We Were Prepared

Monday – Classic Raid Night

This week we all gathered in Shadowmoon Valley, at the foot of the Black Temple, power base of Illidan Stormrage.

I may have never quested extensively in Shadowmoon, but I’m enough of a lore geek that the thought of standing face to face with Illidan … well, let’s just say I’d been looking forward to this one for quite some time.

Despite the foreboding scenery in the zone, the gathering was quite colorful as we all were summoned and then grouped up together on our rainbow assortment of drakes.

We had quite a rainbow assortment of people, as well … besides the regular members of Crits, we also had a few from League of Eternal Aggro, several from Apathy … and Airon.

Diji likes to show up in a different costume each week. This week he came as Bloodsail Admiral Diji … and even showed off his proficiency with a Cutlass a few times.

Some of the bosses were interesting.  Some I’d even heard of. I got shivers on the way to fight Gorefiend. I mean seriously, think about it! Former member of the Shadow Council, slain by Doomhammer and then raised as the very first death knight by Gul’dan! Jorlex, you better pop wings on this one. Wait .. where’s the shot of fighting Teron Gorefiend? Ack. Um … moving on … (someone remind me to edit the shot in tomorrow)

This one, Essence of Desire … she’s kinda like the Devourer of Souls on steroids. A few people even died … including Elgar, but he had an excuse since he was afk and on follow. If I could have ice blocked both of us, I would have. Oh well. Sorry Elgey, someone pulled prematurely. :p

Mother Sharaz is another that I had heard of, but not in lore. No, when I heard about her, it was in whispers … whispers of fear and respect from BC raiders who braved BT back when it was a big deal. They obviously had reason to fear her … is it bad that I giggled when “Killing blow – Airon” flashed on my screen in big green letters as I wiped us both out?

And then, finally …. we were there. The apex of the Temple. Perhaps the very same spot where Ner’zhul  himself opened the final portals and stepped into oblivion. There … there he is. The legend himself.

I did zero dps on the fight. I spent the entire time with my UI turned off and my camera zoomed all the way in, awestruck. I mean seriously, when he whipped out those warglaives and flew around and got all badass? Wow.

And this, the screenshot of screenshots … I think I’ll make this my new wallpaper. Thanks for a great night, Illidan. Perhaps we will meet again someday.

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “We Were Prepared”

  1. Lajos Says:

    That was a fun one. It still amazes me, the dynamics of 25 people running through a raid like that… talk about herding cats!

  2. Chawa Says:

    Love some of those screenshots! Agreed! That is the screenshots of screenshots!! Well done and grats!

  3. DarthRegis Says:

    Glad you enjoyed the Black Temple run. It was pretty awesome when we got to go.

    Mother Sharaz was a crazy biznatch. We almost wiped, but we made it through.

    And Illidan was a really fun fight as well, even if a bit easier than the Mother (at least for our group… it was a brute force thing).

    I think you guys should do Mount Hyjal next! 😀

  4. repgrind Says:

    We did Hyjal back in December

    https://repgrind.wordpress.com/2009/12/09/patch-day-hooray/

    Sunwell is next week … and somehow we’ve missed Karazhan so I hope to work that in afterwards, as those are the last two Karius needs for Outland Raider.

    I want to do more AQ40, too, I need moar mounts! 😀

  5. repgrind Says:

    There. The shot of the Gorefiend fight has been added.

  6. Troutwort Says:

    That last screenshot was AWESOME!!!

  7. Lajos Says:

    Meh, she had to get an upskirt of Illidan.

  8. repgrind Says:

    Serenity made me do it.

Leave a Reply

