Better Than a Love Rocket

I have mixed feelings about the Big Love Rocket. On the one hand, it’s really super annoying that the drop rate of this is sooooooooooooooooooooooo much worse than that of other holiday mounts. I had multiple toons with Brewfest mounts or the Headless Horseman’s mount long before they went account-bound. Remember the year the Horse dropped like candy? I think I had it on all five of my max level Alliance. But THIS thing … argh!!!

On the other hand, since I have all of those others, I ignore those holidays. Since pretty much everyone and their dog still wants this one, the queue times to get a group for the apothecaries are negligible. Like, I’m talking anywhere from 2-8 minutes …. as a DPS. So even with 10 nineties lining up each night to try for one, it’s only taking me an hour to get them all done (there are tanks and healers mixed in with instaqueues).

Which brings me to my main rant. Even more annoying than the low drop rate. Healers who aren’t healing. They may or may not have a healing spec, but even if they do, they aren’t in it. I stopped queueing as tank on my two least geared tanks because wtf? I have like 410k health, people. I KNOW this thing is easy, but the boomkin who did 30k dps while I nearly died would have been far more effective actually healing me. The first time I queued as dps instead, the tank we got was level 89. Thank the Light the healer we got for that run was actually in a healing spec. It’s a difference of 5 minutes, people! If you’re too lazy to wait 5 minutes in queue as dps, gtfo.

So, to make up for the frustrations of the holiday, I bought this on the AH.

WoWScrnShot_021914_192358

I had a heck of a lot of fun zooming around Stormwind. I haven’t tried picking herbs from it yet. Maybe this weekend … although I need to finish my RaF this weekend, it ends in less than a week! Next week I’ll post a recap of everyone that I leveled.

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “Better Than a Love Rocket”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    Grats on the mount! Slice is supposed to be making me one.

    I stopped running the holiday on all of my alts. I got the necklace for those that needed it and now I just run it on Lyssi

  2. repgrind Says:

    I figured 13.5k was less than making all the Living Steel. Plus, well … once I pulled Van off of Drak, poor Arelin had no alchemist to supply him anymore, so making one was pretty much off the table. Once this RaF is over, then it’s back to re-leveling all of the professions that I no longer have on my main server.

  3. wowstorylines Says:

    Definitely congrats on the mount, that’s awesome!!

  4. koalabear21 Says:

    PPP is still on drak and is an alchy so you can send stuff to her and she can xmute it for you. She won’t be moving quite yet. My funds for transferring went to new games on Steam >.>

  5. Jaellynn Evershade Says:

    I want so bad to stop running the boss this holiday, but I can’t because I don’t have the mount. I have also run into a few healers not healing. The queues aren’t even that long for dps, so I don’t get it!

  6. khizzara Says:

    Please don’t hate me, but I’ve been queuing as a healer and then blowing stuff up as a boomkin. >.>

    You really seriously don’t need either a tank or a healer in this holiday dungeon unless the group is woefully undergeared. As boomkin I can do 250k+ DPS by blowing all my CDs and the fight is over in like, 30 seconds. I also keep an eye on the health bars so I can switch back to healing if someone actually takes damage. So far I think my record is having to cast 3 Rejuvs in one fight and no one has even come close to dying.

    One run with Kash I even had a “tank” going DPS and no one was ever in danger of dying.

    I even primarily DPS it on my Disc Priest. She doesn’t have an actual DPS spec, but I just focus on killing the bosses and let Atonement heals keep everyone alive. Last night I was second in DPS, (it took a long time to kill them…) and I still never had to switch to dedicated healing.

    On my terribly undergeared Holy Pally I wouldn’t dare try to DPS, but there’s really no healing to do. I’ve been using it as a place to remember where all my heals are and see how many Eternal Flames I can get going at the same time, but like, 99% of it goes to overhealing.

    So, while normally I would agree with you that people should do the role they’ve signed up to do, this holiday boss is so ridiculously easy that it just makes more sense to DPS him down faster than to sit there twiddling your thumbs and waiting for free loots.

  7. repgrind Says:

    Right … but this guy did 30k and the actual dps didn’t do much better. So .. DPS him down faster *does* make sense … IF the dps + faux healer are capable of it. This group wasn’t, and yes, I am woefully undergeared and won’t be tanking anything above this holiday boss.

    I had another group last night where my mage was top dps at 54k. My DK, who did tank, was second in DPS at 40k in another. So yeah … there are PLENTY of groups that are lacking and could use a well-geared dps. Just queue as DPS, or use DPS cooldowns in a healing spec if the group doesn’t need the heals.

  8. khizzara Says:

    Well, I did start out popping my healer DPS CD. And then I was like, “I could totally heal this in boomkin spec.” So I did. And it’s much more fun and unexpected than queueing as a DPS. :P

    And again, I only do this with Kash, who is seriously overgeared. I mean, if I had to emergency heal it as boomkin it would be no problem.

    The whole point of doing it is to spice things up a bit, because otherwise the fight is even more horrifically boring. I bet I could boomkin heal a 5-man at this point…

    Don’t worry! I won’t actually do that. :P

  9. repgrind Says:

    I know you’re also smart enough to pay attention and provide necessary healing. You know darn well I wasn’t talking about you! :p

  10. haridasgowra Says:

    Lots of fun!
    i Love this rocket! enjoy!
    Best wishes for your next week post! i’m waiting!
    #wordpress!

  11. wolfgangcat Says:

    Yeah, I remember when the HH horse dropped like candy and everyone seem to have one except me… :(

    Grats on the Sky Golem! Ummm…you do know I could have given you one for practically free in a few days? I have only 4 or 5 of the Peculiar Energy Sources left to go…

  12. koalabear21 Says:

    Hey Bo, let Slice know! I know he has cash on Winterhoof so he can buy it from you :D

  13. Cain Says:

    I just finally got the horseman mount this year by running 11 toons through. I’m doing the same with this holiday, but no luck. I did get an item I hadn’t seen before called the heartbreaker, but that’s it.

    I must say same as khizzara I have been queueing as heals or tank on all my toons that can. I make sure I still watch out for other people though. It seems the only times I tend to get a low dps group are when I’m on my actual healer or tank and then I often get top dps still as a healer/tank. My ret pally can toss a heal or two that is enough to keep everyone topped off and I’ll still have lay on hands for an emergency. My enh shaman just drops a healing totem and blows stuff up. My warrior I just pop shield wall if I’m “tanking” as dps and taking any damage. Even my WW monk queues as heals and just uses whatever that ability is that heals people as it bounces or the little orbs. I think that’s the only difference is if you are going to queue as heals or tank you have to be prepared to fill those roles somehow no matter what group you get not do 30k and no heals like the boomkin you got stuck with.

  14. repgrind Says:

    Yeah Bo, you’ve given me enough! Get some gold for that!! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

