PTR Notes Patch 3.2 – Initial Reactions

I’m writing this as I read through the patch notes for the first time, so this is knee-jerk, first impression thoughts that are subject to change in the future.

a paladin-exclusive Argent Crusader Charger mount – I can haz horsey? Man, as if it’s not bad enough they get their own mounts as it is. I’ve been pining for one of the jousting mounts you ride in the Court of Bones for awhile now. I guess I need to roll a paladin. /le sigh

Northrend Children’s Week has arrived in Dalaran! Players can find out more by visiting the Eventide District. – Squee!!

The newest season of Arena gear can only be purchased if you meet the requirements with your 3 or 5-player team rating. Rating requirements from 2-player teams can still be used to purchase the previous season of gear. – Speechless. Utterly and absolutely … speechless. This pile of steaming excrement deserves a post all its own … when I am cooled off enough to talk about it in a civilized manner. Seriously, I can’t get the best gear just because I only have one friend who is willing to put up with me in the arena? Nevermind that my ranking is likely to never be high enough to get the current season’s gear, but still …. $#%@

Warsong Gulch – There is a now a 20-minute timer on this Battleground./cheer

Any dungeons that previously dropped Emblems of Heroism or Valor, such as Naxxramas or Heroic Halls of Stone, will now drop Emblems of Conquest instead. Emblems of Conquest can still be converted to Valor or Heroism. – Holy Crap! I can stay in Naxx forevah!!

a new 100% speed ground mount has been added for the undead. – Moar horseys!!!!

Replenishment: This buff now grants 1% of the target’s maximum mana over 5 seconds instead of 0.25% per second. – Wait. Is that another mana regen nerf? It looks like one to me.

Due to significant talent changes, all death knight talents will be reset for players. – Hooray. I look forward to retalenting my four or five DKs – again. >.<

Unholy Blight: This talent has been redesigned. It no longer deals damage to nearby targets. Instead, when you deal damage with Death Coil, the target will take periodic damage for 10 seconds equal to 30% of the damage done by Death Coil. This damage accumulates in the same way as Ignite and Deep Wounds. – Wait .. what? So it’s NOT an AoE anymore? What in Elune’s name have they done to my beloved unholy tree?!

Arcane Blast: Mana cost reduced by 12%. – /dance

Penance: Cooldown increased to 12 seconds, up from 10 seconds. – o.O no nerfing teh bubbles!

After much quiet contemplation, rogues now possess the ability to learn how to use one-handed axes. – because nothing says ‘stealth’ quite like an axe

A customizable totem bar will now be available for shaman allowing the storing of 4 different totems. These totems can be placed on the ground at once in one global cooldown for the combined mana cost of all 4 totems. – Maybe this time I’ll actually level my shaman.

The ravasaur trainer Mor’vek has returned to Un’Goro and will offer to help Horde players raise and train a Venomhide Ravasaur as a mount… if they can survive the creature’s deadly poison. – Give. mount. nao.

Lifeblood now scales slightly with maximum health. No longer affected by global cooldown. – Hmmmmm. Anyone want to wager they put it back on the GCD because pvpers will cry about how OP it is?

Non-Combat Pets: 8 new pets have been added (not including Argent Tournament rewards). Raptor Hatchlings can be found on rare and elite raptors throughout the game world. In addition, an Obsidian Raptor Hatchling can be purchased from Breanni in Dalaran. – Sweeeeeeeeet!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, despite more positives here than negatives, I’m going to go cry in the corner over whatever in the heck they did to my beloved Unholy Blight talent.

Tags:

7 Responses to “PTR Notes Patch 3.2 – Initial Reactions”

  1. Troutwort Says:

    Penance?!?! /cry

    Though mostly I’m excited. Baby raptor non-combat pets, Children’s week in Northrend?!?!? Squee is right!

  2. Elleiras Says:

    Raise and train. I wonder if that means we get to nurture it from an itty bitty egg. 😀

  3. zupa Says:

    The changes aren’t final yet, so there may still be hope for unholy blight…

    meanwhile, they may have succeeded in making DW DKs not retarded! If I can DW tank I will be v happy. I shall henceforth be rolling on 1h tank weapons foshizzle

  4. repgrind Says:

    Trout – yeah, Fiak’s response was something to the effect of “it just means I won’t be healing you as often” … >.>

    Elleiras – That would ROCK. But, unless the alliance get to do it too …. I was under the impression it was to make up for them and their Wintersaber trainers thingy … I have no idea how that works.

    Zupa – very true. Things tend to change a lot once they actually get tested…and although I have no interest in DW tanking myself, I know it will make a LOT of DKs happy if it works.

  5. Eldadres Says:

    Blizz did it again.. nerf mai DK tank, now they’re excluding me from phat 2v2 l00tz!? …time to get more into my 3v3 team again….

  6. forthepie Says:

    You already have a pally nub. Keep leveling her.

  7. repgrind Says:

    My pally is not a her. Well…it’s one of those more muscular ones, at least.

Leave a Reply

