DA:O

Kinda funny … this morning’s Breakfast Topic over at WoW Insider is “Do you play other games besides WoW?” Why is that funny? Because that’s what I was going to write about today anyway. You see … for the first time in three years, I’ve cheated on WoW. Oh sure, I’ve played some PvZ late at night when I couldn’t sleep on occasion, but this goes way beyond that.ย This goes to the extreme of I DID NOT LOG IN TO WOW YESTERDAY AT ALL. (not logging in to WoW for a single day and calling that an extreme is a whole ‘nother can of worms, isn’t it?)

Let’s start at the beginning. Thursday I felt like absolute crap. But I went to work anyway. When I got home, I logged in like usual and did some dailies and I think even a dungeon … but I wasn’t really up to dealing with other people. My eyes strayed to the Dragon Age: Origins (Ultimate Edition) lying on the nearby dresser. It had been sitting there, unwrapped, since the day Cata came out. I bought it anticipating lots of server downtime like there had been at the release of Wrath. That didn’t happen, the Cata release was amazingly smooth, and the game sat unplayed and waiting. (Yes, I realize I am very behind and there’s a DA:2 coming. This is nothing new. Before WoW, I was always a generation behind on my consoles, too. I still don’t have a PS3 or an Xbox … but my Sega Saturn is still operational.)

So anyway … I installed the game and rolled a mage. Apparently this was a big mistake because I couldn’t even make it out of the Fade. So I said fine, I’ll just try a warrior. Plate makes it all better amirite? Well, yes and no. It made it better enough that I easily completed the human noble origin story, and got started on the Wilds. I guess I’ve been playing WoW for too long. I had completely forgotten how to handle a party of four instead of just controlling my own toon. My groupmates would run off ahead of me and get surrounded and … ugh.

Friday at work I expressed my difficulties to Lyssi. She suggested I look at the tactics and put in one for each character to use a health potion when they get below a certain percent, and also try setting the game to ‘easy’ instead of ‘normal’. Yes, that’s right … I’m playing on ezmode. Hey, what are you doin on my lawn?! Dang kids.

So, I rerolled my mage. Yes, I was bound and determined to play a mage, goshdarnit. I messed around in the tactics. I set up my mage to assist and took direct control of Alistair. As I got enough levels to get some new spells, it got easier. Frozen mob + Stonefist = love. So I set up a macro, er, tactic for my mage to cast stonefist on anything that is immobilized. My mage has gone straight primal.ย  He has like no spells that don’t do direct damage .. except weakness, since he came with that already learned.

I’ve gone through my Joining. I’ve survived the battle, and gotten past Lothering to the point where I have the Party Camp and can go to wherever on the world map I choose. Yes, I am intentionally not talking specifics on plot. I am probably not the only noob who hasn’t played the game before and I don’t want to give stuff away, because so far, the plot is amazing and I wouldn’t want to spoil it.

I am also NOT looking up any info on the net. I’m sure there is probably a wiki and all kinds of things that will tell me where stuff is, and what gifts to give to who, and all that crap. That’s fine and dandy on a second playthrough … but I’m enjoying just discovering things as I go the first time around.

Don’t worry, guildmates. I’ll be logging on WoW tonight. At least for a little while. But I may log off earlier than normal. You see, there are these abominations that need to be taken care of ….

Oh, and Lyssi? I’ve changed my mind … I would totally do Alistair. Guess I’ll have to eventually roll a chick huh? ๐Ÿ˜›

Tags: , , ,

15 Responses to “DA:O”

  1. Analogue Says:

    Mage is a good choice on DAO – I loved my playthrough but I don’t think I’ll go back and play a different class. I’ll definitely get Dragon Age 2 sometime…. it’s nice to have a playstation game to do when I don’t want to play WoW!

    Hope you’re over the cold…

    You should join us online for at least long enough to keep me company while Reversion is helping Cael’s raid. Although I got to go on my mage for Magmaw last night because they had someone forget what time was the start.

  2. repgrind Says:

    It wasn’t a cold. Not sure what it was, exactly .. not sure it’s even gone. I have sinus issues this time of year, when it rains one day and snows the next. My street is a solid sheet of ice this morning. Bleh.

    Anyway, I am totally planning to log on tonight. I’ll have to adjust my sound settings again though so I can get on vent. If I leave them set for vent, I get no sound on DA.

  3. Analogue Says:

    Oh by the way, I played DA on easy mode. With the blood turned off. I like being able to drop giant fireballs on my own friends without actually hurting them. Heh.

  4. repgrind Says:

    Cone of Cold still freezes them though. I’ll be there in melee with 3 or 4 things on me going RAWR SHIELD BASH and all of a sudden I’ll be an ice sculpture. Haha. It’s kinda funny.

  5. slice213 Says:

    RAWR the cult of DA compels thee! Cant wait for DA:2 going to pick it up tonight at the midnight release!

    …../facepalm…Lyssi has corrupted another….

    And because I am in a silly mood….Alister really…like ewwwww.

  6. koalabear21 Says:

    I TOLD YOU!

    If you are a chick and get in really good with him in the beginning he will pick a rose for you! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Although it takes a while to get him over his virginal fears.

    The pussy.

    ๐Ÿ˜€

    Glad my tips helped you!

  7. DarthRegis Says:

    I haven’t really played my copy of DA:O. I only really made it as far as meeting Morrigan and WoW pulled me back in.

    It seems like a good game, but rather involved. And I’m not sure I have room for two involved gaming experiences.

    I am teh fail gamer. (Although I do have a PS3! It plays blu-rays and netflix!)

  8. DarthRegis Says:

    @ koalabear

    Girls are scary, mmmkay?!

  9. koalabear21 Says:

    Silly boys

  10. slice213 Says:

    lol

    DRAGON AGE 2 TONIGHT! NO SLEEP FOR SLICE!!!! RAWR

  11. Troutwort Says:

    Good times! We missed you though!

  12. Gromdred Says:

    Ps3? Xbox? What are these things of which you speaketh?

  13. repgrind Says:

    Ok Grom .. put down the Atari 2600 joystick, it’s time for your meds.

  14. lagalot Says:

    Good game. I did the mage on easy mode too. It’s great fun to drop several giant screen covering bombs in the middle of the room and not really care what else is going on, cause well, you just flooded the screen with lasers.

  15. Gromdred Says:

    Lol! We do have a super nintendo in a box somewhere… Hope you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

