Progress

Ok so .. I got to take a couple hours off yesterday, so I got a little extra leveling done.

Got Karius to 82 questing in Vashj’ir. Have I mentioned how awesome this zone is? It’s … a very different experience, being underwater all the time. I lurve my seahorse though, and am really digging the quests. Getting to be a naga battlemaiden? Yeah, very cool.

Later on, we headed into Stonecore. I was instructed not to tell them anything about it .. Analogue and Reversion like going in cold. So we did. And … had very few problems through most of it. Sheep pulls work great,  and I got a lot of practice on them. Halfway through, Hart whispers me that he saw both new mounts drop and lost both rolls. I’m like ‘ … what mounts?’ He’s like ‘the new dragon mounts’ … I’m like ‘ .. huh? What dragon mounts’ … ‘the ones in Stonecore and Vortex Pinnacle‘ … I’m like ‘o.O  .. we just killed the one in Stonecore.’  The funniest part is, when we saw Slabhide the day before, Cruel and I both said ‘man I wish I could have him for a mount’ … not even knowing that one exists.

The final boss … man. I don’t know what we were doing different than had been done the day before, but the adds massacred us. We finally broke down and looked up the mechanics, but still couldn’t get it done. No clue.

Kerick hit 81 questing in Hyjal, after Karius’ questing session but before the Stonecore run.

After the 2 hours in Stonecore I was done with serious stuff, and wanted to chill. So I decided to check in on the Horde side of things. Sorak and Zug were already 85 and running heroics. I doublechecked the questing spec I’d given Arelin, trained his skills, bought old world flying for his slow mounts (sigh … ) and decided that since he wouldn’t have to do any flying in Vashj’ir, that’s where he would quest.

OMG, questing on Drak is much different. There is little to no competition for mobs. I hardly saw any other players, half a dozen at most. I totally didn’t see the shadow priest that gave me my first official PvP server  ganking. I was killing 3 mobs and was just dead in 2 seconds. I had no clue what happened until I glanced at my debuffs and saw the 3 dots taking a final tick. Oh. Well dang. I came back, rezzed, and went back to killing mobs. Never had another problem.

I actually had gotten ganked on Kerick earlier. Was totally an ‘oops’ moment. There was a flagged lock, and I didn’t think much of it. You know, normal server, I’m not flagged, no worries right? Yeah, except I’m in ret spec, using Seal of Righteousness, which of course is talented to cleave … and it hits the felguard. I didn’t even bother to try to fight back, I was just like, yeah, kill me. I deserve it and I’ma relase and then go make something to eat before rezzing, while my flag timer counts down. Oopsie.

BTW, questing on Arelin was in some ways more fun than on the others. One, he’s in blood spec and could take on 5 naga and laugh, even in iLevel 200/213 gear.  Two, because of said craptastic gear, literally every plate quest reward/drop is a HUUUUUUUUUGE upgrade for him. Come on, EVERYBODY likes getting upgrades (except maybe when they are small upgrades that break the set bonus on the full T10.5 that you spent so much time aquiring before the advent of JPs. Karius has cried more than once over the past couple of days when vendoring his purplez.)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Progress”

  1. slice213 Says:

    Upgrades are nice indeed…except when break up your bonuses ><

    /cry!!!

  2. Troutwort Says:

    I don’t know if I’m brave enough to roll on a PvP server.

    Also, when it comes to breaking bonuses, I usually just save pieces and then when I have enough to make it work breaking, I break it all at once. Of course I save my old outfits…so when it’s dress up day!

  3. koalabear21 Says:

    So far people have been pretty cool with just ignoring everyone and leveling. It also helps that we are horde on a vastly horde populated server. 😀

    Last night I did get ganked though.

    I was questing in Deepholm and I was in the tunnel with the giant worm thingies and had just been spat out by the one that goes around in a circle. I was at like 5% health and the next thing I know I’m dead because a nelf hunter decided he was going to take me down.

    I run back to my corpse to find a guildie who had been questing there along with another random person. I get invited to their group and find out that not only is there a hunter but a rogue too! They had apparently killed them right before I rezzed.

    We stayed grouped up and were attacked by the hunter and rogue. The group consisted of a ret pally, a shadow priest and me an affliction warlock. The shadow priest and I managed to take down the rogue and Lion (guildie) was working on the hunter. We didn’t quite pull it off and we all died. As we were running out I put a call out into general and got like 10 people asking if I could invite them to the group so that they could take out the hunter & rogue. Hell, Zug even flew out to come help.

    By the time everyone showed up they had run off. But it was awesome to see everyone rally to help.

    It actually added in a nice little bit of a rush to my leveling.

  4. Bart the Halfling Paladin Says:

    PvP servers are fun 95% of the time. 5% of the time is too frustrating to talk about.

  5. repgrind Says:

    Whoa! Hey there!! OMG I get to read about your adventures now? AWESOME!!

    Fiak is dead, long live Bart! (or is that undead? dead again? redead? whatever :p )

  6. Bart the Halfling Paladin Says:

    Yep! However, I’m quite far behind and it’s hard to remember all of the details from these first few encounters as they were very much us getting our feet wet and trying to learn what powers we had. I’ve looked at my notes for the next room, and I remember (unfortunately) quite about the next couple of rooms. They were not my finest hours.

  7. ReversionLFM Says:

    I figured out a big part of why we had trouble on that Stonecore run…

    http://looking4more.wordpress.com/2010/12/13/wait%e2%80%a6-what-fail-bear-in-4-0-3/

  8. Analogue Says:

    In addition to Reversion’s revelation, we just didn’t have the stamina yet, I had to keep healing us up and that used my mana and… well, it takes time to adjust. With more stamina and a tweak or two to my healing rotation we should get better from now on.

  9. repgrind Says:

    So far the only thing I’ve healed was one BRC run. I have no clue about Cata healing. And everyone has outleveled my healer so …. Light only knows when I’ll actually get to do anything with him that isn’t old content. I really don’t want to jump into healing level 84-85 stuff without having healed the other stuff along the way.

  10. ReversionLFM Says:

    Well we have already started grinding our alts so there will be chances. If they don’t rebalance that bear swipe soon I will be power grinding my Warrior gnome 😛

  11. repgrind Says:

    Yeah and after that set .. you need a dps alt … hm, hunter works nicely … so I can get around to leveling one of my tanks. :p

  12. slice213 Says:

    I healed a Grim Batol and a Halls or Origination x2 last night.

    1st Halls was with all PuGs…not too bad…no deaths but the mana was definitely tight.

    Grim Batol – SR edition

    wow….quite challenging. Heal….just does not heal for enough and the cast time is atrocious. Thank god it was Arv as tank, so had WoG and LoH.

    Halls of Origination x2 – SR edition – not too bad a few hiccups here and there.

    But yeah, healing in Cata has definitely ramped up a notch.

    Seriously considering taking up Holy instead of Disc. Maybe…need to see how serendipity works with the new mechanics.

Leave a Reply

