Crits ‘N P’s

So I logged on last night and the first thing I did was fine-tune the mage and DK, then test them out in a couple of dungeons each. They both are sporting some mastery in their DPS sets now and putting out more than respectable amounts of damage.

Satisfied that the future of my co-mains is secure, I logged over to Kerick and attempted to get Clique to work with the new default raid frames. Um … yeah. I have no idea if I did it wrong or what, but I couldn’t get it to work. Since I had already downloaded the updated Healbot before logging on, I relogged to turn off Clique and activate Healbot. Then I set about binding new spells … let’s see, Holy Shock can stay on the same bind, but what should replace FoL and Holy Light now that the names are different? And what about WoG? There’s not space for all this crap! Oh, and Cleanse will have to be moved to Decursive like it is for the priest and …

I got it mostly set up before deciding that I just plain had no clue what to do with the spells. I was comfortable in my super-tank-healer niche. Perhaps if I had a feel for ret when I tested that out, I’d be more motivated to relearn Holy. As it is now though, I just stare at my spellbook and am overcome with despair. So when the raid that Karius was signed up for fell through, I signed him up for the 25 man for tonight instead of Kerick, and put my formerly well-loved paladin on the shelf. (I will not cry, I will not cry, I will not  c …. awww dammit. brb)

15 or 20 minutes later …

I logged onto Rags to set up his talents and stuff. Now, there was a reason I saved the priest for last, and it wasn’t just because he’s the newest 80. I had a feeling that this would happen all along, just from the things I had read and seen about priests in a post-4.0 world. But I’m getting ahead of myself here …

I put in his disc talents, minus the last couple of points that I couldn’t quite decide what to do with. I tossed in some glyphs, including the wonderful glyph of divine accuracy that magically hit-caps smite. I double-checked healbot to make sure my spells were bound that way I wanted them. Then I rode over to the training dummies. Smite x3, hit Archangel and … I scared the dog right off the bed when I squealed. This is what happens when you activate Archangel …

To say that I am smitten would be an understatement. Throw in PW:Barrier and lots of bubbles and penanace and … well, disc is teh win. Another priest wanted to come along though, so I did a few dungeons as shadow as well. 

We zoned into the first one with me still putting spells on my bars and applying glyphs. lol. My dps kinda sucked and I tried to blame it on not having any hit on my healing gear .. until I looked at my paper doll and realized that the talent that converts spirit to hit gave me 21% hit rating. Um … ok fine, I just suck.  haha. But once I get some upgrades and learn how to play it, it will be fine. The shadow orb animation is quite cool. But it wasn’t until we got into HoR and I got to practice proccing Shadowy Apparitions that I really got into it. My dungeonmates were all up in vent going ‘where did all those Ragles come from that went walking by me!’ and I was totally lmao.

So … I’m putting in a motion to change the unofficial guild motto from Crits and Pallies to Crits and Priests. :p

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Crits ‘N P’s”

  1. Troutwort Says:

    I agree with this!!! I haven’t tried the paladin yet, I did some test dummy stuff, but didn’t know what was going on. I might have to tank some “normal” dungeons to make sure I feel okay with it before I go to heroics. Priests got a big buff if you ask me, and they needed it!!! It’s so awesome to have all that smiting I was doing anyways now count towards something. 😛

  2. repgrind Says:

    The paladin and warrior might both just get prot specs and give a go at learning to tank with a shield … if I ever get done playing with the priest.

    SO when do we get the patch that gives you a bonus for transmuting during a fight?

  3. Troutwort Says:

    I won’t have time now, I’ll be busy smiting!

  4. repgrind Says:

    xD

    I uhhh … sorta kinda let someone die once while I was smiting last night … maybe.

  5. Troutwort Says:

    I know, I almost lost someone the other night too because I wanted to smite as much as possible. I don’t think I let anyone die though.

  6. Gromdred Says:

    While the unfortunate loss of a great brother paladin saddens me greatly, you have to run with what you’re comfortable. That being said, Grom will visit the cathedral this weeked, light a candle, and say a prayer for his lost brother in arms.

  7. repgrind Says:

    If Hartbane can’t even figure out how to play holy, how do they expect lowly little me to get it right?

  8. Healer Survey « Reputation Grind Says:

    […] Power is probably confusing and clunky. When the changes first went into effect, I actually shelved my paladin. It’s a strange concept at first, especially if you’ve never played a combo point […]

Leave a Reply

