Paladin: Tips for Healing Magmaw

With the craptastic lineup of drakes for Halfus this week, both of my raids spent the majority of the weekend working on Magmaw instead. Yeah, I know a lot of my friends in other guilds are laughing and calling it easy because they’ve already downed him, but we’re not all that hardcore. Very few of the people in either raid have spent all their time grinding rep and points on a single toon … we like alts. So we’re slightly behind the curve compared to some, but that’s ok.

Last night we made real progress on the fight and were consistently getting through the first (double) parasite phase, and often getting through the second one as well, with our best attempt putting him down to 52%.

Members of the raid team: Cael Clan and Fyuria with Kerick

I did get some gear upgrades since last week which probably helped some, but I also made some changes to what I was doing.

1. Stand close and melee the boss. Our strategy has everyone except for the pillar of flame ‘soaker’ stacking up just to the left of the boss. The boss is stationary. Don’t just stand there and cast heals … HIT HIM. A quick autoswing here and there between casts will regen mana. (Yes, it took me a couple weeks of working on the boss before I remembered that I should be doing this. Gimme a break, ICC was out when my pally hit 80 and the rules for healing then were stack int and spam holy light. I didn’t think about my mana.)

Ok, now that we have some mana regen going, we can no longer be afraid to …

2. Use Holy Radiance to help out with the raid heals. I wasn’t even using this before last night. The huge mana cost scared me. But as long as you’re getting a few melee swings in (and have replenishment and a decent amount of spirit and preferably a trinket with a spirit proc or on-use effect … and Heartsong on your weapon … ) … ok, so maybe it’s a little more complicated than that. But if the raid is taking damage and HR is not on CD … use it. If you’re finding that you’re still having mana issues, stack more spirit. The only other thing I would add is … try to stagger it with your other healers’ abilities. I’m healing with a druid and a holy priest, so if I see Efflorescence and Sanctuary both on the floor, I save HR to use right after those disappear.

3. Focus on your assignment. Somewhat counter to the last point, but don’t fall into the trap of worrying so much about the raid damage that you end up losing the tank. Just pop that HR when needed and keep your direct heals on your target. I’m not saying you can’t toss a Holy Shock on someone who’s low once in a while, or BoP the lock that the parasites are looking to chow down on … just don’t slack off on the tank. At the beginning of the night last night, I whispered our tank and said “You are MINE. My goal tonight is to never let you die before I do.” I mostly succeeded. Deaths due to Mangle going its full duration do not count.

4. Paladins have LOTS of CDs … don’t be afraid to use them. I have historically been a CD hoarder. It’s a hard habit to break. After tanking on a DK though, I have learned the value of using all of your abilities, and especially of chaining CDs rather than popping everything at once like a DPSer does. There are a couple of points in this fight where it’s a good idea to always use something. Magmaw will swallow the tank using an ability called Mangle … pop a CD. The tank will then have a DoT debuff on him, and if the DPS assigned to chain him down don’t get it done fast enough and Mangle lasts for 30s, the tank will die.

For a super awesome breakdown of our cooldowns and some tips on using them, visit this post from Divine Plea. Almost all of the credit for the changes I made to my performance last night, go directly to the fact that I read this post yesterday.

5. Once the head is spiked, get your mana back. The ‘burn phase’ is a great time for Divine Plea and is open season on standing there and doing nothing but hacking at the exposed head with your sword. (Or smacking it with your mace.) Heal up anyone that’s not at full health, but otherwise, just get back to your melee position and get your mana back. I can have a full blue bar at the end of the phase.

That’s pretty much it. Just rinse and repeat.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

26 Responses to “Paladin: Tips for Healing Magmaw”

  1. slice213 Says:

    Ugh Magmaw. Hate. When your raid was fighting it, did you notice anything funny about hunters seem to be getting harder with his attacks? We stacked up much like you did but of course the hunters had to move out a little farther. They seemed to take a metric butt ton more dmg. When he would hit someone close to him, the dmg seemed to be spread out among people next to him.

  2. zarigar Says:

    LOL is your raid team all humans?

  3. repgrind Says:

    Hm .. I didn’t personally notice the hunter taking more damage than others, but he did complain about getting hit hard with the Lava Spew.

    Nah, we have a draenei or two, and a couple of night elves, since, you know, humans can’t be shaman or druids. :p

  4. Troutwort Says:

    It does seem that there are lots of humans in the raid groups, heck, even the guild in general. That “Every Man for Himself” is very tempting.

  5. slice213 Says:

    But but but…everyone knows Belf are where it is at. 🙂

    Yeah our hunters were getting faceowned. It really does seem like if they are not with the rest they are taking more dmg. It really does seem like a shared dmg mechanic.

  6. repgrind Says:

    Every Man for Himself, while nice, is still only third on my list of reasons to roll humans.

    Second is the delicious 10% bonus to reputation gains.

    Did you say hunters? As in, plural? Man, we can’t even find ONE for our Fri/Sat raid. And the one in this raid, is one of the mages swapping out for his lesser-geared hunter. WTB hunter, PST.

  7. slice213 Says:

    WTB mage PST

  8. repgrind Says:

    Haha, I think the class our guild has the most of that are 85 are mages. Paladins and priests are right up there too. Only one of the priests has been raiding though. We had two mages in each 10 man (total of 4 mages) until this guy was asked to bring his hunter. One group has two ret pallies, the other has a prot and a holy. Not sure if this means I rolled the wrong classes, or maybe it’s the right classes.

  9. Troutwort Says:

    Paladins, F-ing paladins everywhere! Why?!?

  10. repgrind Says:

    Yeah. I was close on that. 14 paladins, 13 mages, 11 priests.

    11 warriors, 10 druids. 11 warriors?!? That’s unusual.

    Sadly, the things we are lacking the most of, are the classes that I have at level 20. Although I suppose a good DK tank would be useful. I’ll have to start working on Kaly some more.

  11. Analogue Says:

    14 paladins and what 3 hunters? Just not right.

  12. repgrind Says:

    That is correct. And 4 warlocks.

  13. slice213 Says:

    lol i think everyone guild has a lot of pallys!

    let me see – 5 paladins, 3 hunters, 3 priests, 2 mages, 3 druids, 4 warriors, 3 DKs, 2 locks, 2 shaman, and 1 lone rogue (who is an alt of one of the pallys lol)

    lol but belfs are the far most popular race in SR i think

  14. koalabear21 Says:

    We have been running with 2 hunters in our raiding group. We have another hunter who is just as good as they are, but she is a bit young and can’t stay up to raid. She is Zug’s little sister and at 13 is amazingly good.

    We also have a few other up and coming hunters that recently dinged 85. We went from no hunters to too many hunters.

    Like Slice said WTB mage. I am usually the only caster in the raid and as an Aff lock I don’t exactly bring lots of burst damage.

    We sometimes have a boomkin, but not always. Other than hunters we just don’t have any ranged dps. There are a few shadow priests but they haven’t been raiding with us.

    The positive side is that if any dps caster stuff drops I have no competition! 😀

  15. slice213 Says:

    /cough I will roll on it!

  16. koalabear21 Says:

    You’re a healer, you don’t get to roll on caster dps

  17. zarigar Says:

    +hit = winhealz

  18. repgrind Says:

    Haha I love it when SR takes over my comments section. 😀

  19. koalabear21 Says:

    You guys make me sad.

    I think I will go Life Tap to make the pain feel better.

    *emo cries*

  20. zarigar Says:

    lock lifetapping while everyone else eats

    must….control…fist…of…death….

  21. koalabear21 Says:

    *tap* *tap *tap*

    “Healz! Pl0x!

  22. zarigar Says:

    don’t you even know how to be an annoying lock?

    it’s “healz! nao! noob!”

  23. koalabear21 Says:

    Sorry!!!

    I guess I need more practice. Especially now that they are nerfing the healing from Fel Armor.

  24. slice213 Says:

    lmao

    +hit gear….healz can miss amirite?

    Life fapping locks!

    Warlock A requires healing nAOOO!!!11111

    Means….Lock A is not wanding enough!

  25. repgrind Says:

    Life fapping …. /facepalm

  26. slice213 Says:

    someone had to go there!

Leave a Reply

