The Times They Are A Changin

Like everyone else this week, I’ve been busy devouring all the new proposed class changes planned for Cataclysm.  Most of the info so far has been for classes that I am leveling or just goof around on. Some of the things I’ve seen for those classes are pretty cool. (Most creative use of Life Grip goes to Amber.) Some of them are like, omgwtfbbq, like locks getting Dark Focus Magic Intent. 

I’m still anxiously awaiting the mage info of course, since that is my main. But since it’s not out yet, I’ll talk about the Death Knight changes, since that is my offclass.  (Like an offspec, only better!) I’m not going to rehash the exact info in full … I’m going to assume that almost all of you have already read it at WoW.com anyway.

Of course, the change to making Blood the dedicated tanking tree was released earlier in the week. I have never tanked as blood (yet) but I have done both frost and unholy (early in the xpac when it was still somewhat popular for tanking). All I have to say is, with the mastery system they are putting in place, it makes perfect sense. Of course I want to have one tree that gets the cool bonuses specifically for the role I am doing, and this is really the only way to do it. Plus, moving all the best tanking talents and  abilities to one tree? Sign me up!

As far as the other two trees are concerned, they want  frost to be the fun DW dps spec, and unholy to be 2H and focused on the pets and diseases … pretty much what they are now. Sounds good to me, I’ve played both and have found both to be a lot of fun.

Now, the new abilities … here, I’m just going to quote this one because its awesomeness needs to be repeated word for word.

Dark Simulacrum (level 85): The death knight strikes a target, applying a debuff that allows the death knight to copy the opponent’s next spell cast and unleash it. Unlike Spell Reflection, Dark Simulacrum does not cancel the incoming spell. In general, if you can’t reflect an ability, you won’t be able to copy it either.

As a mage, this scares the crap out of me. Like wtf, I already have prot warriors spell reflecting me, now I’m gonna have DKs copying my missile barrage and slinging it back at me?

As a DK, however, I’m going … oh hellz yeah! Hm…can chaos bolt be reflected? Oooh … penance! I can haz pew pew lazers!! But what about PvE applications? Not having played prot warrior, I have no idea what can be reflected. Anyone have any idea what sorts of things this might include? Either way, I’m loving the idea.

The new rune system … sounds great in theory. I know one of the major problems DW frost has had is the tightness of the rotation and it being greatly affected by lag and bad timing. At least, that’s what I’ve read. I’m glad they’re taking a major step here and trying to adjust things, but how it will work remains to be seen.

So, to sum it all up … there are some major, MAJOR changes coming for the DK class. Up until now we’ve been a do-it-all-in-whatever-tree-you’d-like class … at least as far as tanking and 2H dps are concerned. I really love the changes to make each tree unique and dedicated to a specific playstyle. Yes, it does make us more like warriors in that sense.  And I do suspect some people will make that connection and QQ about homogenization or some crap about how we’re not a unique class anymore. Meh, they’re free to go play something else if they want. I love my DK and I’m looking forward to the upcoming changes.

Edit: They did just post an update with some clarification on how the runes will work, and also stated that frost will have a 2H spec, not just be DW.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “The Times They Are A Changin”

  1. DarthRegis Says:

    http://killingemslowly.blogspot.com/2010/04/times-they-are-changin.html

    I wonder how many other blogs are using this title? 🙂

  2. repgrind Says:

    Great minds think alike? 😛

  3. Gromdred Says:

    Meh. There more i read the new stuff, the less i feel i understand about the game. I think i’m now learning the game in reverse. By the time cata comes out, i’ll be more of a total noob than i am now 😦

  4. shadowtycho Says:

    having played a prot warrior you can only spell reflect the stuff you don’t much care about, but the reason for this is that other tanks don’t have anything like spell reflect so maybe this will change.

Leave a Reply

