The Holy Experiment: UK (level 70 version)

Thursday evening is my ‘free’ night. I have zero raid obligations to either guild and no arena scheduled, so I am free to do whatever the hell I want .. including not log on if I so desire. (Yeah, like that’s gonna happen.)

So I logged directly on to Kerick and queued up for a random as healer. Waited in queue …  and waited in queue … and waited in queue some more. Like W.T.F.!!!! I thought this healery stuff was supposed to mean I don’t have to sit in queue. *grumble* *switch specs* *sign up as both tank and heals* *get instapop as tank* *sigh*

We get in, and the healer is a holy paladin from my realm. Figures. Yo, go get a ret spec or something! You’re takin my queue spot. lol. We pull the first hallway, move into the furnace room … and before the first pull in that room is down, the healer leaves the group. $#%$! We click the ‘find a player to finish this dungeon’ button and our prize is … a prot warrior! Oh goody, now I’M healing.

There were certainly some growing pains …. both on my part and the tank’s part. The difference between tossing out instant PW:Shields and renews and occasionally supplementing it with pew pew lazers or flash heals …. and the constant stand-still-and-cast style of pally healing is like … the difference between me and a Relentless Gladiator. (Hint: it’s huge) So I got some practice in but … it was painfully obvious that we were not going to complete the dungeon. The adds on Keleseth were all over the place, and on the …third? fourth? ….  attempt, when the tank got ice tombed, the dps didn’t even bother to break him out. I … went to dinner. If anyone can tell me any way to drop aggro off myself when I’m healing, I would appreciate it. I tried hand of salv … didn’t seem to have an effect. Oh, hey, what’s this bubble thing over here !?…. see? I told you I was a fail pally.

After dinner, I queued back up …. as tank only. I got a lovely group. The tree was new, as in, I think this is his first character.  We had some wipes along the way, partly due to healer deaths. (No it is NOT always the tank’s fault. Seriously, if the mob has an off-charge and the tree can’t take a single charge, there’s not much the tank can do about it. Really.) But … we had fun along the way. The DPS were a group all from Uther, and they were very cool. When the tree asked what the final boss was like while running back from his death on the second boss, they all told him how easy he is, how we could probably beat him with our eyes closed, etc. lol. Well they weren’t too far off …we got Ingvar down in only two tries, and although we spent an hour or more in there, it was a good time.

So, the score so far: Prot – 1, Holy – 0 … I’m actually a good tank and feel comfortable with it. But … I have been talking about trying Holy for … well, since before I even rolled a paladin. So I’m determined to make it work. I did get two upgrades in there. Maybe this weekend I’ll give it another go …

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “The Holy Experiment: UK (level 70 version)”

  1. DarthRegis Says:

    Healing is definitely a different breed, for sure. And I heal as a druid, so I’m at least allowed to move around now and again. Crazy Pallies.

  2. repgrind Says:

    Now and again? Now and again?! *mumbles something about chasing resto druids around BGs and arenas while they keep HoTs rolling on themselves and just refuse to die*

  3. DarthRegis Says:

    Oh, go bubble yourself!

  4. Gromdred Says:

    Lol! I need a bumper sticker on my shield… “my other tank is ret”. 😀

  5. repgrind Says:

    That was a good one, I’m still laughing. hehe

    Did you ever gem your tank pants? >.<

  6. Lore Says:

    Who needs a pally to tank, when you can mage tank?

  7. Gromdred Says:

    Gem? Wtf?? We’re supposed to put gems in things? Lore: you missed it in chat a few minutes later… “my other tank is a mage”

  8. gromdred Says:

    p.s. you know I’d tank for you if you were ever not sooooo busy that you had time for little ol me 😀

Leave a Reply

