I Guess I’ll Do It Myself

One of the running jokes in SR has been me constantly asking other members, particularly those that are known to have big bucks from their constant AH business (mostly Sorak, Arv, Zug, and Zarm), to buy me a bike. It’s always been about 90% joke and 10% hope that one of them would actually take me seriously. In the meantime, I’ve been playing the AH myself thanks to their tutelage, stocking up my gold in anticipation of either grinding the rep on Arelin to buy the pattern, or finding a bike for a cheap enough price to say ‘eff it I’m getting one’. Well, there’s been one on the AH all week. First it was priced way too high to consider, like 20k. Then it was 19, then 18, then 17 …. then last night after the raid I checked again after posting my gems and it had been re-listed yet again, this time for only 15,500.  Now, the vendor mats cost 12,500. I know this. I spent that plus the other mats to get one made for Karius way back when. So at this point, the seller is looking at only 3k profit … but that’s not taking into account the titansteel, Arctic Furs, etc. So it’s actually less than that. I can’t imagine the price dropping much below where it is. Heck, that’s the cheapest *I’ve* ever seen one going for. So I pulled the trigger and bam! Half my gold is gone.

Literally 30 seconds after I learned it, Cayle logged on. So, after giving him some hell for not buying me a bike, I invited him for a ride. We cruised around for a little bit. I was sorta wishing it had a horn and radio though, like the hot rods in Kezan. Definitely looks cool though. Look out peeps, hawt belfs comin through!

THEN he tells me ‘afk on the phone’. Dude, really? Did you really just tell me you’re afk when I have you held captive in my sidecar? Tell me you didn’t …

He had to know I would try something. I mean seriously.

Unfortunately, I managed to fayle somehow. I’m gonna have to get some tips from Arv on how to kill people with my chopper. I guess I clicked it off too early, maybe I should just bubble halfway down instead of clicking off the mount and then bubbling. Cayle was left sitting on the edge at the top of the cliff. I wonder what he thought when he came back and found himself there? Oh well. Nothing I could do then but sigh at my own ineptitude and sit down with him to enjoy the view of the SR AH.

Tags: , , , , ,

12 Responses to “I Guess I’ll Do It Myself”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    I think you got a great price. When I got the one for Slice it was like 16.5K.

    Shame you couldn’t kill him. 😦

  2. Lore Says:

    I was given a bike one time from a guild i helped get through ICC… I turned around and gave it as a secret santa gift around xmas..

  3. telanarra Says:

    I think we may have to deduct points for Fayleing to kill him 🙂

  4. repgrind Says:

    Yeah yeah. Next time I’ll just ride into the pond and drown him instead.

  5. koalabear21 Says:

    oooooh! That is a good idea!

  6. Arvash Says:

    Fail kamikaze run! You and Fayle should get on my mammoth in Dalaran and I’ll show you how to do it right!

  7. repgrind Says:

    You mean like this?

    dead arv

  8. Arvash Says:

    …Dalaran is not on fire…wrong screenshot

  9. Gromitdaddy Says:

    Practice makes perfect 🙂

  10. Sorak Says:

    Again, I feel the love!

  11. repgrind Says:

    I still want to know what you thought when you came back and were at the top of the cliff!

  12. Save a Horse « Reputation Grind Says:

    […] used to beg Arv to buy me a bike. One day I caught one for a good price on the AH though and that put an end to […]

Leave a Reply

