Shadow Raiding

Tuesday afternoon. I’m sitting at my desk, reading blogs working, when Lyssi gchats me. “Be ready to raid tonight, we only have 9 signups.” Uhh … but mah gearz! They are teh suck! A little more questioning and I realize she expects to need DPS. Ok .. this I can do. Pewpewing while undergeared as long as the rest of the raid is spot on I can live with. Tanking without being prepared? Not gonna happen.

I get home and log on. I had maxed my JPs in the GB run that I posted about yesterday, and bought a tanking belt before logging off that night. I sold it back for the refund, put on my dps gear, and took stock of what I needed. I settled for buying pants and then queueing for a random and seeing if anything dropped. While waiting, I went and changed the rune on my best weapon from tanking to dps, and also reforged all my gear to make an attempt at the hit and expertise caps.

Queue pops. Vortex Pinnacle. Good, a short one. Well …. it’s a short one in a group that doesn’t suck. This group sucks. I was pulling the most dps. In ungemmed, unenchanted junk. I win a ring with crit and expertise off the dragon. Good! Now I at least have two dps rings instead of a reforged tank ring. I don’t *need* crit since I’m 2H frost, but it’s more beneficial than dodge.

The trash after that … just thinking about it now makes me seethe all over again. Stuff doesn’t get pulled out of grounding fields. The one time it does, I’m the only one on the adept with the skull, while the one with the moon runs rampant, healing everything in sight. The mage is cursing up a storm about how she can’t sheep her target because I’m hitting it. Uhhh? We had quite an argument during the runback after the wipe … me insisting I was on the skull the entire time (I was) and she insisting that the tank changed the marks halfway through the fight because I was on the wrong one. I was so mad I almost dropped group, but decided that would be letting them win and besides, I need my damn points! I drop the conversation instead, get back, and they are re-marked exactly the same … with the one I had been hitting wearing a skull. Effing incompetent idiots.

Finally we kill Asaad, he drops dps pants (!!!), which I promptly need and gtfo of there. Now, I can’t just sell my other pants back, because my points will go over cap. So first I pick out something else that I need. Gloves I think. THEN I sell back the pants that I bought and use the points for a chest. So far, the gearing up session is going better than expected. Time for gems and enchants!

Here is where I am a noob. I check what rep I need for a dps head enchant. Dragonmaw. Hm. I am friendly. Well hell. I’d been working on tank shit, so I have Earthen Ring rep. How about Wrath? Ebon Blade, right? I am … honored? And I’m a DK. Seriously … F A I L. I go to Vashj’ir and buy a tank one. *sigh* At least I did all of Deepholm so I can get shoulder enchants.

Slice hooks me up with gems and the other enchants that I need. Telenarra crafts me an epic dps belt. I think I’m ready to go!

First we hit Baradin Hold.

Then I try to ride Sorak, but it kicks me off as soon as he hops in a portal. Boo!

We go to BoT. Lyssi gives me flasks and food. We pull stuff. We CC stuff. So far so good. I’m kind of amused by some of the comments, and wonder why half the people sound like they’ve never been here before. We get to Halfus and they ask me if I have any advice on the strat for this combo (slate, nether, time. I think it’s slate anyway .. whatever the one next to the nether scion is.) Strat clears (kill time and nether, leave the other) and off we go.

Check this out … 105k oblit crits are SEXAY!!

We one shot him.

Lyssi’s pics have nameplates turned on, so check hers out for identifying who is who. I like this one better though because of the way Zug got himself flying in the upper right foreground.

So .. now I’ve killed Halfus as tank, healer, ranged dps, and melee dps. Am I crazy? Just a little. >.<

We move on to the twin dragons. Trash goes smoothly, and we proceed to wipe a handful of times while we learn the fight. Eventually we get it, and I hit honored with the guild on the kill. (lol)

Then we move on to the next trash before someone says uhhh …. we forgot to take a picture! So we run back in and … no dragons. I tell Sorak to lie down in the middle of floor and pretend to be a dead dragon but that doesn’t work so well since he’s a teensy widdle goblin. I tried standing on him during the Val and T fight so I could share my twilight blasts with him. hehe.

We made some good pulls on the Ascendent Council but ultimately had the same result as in my regular Crits run. 3 melee plus 2 ranged ends up being painful, although the time we got them to 7% we would have won if we had the second set of dudes going down at the same time. (Remember back in Naxx on the guys before Thaddius, how ALL you had to worry about was getting them down at an equal rate? I love how Blizz has turned up the dial on reused mechanics to make them more challenging.)

We ended up calling it there when raid time came up, but all in all, it was a great night … especially since it actually WAS the first time anyone other than me had been there. LOL. If I’d know that ahead of time …. >.>

J/K, I would have still come. You guys impressed me with your ability to learn the fights fast. Great job, and lots of fun! Now, I just gotta get that mage and pally leveled, and gear up my tank spec …. <.<

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 Responses to “Shadow Raiding”

  1. Troutwort Says:

    Ha! Zug made the best screenshot ever!

  2. koalabear21 Says:

    Zug is indeed awesome. ^_^

    You were very welcome in the raid! I keep getting told that you need to be made a core raider.

    A lot of the problems were because people didn’t know the mechanics and not necessarily too much melee. When we switched Zug to the frost guy things went smoother. I think with a few personnel changes we should be able to down them.

    Thank you again for rushing to get read to join us! Especially when we ended up with 13 sign ups >.>

  3. gromdred Says:

    Grats on what sounds like a good night!

  4. ReversionLFM Says:

    The problem with too much melee on that fight is the final phase. When all the melee gets on one target the raid aoe kills everyone. It is very nasty if you are not spread out in the last phase.

  5. koalabear21 Says:

    No we understand that. But you don’t understand the power that is Zug.

    On Atramedes we had him on the gongs and he was still top damage and dps.

    We tank Atramedes in the center of the room.

    Zug is awesome

  6. Analogue Says:

    Koala you can’t have her as a core raider she’s MY core raider grrrr grrr stay away grrrr

    Just kidding! Grats on the kills over there and wow – Halfus down in all roles, now that is something.

  7. koalabear21 Says:

    If it makes you feel better Ana we only raid on Tuesday/Wednesday

  8. Analogue Says:

    I know that but I have to give you grief…. and also make sure she doesn’t burn out but with a day off in between raids that’s not too bad a schedule…

  9. koalabear21 Says:

    it’s all good ^_^

    I’m just waiting for you to come join us ^_^ give Zarm a run for his money

  10. Analogue Says:

    I can’t! I won’t even change my NE to worgen, cow or troll is just too beyond me…. maybe someday when we are really bored I’ll make a new troll druid…. shudder…. and maybe she’ll grow on me… but not til after Crits hits level 25, and our raid downs Cho’gall, and I finish Dragon Age 2…

  11. koalabear21 Says:

    Troll!

    No, no, no!

    Pretty little femtar! You get to be the asshole druid herber! 😀

  12. slice213 Says:

    Femtaur 4 lyfe!

    Guess I should start back working on mage.

  13. Troutwort Says:

    OMG I HATE DRUIDS! THEY STOLE MY APPLES AND MY LOBSTERS LAST NIGHT!

  14. Troutwort Says:

    Well, in all fairness a gnome also stole my apple! But they are adorable so I let it pass….guild chat however…did not. >.<

  15. repgrind Says:

    *punts some gnomes*

    You know who I hate? People who don’t use spirit needing on mah spirit gear. Like the hunter who needed on the stam/spi ring in Gnomeregan on Monday, or the tank last night who needed on the int/spi shield that dropped in Maraudon. (He did give it to me when I protested, however) Post on that crap coming tomorrow …

  16. zarigar Says:

    you were riding Sorak? o_O

  17. slice213 Says:

    ya I know right. Might want to get checked out after that.

  18. repgrind Says:

    I’m a DK. I doubt I have much to be worried about. 😛

Leave a Reply

