain in the ass to get down
    I think we (Apathy) wiped at least 100 times on that phase (not even exagerrating) And our win last night was by no means great. (I think we had 3 people left alive for the last 3-4%?)

  7. koalabear21 Says:

    A girl never tells

  8. slice213 Says:

    ….

    Sorak is out tonight. So we are missing one. it;s not looknig good for raid tonight. And I may not be able to raid next week as well, moving this weekend. So…IRL is not good for SR this week.

  9. Arvash Says:

    It’s lowbie time! Woohoo!

  10. repgrind Says:

    Van has to do some Brewfest stuff, he got the food and drinks done last night but no ram racing or Wolpertinger yet.

    I’d totally be up for some leveling dungeons though. We still gonna push to finish Dizz and Dyle before Brewfest is over?

  11. Analogue Says:

    IRL sucks. I forbid it.

  12. Arvash Says:

    We can, NR is a bitch to level through, though

  13. repgrind Says:

    Well yeah, when we get dipshit DPS like we had in UK the other night. You and I coulda 2 manned that place and it would have gone faster and smoother. We need to make Sorak’s pally come along.

  14. Arvash Says:

    And Stunnah, so he can be ready to work on the Legendary for 4.3 lol

  15. repgrind Says:

    @Arioch – Ah, that makes sense. And it’s not like I have anything to prove, anyway … obviously I can do my job or people would be dying… NOT on purpose .. people do sometimes die because I want them to 😉

    @Arv – Oh yeah! I forgot he’s almost caught up! We definitely need to take him along, too.

  16. ReversionLFM Says:

    @Arioch – Hah! Nice. New strategy, eat the worms the instant they spawn 😛

  17. zarigar Says:

    Bring my lame mage!

  18. repgrind Says:

    Well there we go! Full guild group. Queue us up Arv! Oh wait … let me empty my bags first.

  19. Arvash Says:

    And grab your gear from Kerropi

  20. slice213 Says:

    Arv…less wow and more gears!

  21. repgrind Says:

    Slice, go pack something, no stealin mah tank! :p

  22. koalabear21 Says:

    HAHA it is your turn to pack!

    Sucker

  23. Arvash Says:

    I bet the first thing he packed up was his hentai and Initial D vids lol

  24. repgrind Says:

    But he can’t watch them if they’re packed.

  25. Gromitdaddy Says:

    I should be home around 8:30 if you need another :). Just have to trial Gromit into the next class. Horde side you guys could teach Myste how to heal 8D

Leave a Reply

