The UI Post

Ok, here it is. First, we have the before pic.

Oh look, it’s me … tanking Festergut? With Selv, even. Totally awesome.

Now for the new UI, from dpsing ToC25 last night.

Nothing special really. Some Dominoes to move the bars around, and xperl for unit frames. I might still make one or more of the bars fade out unless I mouse over them. And I really hate how much space the raid frames take up in a 25 man but … I gotta have them, so I don’t know what else to do about it.

Ooh. Arioch! Check out that recount in the lower right corner there. Jarraxus must really hate me.

I still need to decide whether I will be making changes to Kaly’s specs or not. He tanked a couple of heroics and his threat did seem to be higher … I had some top firepower with me and didn’t get pulled off of at all. I probably need to work Endless Winter into my spec though for sure. Oh well, now that I have a UI I can work with, I can move on to that project.

Tags: , , , ,

14 Responses to “The UI Post”

  1. repgrind Says:

    Oh cool, I’ll have to find that tonight. It took me half the VoA25 to figure out how to not show the pets in the raid. I had a whole nother row of ghouls, imps, and wolves taking up a spot in the middle of the screen. LOL.

  2. Lore Says:

    Yea, i was just gonna suggest what he said.. turn the party off, and move the raid up. You can also shrink the size of the bars of the raid so it doesnt take up so much room either. The other thing i would do is shrink the size of those mammoth bars… unless your so old, you need them to be huge in order to see them 😛

  3. repgrind Says:

    Arioch is a she :p

    You had the party on when I played on yours. So I just assumed that’s the way it was supposed to be. And my bars aren’t any bigger than yours, there, buddy! :p

    Actually, when I was tanking those heroics last night, I was thinking they were too small. >.>

    I gotta figure out how to change the keybindings on them, there are some things I want to move around/have on different bars than they were on before.

  4. Lajos Says:

    I dunno about Dominoes, I use Bartender4. With that, there’s a Keybind button you click that puts it in keybind mode, and you just hover over it, and press the key you want.

    Easy fix for old eyes… get a widescreen monitor. You can usually find a decent 21 inch for around $150. That way you can put stuff out to the side, and leave the center clear – to fill up with things like quartz casting bars, Scorchio2, etc.

  5. repgrind Says:

    It is widescreen. It actually looks pretty good as long as I’m not in 25 man with all those raid frames. What do you mean, center clear? You mean no bars in the center at all? Um .. the whole idea was to get the stuff I need to see IN the center, instead of spread all the way across. So the bars are there, with quartz and scorchio right above them.

    Although … see now you’ve got me thinking. I’ll have to play around some more before icc tonight.

  6. lagalot Says:

    1024×768 isn’t widescreen. If you have a widescreen monitor, change the wow resolution to 1600×900 or 1920×1080 depending on the native resolution of your monitor. You’ll get less stretch and more screen realestate.

  7. repgrind Says:

    The monitor is widescreen. I don’t know what the resolution is set on or even how to change it. I took it out of the box, and plugged it in. /shrug

    I’ll take a look when I get home and see if I can figure it out.

  8. Lajos Says:

    Hit Escape, Select Video from the game menu.

  9. repgrind Says:

    I meant the monitor, not how to change it in the game. WTF is native resolution? You’re supposed to read my mind, dammit.

  10. Lajos Says:

    Oops, sorry.

    In Windows XP, right click on your desktop, and go to display settings. In Vista/Win7, you right click, and goto “Personalize”, and then find the display settings. It’s all done through windows.

  11. repgrind Says:

    Hm, maybe I’m wrong. It might not be widescreen.

  12. Randul the Dwarf Says:

    It doesn’t look like widescreen unless you’ve cut the edges off for some reason. EVERY time I go in to change my UI I end up changing back to the standard.

    Although standard isn’t TOO bad on a big widescreen monitor (22 inch widescreen is what I have) if you reduces the size of everything. For instance, I notice on your “before” your buttons go all the way to the edge of the screen, which I believe is default. Did you know you can reduce the size of pretty much everything on your screen? When you do, you’ll see that your bars have two little gryphons on either side that I never even knew about before doing that.

    Note the real estate to the left and right of my bottom bars. The only changes I’ve made since then are that I typically have my second group (10-man raids only) under my party frames instead of off to the right and I’ve cleaned up my bars a bit so I only use one bar on the right side rather than two. I also use Sexymap now, but that’s just pretty.

    Another tip I’d give is to stack omen and recount on top of each other. Set omen to only show when in combat and set recount to only show when out of combat. You don’t need omen out of combat and you aren’t watching damage meters during combat are you? 🙂

    Now that my shammy is almost 80, I’m probably going to have to find some sort of raid frames to use for healing. I have healbot, but have never loaded it. Grid was lacking, imo.

  13. repgrind Says:

    See today’s post for the updated update. I’ll definitely keep the omen/recount suggestion tucked away for future use, but for now they look great side by side.

    I’ve done a small bit of healing on my 71 priest. I haven’t tried Grid, only Healbot, and so far I like that. It’s very easy to use. I know people with more experience in these things (and especially druids) prefer Grid, but for me learning to heal, it works great. I might try Vuhdo sometime though, I’ve heard lots of good things about it.

Leave a Reply

