Twenty Percent

I don’t even want to talk about it, but that’s as close as we got. We spent two hours wiping on heroic Sindragosa again, then a little over an hour on the LK himself. Everyone was like ‘oh we killed him in an hour last week, it’ll be fine.’  Yeah, but … they have killed him. They will kill him again. I don’t think any of them knew how much it means to me. I was crushed. I cried myself to sleep.

But why do I care so much? I look around the Eventide and it seems like every other person is sporting Kingslayer these days. It certainly isn’t going to mark me as special … not anymore, at least. Ok, so there are only two people in each of my guilds who have the title, so I suppose it would mark me there. But do I really want that? All I’ve wanted since I started raiding was to down everything and get my title with my friends.

The mage in the group offered to let me have her spot for the LK fight next week, just for the achievement. I told them I would have to see. Of course I want to go, but … well, Hart will be back sometime over the weekend, so I hold out hopes that our guild group will be back in action. Perhaps I’m a fool and I should just go get my title and be done with it. But then I think of my friends … especially Grom, who has been there with me week in and week out, showing up no matter what else was going on, faithful to the group to the end … the guilt of getting it without him would taint it.

Argh! Why did I have to be cursed with a conscience?  I swear, raiding has caused me more pain and heartache. My plans for Cata involve letting those friends who are concerned with getting to 85 and jumping into endgame sprint past me while I enjoy everything the new content has to offer. I’ll be ready for the break from it. I probably should just take a break from raiding now but .. I’m stubborn.

Ok, enough of this emo crap. I promise next week will return to the regular type of postings you’ve become used to.

Tags: , , , ,

20 Responses to “Twenty Percent”

  1. Troutwort Says:

    Dear Empyrean’s New Best Friend,

    I think if I were in your raid group, or any raid group, and we got to a point where we couldn’t get down LK, I would be okay with saying, “I understand this is where we are at, if people want to take a week off, go to a group that can complete it, we’ll resume raiding next week.” Sometimes there can be things learned from going with a group that has the experience, and sometimes, you just get carried. Either way, I would understand that people would want to get their achievements and “beat the game”. My guess is that once they completed it, they would come back, to raiding with their friends, just like they always did, because there are hard modes then, and that can add excitement for people.

    Sincerely,
    Empyrean’s Real Best Friend

  2. koalabear21 Says:

    Everyone is entitled to being emo every so often. I do know that I had actually given up on getting the title on my toon because I was no longer raiding with my friends. The fact that I had actually gotten it with them meant so much more to me than if I had gotten it sooner.

    I would advise waiting. It will be that much sweeter when you do get it with your friends.

  3. repgrind Says:

    Trout, have I mentioned lately that I love you? I’m so glad I got to hang out with you and Empyrean last night. Some low key, good time dungeons were just what I needed before going to the serious raid.

    Well, even if I do go with that group, Cael will be there…he certainly more than counts as a friend. But I know how I felt when we finally downed Sindragosa in Apathy … because I had already downed her with Cael’s Crits group and so it was kind of anticlimactic.

    I’m torn between wanting the kill for myself … and wanting to score a true progression kill with achievements all around for my whole group.

  4. Lore Says:

    As i’ve said many times. I dont care about the title, i would rather let other people in the guild get it. Because.. as you mentioned.. its nothing special anymore. Everywhere you look in Dalaran people have it. They practically hand them out with the 30% buff.

    I’m waiting for Cataclysm to come around and change it back to old school raiding. Where having a purple epic piece of gear actually means something. Dont get me wrong.. i’m still gonna blow past it all full steam ahead and get my toons ding’d to 85.. But when 1 is there… theres 4 more to go..

  5. DarthRegis Says:

    Pro tip:
    Real friends > title/achieve. Always, always, always.

    Another pro tip:
    More dancing screenshots will cheer you up. 🙂

  6. Troutwort Says:

    While I tend to agree with the statements of “Real Friends > Achievements Titles” my guess is that it’s maybe not so much “Kingslayer” as it is downing the boss. Sometimes there are things that you want to complete in the game that if you do them with your friends it just won’t happen. Ado is one of my best friends, IRL even, and while I love playing with him, my skill level and his are very different, so I can’t expect him to stay back with his friends if it means he doesn’t get to accomplish what he wants in the game.

  7. repgrind Says:

    True but … unless they announce that “Kingslayer” will be removed with Cataclysm, I’m going to assume that I can come back and do it, with friends, at a later point … if we don’t manage to do it within Wrath.

    I suppose I *should* be more worried about getting things done that *will* be going away … like getting a Deathcharger.
    /shake fist at Baron Whatshisface

  8. Troutwort Says:

    Baron Whatshisface is going away?!?!!

  9. koalabear21 Says:

    The Baron is going away, but I don’t think the mount is.

  10. Gromdred Says:

    Go get it! I wont be there next week anyways, but i will be pulling for everyone who will be making the attempt while i’m gone. For me, it’s never really been about the achievement… Ever since i first became aware of it in the game, i’ve just wanted to finish an endgame raid while it’s still endgame. I came to winterhoof to play with friends, and i’ve made a few new ones as well. If they can get it done, whether i can or not, it’s something i can cheer about. At the same time, i don’t want to be carried. I’ve never been carried. It just wouldn’t feel the same. I dont think i’d like the feeling. If it took a six hour run, 50 wipes, and every shred of gold i have, i’d still be there ready to go again till there’s nothing left of my gear. But many others aren’t that stupid, so for all those who get the chance to go for it… “RUN you fools!”. You know i’ll be cheering for you.

  11. Gromdred Says:

    And even though i may want more than most, and maybe even more than is healthy, i’m not going to ask my friends to hold up and wait for me if they have a chance to go

  12. repgrind Says:

    An endgame raid while it’s still endgame … well, I killed KT plenty of times before Uldy came out. My huntard is still sporting a pair of daggers dropped by him .. one from 10man and one from 25man. I suppose that counts.

    Even if we’d downed him last night, I was in no way carried. I had the least experience on the fight, but I wasn’t the cause of any of the wipes. (At least not on LK .. I did contribute directly to at least two of the 19 wipes on Sind)

    And Grom .. you’re far from stupid, my friend. In case you hadn’t picked up on it from my statement in the post, I admire you for your persistence and reliability. I *know* that if you are signed up you will be there. Hell, I know that if we run at x time on y night every week, you will show up even if someone forgets to put it on the calendar. You and I are much the same in that respect. Kids these days .. well …. xD

  13. repgrind Says:

    Oh and .. if you decide to rush to 85 to raid well … I could probably be talked into going right along with you. Not many people I could say that to.

  14. Gromdred Says:

    Lol! I know you weren’t carried. You wouldn’t allow that. Like me, you’re going to give 100% to every encounter, trash or boss, even if it gets you killed repeatedly. 🙂

  15. repgrind Says:

    Lol!

    <–slacks on trash

  16. repgrind Says:

    I do need to look at that mage’s build/gear/rotations though. I am STILL tops on dps and last on damage done.

  17. gromdred Says:

    when you find out, let me know 🙂

  18. Kaif01 Says:

    “Lol! I know you weren’t carried. You wouldn’t allow that. ”

    No, she’s never been carried…

    Nope, never!

  19. repgrind Says:

    Oh, stuff it. We’re not talking about PvP here. 😛

    When are you coming back? Lajos misses you.

Leave a Reply

