My Dirty Little Secret 2

Remember my dirty little secret?  He started as prot, leveled through a portion of Ghostlands, tanked RFC once, and got shelved at level 20.  He got ignored for quite some time, as happens to most alts on occasion, but I’ve dug him back out. And changed his spec. lol.

Considering that Kerick is holy/holy, it should come as no surprise that Van went holy as well. He’s leveling almost completely through LFD, supplemented by some exploration, mining, and archaeology. Here he is around level 26ish.

Some of the people in LFD are … well … interesting. I’ve lost count of the number of wipes caused by pet  classes not dismissing their pets before we jump down somewhere. It happened multiple times in Wailing Caverns and Gnomeregan.

At the end of Gnomer once, a spirit/stamina ring dropped. It was needed on by me, the warrior tank, and the hunter. Really? I can give the warrior a half pass given that the stamina was probably greater than what he was wearing and is actually useful to him, but the hunter? And of course, the hunter won it.

In Maraudon, a tauren pally tank needed on an intellect/spirit shield. I was nice, I simply stated in party chat “That’s a healer shield” and when he won it he nicely handed it over, but still …. he was bad on top of it. To be fair, he did state up front that he hadn’t been there before, but … the enh shaman really tanked the place. There was one hairy moment where the warlock’s imp wasn’t dismissed on a jump and pulled a ton of demons. The shaman had run ahead and pulled something else, so I had to run back and forth between him and the group, keeping everyone up. Fun!

What is with hunters? Ok, it’s not always hunters, but they almost invariably do this. I even had one hunter in SM:Library boast that “I could probably solo this place” … well, why the hell don’t you so that we don’t have to put up with you? IF YOU ARE NOT THE TANK, DON’T EFFING PULL! I cannot emphasize that enough. I told one guy in SFK that if he wanted to tank, he should have queued as the tank. The actual tank and I stood back and watched. I didn’t heal him.

Halfway through, the tank had to leave (we were on our third hunter by then) and the one we got was a tauren pally. (Side note: I have not gotten a good tauren pally tank yet. Every single one has sucked.) In the room before the gargoyles, the tank wins the roll on a green 2H sword … and promptly equips it and proceeds to tank the rest of the instance with that instead of  sword and board. Care to guess what Lord Godfrey does to block tanks who don’t wear a shield?

One of the more interesting groups was when I zoned into an SM:Graveyard and it took me a couple of pulls to realize that the guy in the cloth heirlooms was actually the tank. I mean, he was an orc with a shield and caster ‘looms, so I just assumed he was an ele shaman, and the big cow in the plate heirlooms and a 2H sword was another ret tank. Nope! The dude in the robe is a warrior. I stay silent while the other two dps make rude comments about the tank in a dress. (The tauren was with him.) And you know what? He was one of the best tanks I have healed so far. He knew what he was doing and it showed. I requeued with him and his pally and we did Gnomer too. Good times.

Would I tank in cloth heirlooms? No. I’m not even healing in my plate dps heirlooms. As soon as I changed specs, I mailed them off to my baby femtaur warrior and bought whatever pieces I could get off the AH to fill my slots with spirit or intellect. But hey, it worked for this guy, and if he values the extra xp that much, I say go for it.

Now at level 33 I look like this … pally in a dress.

Wait … ugh. Look how my hair clashes with my robe? AWFUL! So, in the grand tradition of belf culture and vanity, I visited the salon.

Much better!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

22 Responses to “My Dirty Little Secret 2”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    Much better! 😉

  2. Slice213 Says:

    Agreed. Regular visits to salons are a must for any true Belf player.

  3. Ado Says:

    “So, in the grand tradition of belf culture and vanity, I visited the salon.”

    ^ Full of win!

  4. Troutwort Says:

    Vanity first!

  5. DarthRegis Says:

    Well, I can’t speak for all hunters, but I know that if I’ve ever pulled a group, it’s just a result of unfortunate tab-targetting + auto shot still auto shotting.

  6. repgrind Says:

    That happens, and can be excused unless it’s nonstop. I’m talking about hunters who literally run ahead of the group and pull stuff on purpose.

    (What?? I wasn’t looking at you, Rev, honest. What’s that behind my back? I have no idea what you’re talking about.)

  7. Gromdred Says:

    @ado – well said and i couldn’t agree more.

    @rep – who does your hair? Pryncess needs a new stylist!

  8. repgrind Says:

    Well, there’s this goblin just outside the troll district … I know, I know, you all love your cowtown and rarely go outside of it, but trust me … he’s good!

  9. koalabear21 Says:

    I’ve been to that goblin. I like the new location. She used to be located near the rogues in this cave. She is good. Of course no where near as good as the one in Silvermoon, but really now, who is?

  10. repgrind Says:

    Was it a she? Eh .. they all look alike.

  11. koalabear21 Says:

    Would you trust a male goblin with your hair?

  12. repgrind Says:

    I’m amazed that I trust ANY goblin with my hair, to be honest.

  13. koalabear21 Says:

    The females have fabulous hairstyles!

  14. repgrind Says:

    But they don’t have WARSTOMP

  15. Troutwort Says:

    Troutorc needs new hair. Well, and face.

  16. koalabear21 Says:

    Orcs are ugly

  17. Slice213 Says:

    orcs are awesome

  18. repgrind Says:

    Ewww, orcs are .. .wait … *looks at Zug’s dps meters from the other night* … ok, orcs are awesome (phew! that was a close one)

  19. koalabear21 Says:

    Zug might be awesome, and he might be an orc, but Zug’s toon isn’t exacty attractive

  20. repgrind Says:

    True, but it could be worse, he could be … aw, I better stop. I pick on Sorak enough as it is. xD

  21. koalabear21 Says:

    It isn’t like Sorak regularly reads our posts you know. He only reads them when someone sends them to him.

  22. Alt Week: Paladin | Reputation Grind Says:

    […] for SR was, I really, *really* … well, I’m a healer. That’s it. So Van got respecced and leveled almost entirely through LFD. Whereas Kerick had learned healing late, Van learned from the ground […]

Leave a Reply

