The Lowbie Project

So, I’ve spent a lot of time lately working on several alts. They were all in existence already, but it wasn’t until Arv started his little project that I blew the dust off them. He is leveling a tank of each class on the Alliance side. So of course, being the dork that I am, I am attempting to provide each of them their own healer.

His DK is getting Kriann, the dorf shaman. She had recently respecced resto and gotten a full set of heirlooms, but it’s still going to be a grind getting her up to Outland. I think she’s about 31 right now. Fortunately, Arv won’t have much playtime next week, so I will have an opportunity to catch up.

His worgen warrior gets my worgen druid Kaladis. She, too, had to respec into resto, and I’ve had to adjust to this whole HoTs thing. It’s really not my style but I am learning. I absolutely LOVE the female worgen model though, so I am thoroughly enjoying playing her for that alone. We had quite a night earlier this week, with Slice joining us on his ele shaman, and Zari bringing along his dwarf mage. We even got some guild achievements for a couple of the dungeons!

I tried to get one with Arv in the shot, too, but you know how he never stands still unless he’s prospecting ore. Since that doesn’t happen with lowbies, it’s pretty much impossible unless I specifically ask him to pose.

His druid and his paladin are both getting … wait for it … you’ll never guess in a million years … totally out of the blue, man … paladins. What? I can’t help it, I just *love* pally healing. I did change Marionus’ hairstyle and beard last night though, because he and Klin were looking a bit too much alike. Now, obviously my slots on Winterhoof are full, so we are doing these two by way of Stalker ID grouping. This feature is a godsend when you want to level something with a buddy to play on your regular server, but you don’t have room for more toons. The only problem has been Klin’s lack of any support. Thanks to SR’s tutelage on playing the AH, however, he has managed to do alright for himself, and even was able to purchase glyphs as soon as he hit 25. Β It’s kind of interesting comparing the two and seeing which gear slots they have the same things on.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “The Lowbie Project”

  1. zarigar Says:

    so you have a minimum of 4 holy pallys?

  2. Arvash Says:

    I’m actually enjoying the lowbie tanking experience. Call me crazy, but tanking runs in my blood(elf) and just seems natural. If only I had heirlooms, I’m tempted to send my hordie priest over just to bring them the ‘looms, glyphs and moolah. A couple observations:

    Warrior – I love their gap closers, but it sucks to have to wait until level 29 to get the talent that allows you to use Charge while in defensive stance. I’m used to playing Marrcus, cause I have Diz on the other side (although she’s probaly pissed I haven’t maxed her out yet). And with the upcoming Deathwing set T13 set for warriors, they’re gonna be pretty badass.

    DK – I don’t think Heavy went tank until late into Wrath, but IMOblood tanking seems the same to me on Zack. What’s not to like about short BC instances and all the spell plate that drops? (/groan)

    Paladin – Arv went ret all the way up to Wrath where, believe it or not, he actually was Holy for a bit. It was ok, until everyone in my small instance group stopped tanking cause they hated it. Picked up a prot spec and the rest is history. Prot pallies at the low levels are sooo OP now, Val has Crusader Strike, Word of Glory, Avenger’s Shield and Consecrate….all before level 30? Dayum…

    Druid – Caden never tanked, he went feral once, but I didnt like it, so he stayed Bal/Resto. Bear tanking is an interesting beast (lol), they seem to be gear dependent and they dont have a lot of tools to start off with. From what someone’s told me, Bear tanking isn’t worth it until after level 81. Lorelin’s gonna prove them wrong, lol.

  3. zarigar Says:

    zomg that was like a blog post

  4. Analogue Says:

    Lies, bear tanking is awesome and you have to learn it BEFORE 81 or you never will. What do you get at 81, Swipe? If you can’t hold aggro without it, you’ll never hold aggro with it. Rev leveled his bear as a tank all the way… of course that was BC/Wrath but…

    Rep – resto druid is so awesome and it’s really unique. One thing I find hard when playing another class is how to manage my cooldowns, because resto druids don’t really have them. I think of Resto druid healing as being a bee – buzzing from flower to flower, stopping for a second to pollinate, then to the next.

    Also until you have healed an entire dungeon while jumping constantly you haven’t resto’d πŸ™‚

  5. Analogue Says:

    Oh, one last thing. Promise me you’ll get the Glpyh of Tree Doesn’t Look Horrific Any More, or I don’t know if we can still be friends….

  6. slice213 Says:

    I have to admit after getting the shaman to the 30’s….3 more lvls to CH! It is not so bad. But once it gets to 85 it will remain to be seen if they can be viable still – speaking about resto.

    @ Ana – but the pedotree form is soooo win! Although my druid does have the glyph for the old tree form lol.

    @ Rep….who is that funny looking short thing next to you? It appears to be missing a mohawk

  7. repgrind Says:

    Zari, it is actually 6 if you count the other two belfs that I haven’t talked about.

    Down with Pedo-tree! If I didn’t have the glyph, I would never use the cooldown. Of course, I don’t even have Tree of Life yet, but still … I do like to jump around on her a lot, mostly to try to get her to flip because it’s awesome. (That should sound familiar to anyone who’s played an elf of either race). I only have Rejuv so far as an instant HoT though … Regrowth is expensive and I generally only put it on the tank when he’s taking moderate to heavy damage, OR when I get a proc, since it is free to use then. I’ll also toss it on top of a Rejuv and then Swiftmend if the tank is in big trouble. The DPS might get a rejuv or preferably a nurture since it’s even cheaper. One thing I am good at since playing a pally … and Arv can confirm this based on one of our BFD runs last night … I don’t waste mana trying to heal ALL THE THINGS … I heal the tank and the rest of you are on your own unless I have nothing else to do.

  8. zarigar Says:

    Why is it called pedotree?

  9. Troutwort Says:

    I LOVE PEDOTREE! I think it looks serious, like it’s goign to heal the F out of me, not get chopped in half like some weaksauce Balance treant.

    Also, you have no ruined druid healing for me, forever, because you said “pollinate” people. Everytime I get some druid animation of healing on me I’m going to need a shower.

  10. Analogue Says:

    It’s called Pedotree because he lives in a van down by the river and lures children down there.

    Seriously, have you seen that thing? So hideously ugly and MALE, in a bad way, my NE girl would never look like that!

  11. Gromitdaddy Says:

    Uonecrazygurl!!!

  12. koalabear21 Says:

    Have I mentioned lately that you guys are INSANE?

    I haven’t?

    Well you people are fricken INSANE!

  13. Gromitdaddy Says:

    Yes, they are πŸ˜›

  14. ReversionLFM Says:

    Trout you said pedotree would ‘heal the F out of me’ so I am pretty sure you doubled down on any druid heals mental images.

    Tanking:
    DK: My DK is ont quite 70. So far it is a total face roll. Can’t say much more about it. After my 3rd attemTrout you said pedotree would ‘heal the F out of me’ so I am pretty sure you doubled down on any druid heals mental images.

    Tanking:
    DK: My DK is on quite 70. So far it is a total face roll. Can’t say much more about it. After my 3rd attempt at leveling a DK tank I am finally starting to like it a bit and make sense of the mechanics.

    Pally. My pally tank is er.. I forget… high 60’s? It is interesting how various tools replace each other. Like how Palidins lack of gap closers is actually offset by their second taunt which hits 3 targets. Those things don’t seem interchange able but in practice they are.

    Warrior. Works just like a bear except with more stuns and interrupts than you can shake a pedotree at. I mean it is crazy. They have like 8 things that can stop casting and a lot of those are AOE! You can keep a whole pack stunned for most of a trash-pull.

    Bears: Fewer tools means more time to focus on what you have and to focus on situational awareness. It is nonsense to say they are no good before 81. We never had an interrupt in my day! We had to pull casters up hill, both ways, in the snow, in our bear feet.
    pt at leveling a DK tank I am finally starting to like it a bit and make sense of the mechanics.

    Pally. My pally tank is er.. I forget… high 60’s? It is interesting how various tools replace each other. Like how Palidins lack of gap closers is actually offset by their second taunt which hits 3 targets. Those things don’t seem interchange able but in paractice they are.

    Warrior. Works just like a bear except with more stuns and inturupts than you can shake a pedotree at.

Leave a Reply

