Fun Times in Uldy

Sunday we went in and banged out the Ulduar achievements in Crits. We were hoping to do it on 25 man … Kerick really wanted another drake and more Val’anyr fragments but we could only get 10 people and figured we’d just stick to 10. I thought about swapping to Karius … I logged over and checked his achievements and he just needed Freya, Mimiron, Vezax and Yogg … so I stayed on Kerick up until Freya so he could collect gear for transmog.

When I did Razorscale previous to this, we had to wipe on the enrage and start over in order to get enough dwarves killed with the breath. So we went into it with that plan in mind, not really thinking about the level difference. As it turned out, prior to the enrage we could ignore everything … breath, fire, etc. You’d have to try to die and have the healers want you dead in order to get killed. When the enrage came we expected to get one shot … and it didn’t happen. Oh, the breath and fire hurt now … but not enough to kill you. Ana and I woke up from our naps now that we had something to heal. Since we didn’t wipe and restart, the fight took a whopping 25 mins. Screenshot to preserve it for eternity.

Fights that we struggled on back when Kerick got the achievements were a total joke. Good lord, I remember wipe after wipe when the tank would get one shotted trying to Choose Steelbreaker. I remember having to learn to watch for Fusion Punch and how I struggled a bit with cleansing it fast enough at first. NOW? O.M.G. Fusion Punch takes forever and a day to cast, and I have FIVE WHOLE SECONDS to cleanse it off. And even if I don’t cleanse it, it does like 15k per second … that’s nothing with today’s health pools.

I swapped to Karius after we got to Freya, and my ineptitude at playing a mage was quickly apparent. Oh, we got through that fight fine. But then we got to the train, and I didn’t get off it fast enough, so as I was going down the ramp it was turning and I … fell to my death. On Mimiron, guess who blinked right into the rail gun barrage in the final phase? If you guessed some idiot redheaded mage, you win 10g. See Kisara for payment. Geez, check  this out from when Kerick got it … look at the teeny health pools!

Yogg *did* take more than one attempt … mostly because they sent an idiot (read:me) into the brain room who had never seen it before and got a bit confused and ended up mind controlled. Second attempt though we got it right.

OMG how cute, the hunter’s spirit beast healed me! ❤

So finally … well over a year since he first started working on the achievements … Karius got his drake. Even though he’s retired and I never play him anymore.  Just seemed a crime to leave him that close and not finish.

So uh … when we doing ICC cheeves? Kerick needs a bone drake. ^.^

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

24 Responses to “Fun Times in Uldy”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    Grats hun lol.

    The last time I was in Ulduar we were still working on ICC and I remember we had a hell of a time finishing everything. I still need 3 achievements on Lyssi for her drake.

  2. repgrind Says:

    It was so very easy now. I’d be all for doing them in SR so Van can have one, too.

  3. wolfgangcat Says:

    Oh rats…I playing with my Horde Druid, completely forgot about it and missed it!

    I better start setting the game alarm or have someone Skype me

    Great screen shots – looks like it was a blast! 😀

  4. repgrind Says:

    Bo … get Altoholic. It’s a great addon, and it will remind you starting 30 minutes ahead of start time of any calendar events your toons are signed up for .. no matter which toon or server you are playing on at the time.

  5. Analogue Says:

    We actually made Adoe whisper you but you were afk 😦

    ICC, yup! Only…. you can’t do Tuesdays-Thursdays, we can’t do Sundays, and Friday and Saturday are raid days, so…. Monday night fight?

  6. repgrind Says:

    I’m available every other Thursday. Mondays definitely work though.

  7. Leit Says:

    Tried this over the weekend. Someone forgot to inform the dps that taking out the arms on Kolo damages his chest… just missing Disarmed for the drake now.

    Razorscale is ridiculously easy to heal, even post-enrage. The achievement’s not, since deeps tend to overburn, but still one-shottable.

  8. Troutwort Says:

    25 minutes…sweet mercy.

  9. slice213 Says:

    old content…..

  10. Analogue Says:

    25 minutes, AND she still has 97% mana.

  11. slice213 Says:

    van you need to reforge some spirit 😛

    I think for tonight going to try to reforge a bunch of spirit for more throughput stats.

    going to 1900 spirit and if i feel I can go lower I may do so 🙂

    FUN FUN FUN RAWR!

  12. repgrind Says:

    I’ve actually been thinking about that. I was looking at some other pallies this morning and it seems like I can probably ditch some.

  13. slice213 Says:

    yeah…i think we both finish with over 70% mana…which when one thinks about is a waste. Shannox I dont think I go below 70% at all. (I dont think I am crazy to drop to 1500 spirit like some disc priests i have seen but we shall see)

  14. koalabear21 Says:

    But, but, but, I thought there wasn’t enough spirit on cloth this tier?

    /end sarcasm

  15. Analogue Says:

    You no take spirit!

    I’m letting mine drop off slowly, by not reforging new gear for more spirit and going to straight int gems in new pieces, but there are still fights where I end up on fumes. Now that my haste is feeling better, I like having solid mana regen still.

  16. repgrind Says:

    You don’t use straight int gems? Hmm. Maybe it’s different for druids, but the only ones I have that aren’t red are a pair of orange for my meta bonus and a purple in my pants because the socket bonus is worth it.

  17. zarigar Says:

    hehe…”purple in my pants”…

  18. koalabear21 Says:

    Zari, Rep wants me to tell you “It is better than blue!”

  19. slice213 Says:

    I am still amazed you convinced Mr no old content Cayle to head into Ulduar.

  20. Analogue Says:

    He says he’ll come to ICC too…. also I think he just wanted that epic dragon.

  21. repgrind Says:

    He wants the ICC drake for sure. I don’t think he cared that much about the Uldy one, but I’m glad he came along.

    Also, Slice, thanks again to you and Arv for coming along to BWL last night. Your damage made it go quicker, and Arv’s level 61 behind gave me something to heal.

  22. Gromitdaddy Says:

    Tes! Thank you for coming along slice and arv!!! And ulduar was a blast… Even the 25 minute fight :). Now i just need to start trolling molten core for the judgement legs.

  23. repgrind Says:

    You *could* solo MC … I’ve done it. But I’d be happy to go along with you, because I still need two pieces to finish my Lawbringer.

  24. ReversionLFM Says:

    Argh. The ONLY raid in the entire game I have never done and it had to be at a time when I could not make it.

Leave a Reply

