Herbageddon

You want to make money on my server? Pick some dang herbs!

I logged on last night, and queued up Karius for the holiday boss. While I was waiting, I headed to Stranglethorn to fish up some Firefin Snapper because I knew Kerick needed more Fire Oil to level his Alchemy. I see Ado ask in guild  chat if anyone has any Goldthorn.

Ten minutes later, I log onto Kerick, do the holiday boss, and start on the Alchemy. A few points in, everything needs Goldthorn. I have a little but not nearly enough (Kar had picked some while he was fishing.) I go to the AH. One stack of 5 for a little over 12g each. (Not 12g for the stack .. 12g EACH) “Ado,” I ask in guild chat, “did you buy out all of the Goldthorn on the AH?” Pretty much a rhetorical question … I know he did. He probably didn’t balk at the price either … playing the AH is one of his hobbies, kinda like the archaeology is for me, so he’s always swimming in gold while I’m swimming in … common quality artifacts.

Side Note: I swear, I think everyone and their dog is leveling alchemy all of a sudden. Log finished his last night, or at least got close to it. Not sure what Ado was working on, the Armory still says Eltard has no professions. Another guy I know was running in and out of the alchemy trainer last night as well, quite obviously power leveling it himself. But really, I mean, look at that sexy trinket, with all that intellect and yummy haste. (Kar could care less about the haste, but Kerick is drooling over it for sure.)

So, back to the main story line here. Not having any other source of Goldthorn, I sent Karius out on a mission. First it was back to the Cape of Stranglethorn, but there wasn’t that much there. I decided the Highlands would be better, so with a quick stopoff in Twilight Highlands to hit a dig site, he was off to Arathi Highlands for another dig and some herbing. That went much better.

Then, I need some more Firebloom, and possibly some Gromsblood or Mountain Silversage. Well, there’s this dig site in Tanaris …. heh heh. It really didn’t take all that long to get a stack of the Firebloom either. Mail the stuff off to Kerick and log off in the Gadgetzan inn. (It is soooo nice being able to talk to the goblins there again. Maybe someday I will forgive Hartbane for that whole Bloodsail Admiral thing.)

Get a little further along, and I need Sorrow Moss (only available in Swamp of Sorrows and new since the Shattering, so I had none on hand from back when Karius leveled), along with either Blindweed, Gromsblood, or Mountain Silversage. Zero of any of the above are available on the AH. Yeah … gogo Karius. Into the portal to the Blasted Lands and fly north to the Swamp. I ended up not getting enough and had to log back into him and pick more. Good thing I had left him in an inn there just in case.

Ok, ready for Outland. Wewt! Wait .. I need a crapton of Ragveil? Really?? Sigh. Kerick phones in another favor. “Karius … yeah, there’s a dig site in Hellfire. Want to hit it? Oh, and while you’re out there, go to Zangarmarsh and pick as much Ragveil as you can get your hands on. Thanks, buddy!”

Well, at least the completed artifact was the last one needed for Diggerest. Yes, that’s right … Kar has completed 100 *unique* common artifacts. We won’t talk about how many duplicates he’s had, especially night elf. I’m thinking Tyrande never played with dolls, it’s all a myth.

Ok, got enough to get some points .. hey, look at that! We’re at 325! Time for some specializationing. *check the AH again* Ok, there are two Primal Mights here. *spend some cash* I dig up enough primals and motes between my alts and the guild bank to force Karius to transmute a third. Off I go to Hellfire and then Netherstorm. Hooray Crusader Aura! I get there and .. my memory failed me. I need FOUR Primal Mights, not three. sigh. I check my resources and somehow manage to dig up everything but a Primal Air, which I buy. Transmute, mail it off to Kerick … bam. Transmute specialization is done. Yes, I probably could have done it cheaper by doing one of the others then paying the 150g to switch, but I’d have to hit an instance, and … this was just faster.

Ok, back to making crap to level up. Moar Ragveil! Moar!!! And possibly a pile of Terocone or Netherbloom as well. None on the AH. Sigh. I stopped at 345 … only 5 points away from Northrend and the crapton of Goldclover, Tiger Lily, Adder’s Tongue and Talandra’s Rose that I have leftover from the last expansion. Karius, guess what you get to do before the raid tonight? *evil grin*

Tags: , , , , , ,

20 Responses to “Herbageddon”

  1. Analogue Says:

    I did my alchemy grind a couple weeks back, on my priest, for the flasks proc…. if she ever raids, the trinket (which she made of course) will be a nice bonus but that wasn’t my main reason. Goldthorn was non existent then too – I distinctly remember how painful that bit was.

  2. ReversionLFM Says:

    hmmm transmute spec eh? Now I know where I can send those spare stacks of pyrium bars

  3. koalabear21 Says:

    What drives me nuts is when I go look for something on the AH, find it on there but ass expensive. So in retaliation I farm up the exact thing and try to sell it. Only to find the market FLOODED!

    The story of my life.

  4. repgrind Says:

    Yeah, Karius is elixir-specced so it made sense to go with transmute. Although, Kar hasn’t gotten a single extra flask to proc since Cata hit, so I’m not sure it makes much difference. :\

  5. Ado Says:

    Sooo…. yeah. There was a reason that you did not find many herbs on the AH from outlands down. I pretty much bought them all last night. I have a mail box full of herbs, enought to get me to northrend level herbs when I next have the hour to level my profession.

    I’m about 230ish right now. I also bought out what looked like bottlenecks and reposted so that I could turn some profit from the AH herbs. Its kinda funny that from levleing herbing and enchanting from AH materials from 0 to 250ish each has netted me about 400G in profit from manipulating the markets.

    For example: Soul dust. I found about 250ish dust on the AH in nice stacks of 20 a peice for 7G. I bought them all and used what I needed. I took the excess and went back to the AH and noticed some other goblin has posted 5 stacks for 27G. Nice of him to reset a price so I under cut on price and posted 5 20 stacks for 95G. Some of them sold in minutes.

  6. Lore Says:

    Theres something so very wrong about referring to yourself in the third/fourth person.. lol

  7. repgrind Says:

    @Ado: Eh, I figured as much. hehe. And if it wasn’t quite clear in the post … I honestly prefer farming a few stacks of what I need over buying it in the first place. So are you doing alchemy, too?

  8. Troutwort Says:

    I wouldn’t mind the cornering of the market as much if I didn’t know who was doing it!! >.<

  9. repgrind Says:

    lmao

  10. Troutwort Says:

    Sometimes when he’s telling the stories at lunch, I want to push the table over and punch him in the face, but just a little bit. Nothing serious.

  11. Ado Says:

    @ Repgrind: Yeah I figure that if I raid on this toon it might as well have some professions. I like the new Ach stones and the Int to ring chants. That I need a DE’er for my JC toon so I can continue to play the AH without annoying my friends to DE stuff is another bonus.

    @ Trout: I find it funny that “cornering the market” has a negative conotation in the comment. For me its always a good thing, either I’m doing it and making gold or I’m posting below my cost to some one else’s market and getting them to buy my auctions to maintain thier market. I don’t set up my own market so it lets me run around and raid the AH and make gold from both ends of the spectrum. Good fun.

  12. repgrind Says:

    Seems like half the raid will be rockin the 2 hour flasks soon. hehe

  13. repgrind Says:

    So I’m watching this Chimaeron video … I have to keep everyone just above 10k health and the tanks have to deal with a double attack and oh, there’s this slime spit that will take you down to 1hp! … is it scary that I get excited about healing that?

  14. Troutwort Says:

    Oooohh, Congrats on Diggerest! Elgar is at like 96/100 I think. But I haven’t really spent time digging up any Night Elf ones so that shouldn’t be trouble to get once I do. Good for you though!!

  15. slice213 Says:

    @ rep

    Chim is not that bad really! Trust me! 🙂

    It helps to assign you healers to groups.

    Then when you stack phase 2, assign which cooldowns are used when.

  16. Gromdred Says:

    Did I give you goldthorn or goldclover? If I gave you the wrong one, I’m terribly sorry!! I’m so totally discombobulated from all-day puppy duty that I don’t know where I am or what I’m doing anymore.

  17. repgrind Says:

    I haz all the cooldowns! They haz, um .. some healing rain and tranquility and stuffs.

    Atramades looks scary.

    I *really* want to get Val and T down so they can drop, um … yeah, another caster dagger instead of the spirit cloak that I am drooling over. (Srsly Blizz, WTF is with the first two bosses dropping caster DAGGERZ? Do joo not luv teh paladin healers? QQ)

  18. repgrind Says:

    hehe Grom. You gave me goldclover, but it’s cool … I’m gonna need that tonight, so it will still be used and was much appreciated. Plus I got to giggle over your good ole case of CRS. 😀

  19. Gromdred Says:

    Well, it’s some comfort that you had a good giggle :). It bothers me though when I do stupid stuff like that. Oh well. I’ll go pound on a heavy bag for awhile before classes, and be ready to give the group 100% when I get home!

  20. Troutwort Says:

    Paladorks can’t figure out daggerz? He he!

Leave a Reply

