Nefarian’s End

It’s finally done.

Last week we got him to .. 7%? 3%? Somewhere in there.

Tuesday we went in … missing Cayle and Zerl, but we have capable raiders ready to step in. 100k. Like half of a per cent. No one slept much that night.

Last night … we get Cayle and Zerl back, but now Arv is not on and may not make it on. We get Zug’s tank set gemmed and enchanted and he steps into Arv’s add tanking role. Second pull we get the 7% again, so it’s working … then Arv logs on! Full regular team in place, let’s do this!!

I’m very proud of our guild, especially the fact that we have people who are willing to step in and out as needed and there is no drama about it. I mean, sure, it’s very likely that we could have killed him anyway, but man, after all the work and the nights he spent having nightmares about tanking Animated Bone Warriors … I’d have felt pretty awful if Arv wasn’t in on the kill.

We did make a change in strategy and popped hero after the first crackle in P3 instead of after the 20% one. (Sorry guys, I’m gonna keep calling it hero for awhile. Funny story .. back when I was doing Naxx, we had a shaman helping out our group whose main was Alliance, and I always gave him hell for calling it hero. Strange how the pendulum always manages to swing back the other way, isn’t it.)

Lyssi came prepared with gift-wrapped mangowns for us to wear in the kill shot.

L to R: the huge orc is Arv’s Guild Page, Arvash, Cayle, Lioncourt lying down just begging to be pounced on, Vanicus, Doomkoff (Zerl), Liyhe (Slice), Lyssianna, Zarm failed at changing into a gown, Lyssi’s felpup, and Adoe. Yes, Zug is missing … he never stands still during the photo setup, instead he runs around until Lyss starts the countdown and then heroic leaps into the center of the shot. When he did, he covered up the hawt belfs, so I’m posting this one instead. Sorry Zug. 😛

After that it was still early so we headed over to BoT and finished off Cho’gall again. Cayle and Van both needed the kill for sure, because we were on Arelin and Sorak previously.  No .. wait. Ryli was there. Damn, has Sorak even killed him ON Sorak? lol.

As you can see, there is a huge difference in the amount of mana that Van has left compared to Kerick. There are also a lot more people alive. Hmmmm …..

That was a two pull. Then we were off to Throne to work on Al’Akir. I did a little bit of begging to kill Conclave first because I could use the VP or a ring, so we took a vote. No Conclave. Oh well. I believe only three of us had worked on Al’Akir before, so there was plenty of learning to do. I had a good laugh as Arv got carried away by the very first tornado. By the end of the night we were getting into P2 pretty consistently though, and got pretty deep into it more than once.

Nef puts SR at 11/12. Just one boss to go!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

22 Responses to “Nefarian’s End”

  1. Troutwort Says:

    Congratulations!

  2. koalabear21 Says:

    Oooh I like your picture better than mine!

  3. Slice Says:

    Murloc in a dress….creepy! Kill it!

    Also Cho’gall shot…..Cayle on the floor….cayle = SR version of Log

    But good time all. 1 more to go.

  4. Analogue Says:

    …. too many people alive. Either you like them better or your druid is better than ours.

  5. Slice Says:

    It was the bubbles. Bubbles are op!

  6. repgrind Says:

    Well … there really isn’t anyone in the Crits raid whose life I value over Kerick’s. SR … well, come on, just look at them! You can see me pouring heals into Arv there, I don’t want him to die! I didn’t want Cayle to die either but … as long as Arv is the tank, Arv > Cayle. Sorry dude. 😛

    *edit ~ Lyssi says I was harsh. The previous statements are in reference to hawtness of the toons and do not imply that I like the actual people any less.

  7. repgrind Says:

    Also …. SR tanks him on the wall, NOT on the throne. I cannot even begin to express how much I HATE the throne method. I really think our survivability would go up if we would try it that way instead.

  8. ReversionLFG Says:

    Never heard you say you did not like it that way. Personally I dont care either way… and I know having people not see adds up there has wiped us several times so I woudl not mind using the wall. I have to ask though, why does it matter to a healer?

  9. repgrind Says:

    Mostly only matters to a healer because the longer the adds live, the more damage you all take, all while the effectiveness of healing is greatly reduced. (Like the whopping 283 Divine Light in the screenshot above.)

    I’ve probably only mentioned it in whispers to Ana and in the healer channel.

  10. Arvash Says:

    Great job to everyone last night! Been a long time coming, hope Big Al goes down next week so we can haz our epic flying birdies! Oh, sleep is good…when you’re no longer being chased by animated bone warriors in your dreams, lol.

  11. koalabear21 Says:

    Poor Arv. I’m so happy we were able to stop your nightmares!

  12. repgrind Says:

    Ha! Now he gets to dream about being carried away in tornadoes. Hope you have some ruby slippers, Arv. 😉

  13. Analogue Says:

    I personally really like the throne method because I can see things better at the foot of the steps. But we haven’t done the wall method much so…

  14. repgrind Says:

    I know when I tanked it, moving to a wall was a lot easier for me than having to mess with the stairs and limited space on top of the throne.Obviously that doesn’t apply when I’m healing, but it might matter to the melee.

    I can’t see the adds behind him when I’m healing from the bottom of the steps. Not sure what the dps is able to see, in either case. I honestly am so busy in that phase standing in one place filling green bars, I’m not even looking at anything else, except to glance at the boss health once in awhile.

  15. Analogue Says:

    I know I can see the adds’ health bars. Honestly if people can’t then they need an addon that works – like Tidyplates. Because there’s too many encounters where it can be hard to see the adds. But your points are good ones.

    I feel like the throne method keeps us pretty close together. If I drop Efflorescence on the tank it probably heals several other people. But if that translates into slowness in killing adds that’s probably a net loss.

  16. Slice Says:

    I use Tidy plates but I am ranged so I can see everything. From the perspective of a melee, I am not sure what they see and if there are invisible wall issues within such a compact spot. But if the tanks are not having any issues with it, might be a add on issue for the melee?

    The only real time I cannot see them is if steup out too far back.

  17. Troutwort Says:

    Ugh…raiding requires too many add-ons, that’s why I don’t do it. 😉

  18. Ado Says:

    I like the throne as ranged as I have health bars up for most boss fights and I can see all the adds, and thier bars, in front of me. It might help melee to be zomed out a bit more and have an open view of thier back, other wise the camera gets funny.

  19. Gromitdaddy Says:

    Congrats!!!

    And I can’t see a thing up there. Have to have the camera really close, and run around behind the boss to see if there are any adds up. It’s not good.

  20. Falahla Says:

    Congrats all!

    For Cho’gall, as soon as we enter that phase, I hit my handy-dandy v-key and I automatically know when the adds are up because suddenly my screen if filled with health bars. Even if I can’t see the actual add to target them because they’re behind Cho’gall, I know they’re alive and can quickly tab target and pew pew away.

  21. sorak Says:

    Have the melee tried to pan the camera angle out 180 degrees? Instead of facing your toons back, you’ll be facing their front.

    You’re correct BTW. Soak has no end boss kills. Largely due to the feeling a he’d receive less heals as a male goblin than my sexy belfs!

    Not to mention Ryli and Cayle have the best racial in the game!

  22. repgrind Says:

    Awww, come on, I would give heals to Sorak … wait … male goblin death sounds are awesome. I better not make a promise that I couldn’t keep. ^.^

Leave a Reply

