Lucky Number 7

Waitwut? Do I really have SEVEN now? I mean, sure, I could have more if I quit raiding  but … how the hell did I level 7 already? Granted, the other six were already 80. But still …

Ok, let me back up a bit here. Once again this week, we were short a couple people each night so SR had to take the week off of raiding. While the guys went off and did things like play hopscotch with High Priest Venoxxis, I steadily racked up the XP on Van. I actually was barely paying attention to my XP bar, so it took me a little by surprise when I dinged.

I’m almost but not quite done with that zone, as you can see. Unfortunately, I have no bat pile shots for you. They did change the scale of the stone bats flying around the Shuddering Spires, so … they just mess it all up.

Anyway … in the course of my adventures in Uldum, I picked up the items for both int-based JC trinkets as well as the strength DPS trinket. Arelin tossed me a spare set of Terborus’ Rotating Bands that he’d picked up in Deepholm. Several of us grouped back up and headed out to finish off the CoC, and despite me hating it because it is so horrendously ugly, I chose the healy mace. This all had me sitting at 328 iLevel .. one point shy of heroics. But wait! I have the mats for the shield …

Arv shows up at the anvil in Sandstone Drake form. I trade him the mats and he says ‘Peace!’ and rises into the air before I can hop on board. Brat! ‘Forgot the orb lol’ He comes back and says ‘the tanking one right?’ I bonk him on the noggin and say no, and watch as he makes the correct one but says ‘oops’. Yeah, nice try.

Ok, let’s test this thing out! It put me well over the 329 iLevel needed for heroics. Get Cayle off that darn remote chat and actually in-game and let’s hit a random!

We get Lion tanking, Arv on his enh shaman, Cayle, and Slice as boomkin. The loading screen comes up and … SFK. Ok, an easy one. I know this one inside and out. And I have Slice there for decursing.

Healers out there … you will probably get this. Tanks might too. The rest of you … might find this confusing. You see … when I’m dps, I feel like I’m flailing, even in an instance that I know well. Tanking … yes, I’ve tanked all of BoT, most of BWD, and the Conclave of Wind. I’m not the greatest, but I know how to use my cooldowns and I do an adequate job of boss placement and so forth. Put me someplace other than a raid … and I’m flailing. Put me in a heroic on a fresh 85, undergeared and unenchanted holy pally? I’m right at home. We breezed through the instance. Were there some tight moments? Oh sure. But we got out of there with zero deaths.

I guess they decided I was good enough, so they wanted more. Ok, fine. Lion has to take off, so this time Arv is tanking, and we twist Zari’s arm and get him to bring his spriest Lorethos. I’m sure having Zari along is the reason we got Grim Batol.  Now, if you think we’re getting out of GB with no deaths, I want some of whatever you’re smoking. Cayle is an excellent floor tank. Really. I stopped halfway through and told him ‘Dude, I’m really sorry, but when it’s between you and Arv, you have to be the one to die.’

I don’t know what those guys were doing with the Malignant Trogg on Umbriss, but … well, we fell over at the same time he did and got the achievement for killing him when he had the buff. Thanks? lol. Forgemaster went down no problem .. so did Cayle. That first pull after the hallway after him though? O.M.G. I used LoH, Arv used LoH, I pulled out my Guardian of Ancient Kings to double the heals I was putting on Arv, I used HoSac. Once everything including Cayle was dead I took a deep breath and was like ‘Arv, I have NO idea how you are still alive.’ It was … awesome. I know, you non-healers and probably even some healers out there are thinking ‘man that would get me to quit healing for good’ but … it just makes me want moar.

We cleared the rest of the place no problem. And naturally, the holy pally bracers did not drop. I knew they wouldn’t. But it’s ok.

Now, I know that this isn’t the same as taking a fresh 85 into a random random. I was surrounded with raid-geared guildies.  (Arv, Lion has a higher iLevel than you do? WTF man??) Would I fare so well healing a tank that was closer to my iLevel? Hell no. CC would be required and I would be hard pressed for mana the whole run instead of only after a couple of dicey pulls. And I’m sure I will find out just how tough it is in the near future. I’m not afraid to solo queue on my healer. Especially if CtA pops up, although it’s been more than a week now since I’ve seen it for healers in the regular heroics.

Hope you guys are up for some more tonight! If not, meh … I’ll run some on my own. I got a lot of work to do if you want me to heal on Tuesday. :p

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

23 Responses to “Lucky Number 7”

  1. slice Says:

    Woah! Arv has a lower Ilvl then lion. Arv son you better see your dr for that problem. 😛

    And more H’s are cool. I am down for a few, then I want to work on the frost DK, I too want to tank floors.

  2. Analogue Says:

    Hmm, with us raiding Thursdays and you of being Hordetastic on Tuesday and Wednesday…. makes it tricky to find time other than raid to hang together. But you should get your priest geared up for healing! Moar heals!

  3. Arioch Says:

    Hah! I was whispering Zari during that Grim Batol running. I was giving him crap for not healing it, lol.

  4. koalabear21 Says:

    Grats on hitting 85!

  5. zarigar Says:

    Sigh..my latency was a mess during that GB. I was red almost the entire run; I’m surprised I only d/c’ed once. We pulled a group right at the end of the Umbriss fight so that made it extra deathy. Oh well, I finally got a wand upgrade and am now Superior.

  6. zarigar Says:

    Also, screw you, Arioch! Why don’t you get on your main and come talk to me lol.

  7. repgrind Says:

    @Ana – Priest? Oh, Ragle. I guess I should at least toss some gems in his gear someday eh? I’m just not that into it, paladins are really my thing. And when, exactly, would I raid on him? I already have Tues, Weds, Fri, Sat. You’ll not be dragging me into Sun, Mon too. 😛

    @Zari – Oh yeah! I forgot about that group that came running in on Umbriss. You know …. I bet DoTs could have reached those if someone was tab targeting …… 😉
    And just tell Arioch you’ll be healing GB as soon as your pally gets to 85. I’ll bring Arelin and floor tank for ya :p

  8. Arvash Says:

    Lion may have a higher ilevel, but I have bigger disco ballz

  9. koalabear21 Says:

    True fact ^^

  10. Arvash Says:

    You want trial by fire? Let’s have Van and Lionshift two-heal Chimaeron next week, lol

  11. repgrind Says:

    Ok, that goes way beyond being a brat, Arv. Now you’re just plain being evil.

  12. Arvash Says:

    In the great words of Chef Martin Yan, “If Zarm can heal it, so can you.”

  13. repgrind Says:

    So now you want me to solo heal BH? Dang Arv, what did I ever do to you. 😛

    And I can do things that Zarm can’t. So there. hehe

  14. koalabear21 Says:

    Well according to Zarm you and I are men using a voice program, so apparently we are the same 😉

  15. Arvash Says:

    I’d heal it with ya, but I’m kinda waiting for my 4pc T12 bonus for Vynn so that it makes the best shammy heal eva mo betta

  16. repgrind Says:

    Is that the one that makes chain heal hit one more target? lmao

  17. Arvash Says:

    Hell yeah! And they just updated it so that CH doesn’t consume the effects of Riptide on the primary target! Score!

  18. repgrind Says:

    Ok but .. if you and I are healing … who’s tanking?

    Please don’t say ‘Cayle’

  19. Arvash Says:

    …..you’re right. I’ll stay tank.

  20. koalabear21 Says:

    Zarm and Slice, duh

  21. repgrind Says:

    But if the healers and tanking and the tanks are healing … then the dps are … ???

  22. Arvash Says:

    One word. One man. Zugzuug.

  23. repgrind Says:

    Well, I meant what are they doing different. lol. Wait, on second thought, don’t answer that. I’m afraid of what you guys will come up with.

Leave a Reply

