Patch Day, Hooray

Well, I am so glad I procrastinated over the weekend and ran Oculus instead of grocery shopping. I took advantage of the extended downtime and went shopping after work last night instead. And STILL came home to another hour of

Unable to connect. Please try again. If the problem persists, sacrifice one gnome per login attempt until you get in. 

 

Now where did I put that formula for the gnome-bone anti-itch powder? I’ve got enough bones here to cleanse the entire population of Thunder Bluff.

The Weekly Raid Quest

So, the first weekly raid quest was …. Mt. Hyjal!

 

Wait, what? That wasn’t the weekly quest? Oh. Well, it WAS the location for Classic Raid Night on Monday. And yes, we did wipe on Archimonde. I don’t even want to imagine what that was like at 70. Yikes! We had a great time though as always.

My goofy friend Cael likes to drop his fish feasts in unusual locations. So we had a party in the ‘hot tub’ after the wipe.

Random Dungeons FTW

So, the first thing I did after logging in was get in a group with three other guildies to try the random dungeon daily. Well, ok … the second thing. I had to buy Breanni’s new pets from the pet store first. Unfortunately, somehow my authenticator never got attached to my account, so I didn’t get a corehound pup yet. Battle.net was down last night, but I attached the thing this morning, so there should be a pup in my mailbox when I get home.

Ok, back to the random group thing. We weren’t in queue for long before we were awarded a dps warrior from some-other-realm, and deposited inside … the Oculus. ROFL! I was quite glad for the experience I got in there on Sunday, so the instance was fresh in my mind still. We got through just fine, and had Ley-Keeper Eregos half dead …. when we were unceremoniously ungrouped and deposited right back to where we had been when we had queued up. $%@@!

Between that and the reports from other guildies who were busy trying to run the new instances and getting trapped inside them, we decided to do other things like dailies and alts. So I did some fishing, the JC daily, some naga killing in Southshore on my little paladin … and then a group formed for the REAL weekly raid quest. So Kaly got to kill Patchwerk and earn his first emblems of frost.

Then Trout whispers me and is all like “we should totally try the random dungeon thing on our alts. I’m curious what the goody bags you receive might have in them.” So we hop on his pally Kalinnikov and my priest Ragle, and Anna joins us on her mage, and we all sign up … as damage dealers. *cackle* DO you know what would happen pre-patch if we went to ‘LFM need tank and heals’ and had a priest and paladin in our group already as dps? Yeah, we would groan and suck it up and end up doing the tanking/healing ourselves, because Cataclysm would be out before we found a tank and healer.

Ok, I’m totally gushing about this feature and it deserves the praise. In about 20 minutes we had a tank and heals and were ported into the Sunken Temple. Now, at these levels, the randomness of the dungeon you get isn’t so random. I mean really, how many are there at level 50 to choose from? So ST wasn’t a surprise. The people we were grouped with were very nice, and despite claiming to have just respecced and being on his first instance as a tank, the pally we got did just fine.

Victory shot!

Ooh, more gush time! Self buff VE? Awesomesauce. 30 yard Mind Flay? Hellz yeah! Me topping the meter (on boss fights at least) on a spriest? Yeah, I was shocked at that one. I don’t play the toon that often and only have a semi-clue of what to do.  As you can see from the screenie, he dinged 50 on the death of Eranikus. Hmmm …. 8 levels to Outland. Ten levels to Penance…….the altoholism is gearing up ….. wait, when do I get Mind Sear again? Ewww not til 75? /sigh

Anywhoo … the bracers he got in his bag were full of awesome, but I can’t show them to you because the Armory is down. (Color me shocked) Definitely 5 stars for this feature so far. Maybe tonight Kerick will take a turn …. or Sanbec. LOL! I have zero clue how to play a warrior, that could be fun.

Hmmmmm……I wonder………if I queue up for a random dungon on, say, a level 12 …….. will I get to do RFC on my Alliance toons????? I gotta make that rogue I’ve been thinking about.

Ok, last thing before I go back to pretending to work. Guess who is broke now?

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 Responses to “Patch Day, Hooray”

  1. Ferenczys Says:

    I had my first taste of the new LFG today. Managed to get a group together for the new Icecrown dungeons in about 3 minutes at, get this, 5:30 am EST.

    Not sure I like the new loot system (Greed seems to = Disenchant in terms of priority), because there were a few off-spec items that could have been upgrades (or the makings on an Elemental set) that went to other people as enchantment fodder, but whatever. This could likely be fixed by simply talking to the group before hand and coming to some kind of agreement.

  2. repgrind Says:

    Hm, I hadn’t had a chance to try that out in a high level dungeon yet. There was no enchanter in our Oculus run. It was great for Sunken Temple though, because instead of having 3 or 4 greens taking up 3 or 4 bag slots, I have a half dozen Dream Dust in one slot to mail to my warrior so he can work on leveling his skill.

  3. magicstrudel Says:

    The random dungeon is the epicsauce. When I queued by myself as mage dps, it took about 3 minutes to get a group for the Icecrown 5 man.

    When I queued with a tank friend… 5 seconds and we had a full group inside the instance o.O

  4. Grubs Says:

    I got to use the new LFG last night and got a really good group for UK. I’m completely loving this feature….it was too much fun. I’m really excited to try it out on my druid this afternoon. Oh, but anyways I think we were about 1/2 thru when I realized you didn’t have to be an enchanter to use the DE option and we then decided instead of rolling greed we would just do that…quite nice really.

    Grats on the achievements, and dinging, and mounts…and all the other fun stuff! 🙂

  5. For The Pie Says:

    Mount Hyjal at 70. Heh.

    Archimonde was frustrating as heck especially if you got bad fire placement. Heck the time we finally downed him, I think I spent 75% of the time running from fire.

  6. repgrind Says:

    If you click on the screenshot there, you can see in the chat box that I received “Satchel of Helpful Goods” at the completion of the instance. You do heroics, you get Emblems … you do lower level stuff, you get goody bags. 😀

    The patch notes said “Level-appropriate rewards will be offered to players who choose the Random Dungeon option for pre-Wrath of the Lich King dungeons. ”

    Oh cool, Armory is back up … but it can’t tell us about the bracers because they don’t exist in its database. I’ll have to screenshot them tonight when I get home.

  7. For The Pie Says:

    Handful of Copper Bolts was showing up as a black square with the number of items in the stack for me last night. Apparently, the icon for it was on vacation.

    Patch days are Fantastic!

  8. repgrind Says:

    Did a random on my 35 paladin yesterday. Got SM Library. (I ❤ SM so much and want the full Scarlet mail set on him, so he's not gonna quest for awhile, just gonna do SM) His goody bag had a pair of blue gloves with strength, stamina, and defense on them. Pretty nice!

  9. kaif01 Says:

    Mind Sear sucks. Real priests holy nova.

  10. repgrind Says:

    haha. yeah, what did you do the other night when you were supposed to be healing? Like, 1.2k dps or something?

Leave a Reply

