DKs are alright

Logged on last night and was able to cut gems again. So Karius got his int/spirit gems replaced with int/hit and the spirit on his cloak reforged to hit, and he’s now hit-capped and ready to raid. Well, except for not having all of his glyphs filled out, but he’s got the damage increasing ones in place. 

Then, instead of testing a fire spec, I hopped over to Kaly. His tank spec was already taken care of the night before. No real issues there, other than finding where the waves have spawned in the first section of CoS sucks without DBM, and running the gauntlet as a blood DK tank still sucks as much as it did before.  I did get a lot of practice at hitting blood boil.

So .. DPS specs. He’d been unholy for awhile so I started with that. Had some fun on the dummies, turning my ghoul into a big ugly. But in a dungeon setting, stuff all dies too fast before I get it built up enough to unleash him. Also, I just couldn’t figure out the new rotation with festering strike. Cael was telling me what I should be doing, which was kinda cute since his DK has  been 80 for a whole week now. To be fair though, he DID read the EJ threads, so at least he was informed and not just pulling it out of …

Ahem. Anyway, I decided that unholy just didn’t feel right anymore. Plus the procs were kinda ugly and boring. So I did something that I’ve been looking forward to trying out ever since I heard they were going to attempt to make it viable … I specced 2H frost. Yes, yes, I KNOW that DW frost is ‘the way to go.’ But I don’t care. I spent 25 saronites (back when they weren’t cheap) to get my Shadow’s Edge forged and I’m damn well gonna use it. Plus, the procs are pretty.

The DK tanks that I know who weren’t already blood before the patch are having some troubles adjusting. I remember what it was like when I first went blood a couple of months ago. That finger that was always itching to hit howling blast … yah … now that itch has been taken care of. I’m doing 4.5-5k in heroics as 2H frost.  That’s good enough for me. Plus the spec is just plain FUN.

Paladins … yeah let’s not go there. I hope to have a working healbot tonight, because I tried a dungeon without it last night and it was … ugly. I was way too confused over the new spells to even bother trying to download vuhdo or clique. So I healed by clicking on the party member and then using keybound spells on the action bar. It worked but … there were a couple different times people died because I was sitting there going ‘omg omg I have like 4 different spells I could use here which one do I hit and where did I keybind it aaaaaaahhhhhhhh!’ SO … yeah. I really wish the priest was geared for raids because I have a feeling I’m going to get the hang of disc LONG before I ever feel comfortable with the pally again.

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “DKs are alright”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    Vuhdo was up and running last night. I am thinking about just getting clique and using the default party/raid frames. It is movable and I like how things look on it 🙂

  2. repgrind Says:

    I might consider that too. I moved all my bars to the bottom right and put the default raid frames in the center under my character where I could click them easily. Is clique pretty easy to set up?

  3. koalabear21 Says:

    I’ve never used Clique, so I couldn’t tell you. From what I’ve heard it can’t be too difficult.

    I am not big on having a ton of add ons (I play with the default UI if that tells you anything) so I am not the person to go to for that.

    But if you want something that is fairly easy to use out of the box, VuhDo is delicious

  4. lagalot Says:

    The new bliz raid frames are actually pretty nice. I’m glad my xperl raid frames broke so I’d bother giving them a chance.

  5. repgrind Says:

    Ok, I have now been a good little girl and visited EJ. Seems 2H is actually pretty much on par with DW. I got a couple minor things wrong but did pretty good for just slamming together a spec on the fly.

  6. slice213 Says:

    Clique is realy easy to setup. Open Spellbook and click the appriate spell with the button you wish to bind it to…boom good to go.

Leave a Reply

