SO. CUTE.

I finally did it! It only took three weeks …

WoWScrnShot_092613_225429

And yes, I know that Zao has the least interesting moveset out of the mini celestials but I’m the type of person who picks the cutest pet first, especially since I know I can eventually earn them all. It was late when I finished, but I couldn’t just log out, I had to run around the island with him for awhile. He’s just too darn adorable.

It wasn’t until I had beaten the three champions and no achievement popped up for defeating all nine of them that I realized the tracking for the achievement is per character. Van has killed everyone but Mari, but I logged on late last night and just took the character that was already parked on the Isle. Oops. Oh well, maybe that group will be up again next week.

The last time I got as far as the celestials, I got stuck on Xu-Fu … mostly because I had no mechs left by the time I got there. This time I managed to beat Zao without using my Clockwork Gnome, so I had at least one left. Ok, let’s go consult Tamer Liopleurodon’s guide. If you haven’t been to her blog, you are missing out. So much awesome pet info! Anyway, based on her strategy, I dug through my available pet list and came up with a pair of Wild Hatchlings to toss in with my Gnome, one Gold and one Jade. Both of these come with Call Lightning. Whichever one I started with, I had it cast call lightning. I was hoping to dodge Feed at the right time with Liftoff, but missed on the first dragon so he did get one cast of it off. When that one died I put in the Gnome and set up a turret. Then I went ahead and swapped him back out, because my lightning was about to fall off and I also didn’t want him to die before his turret was off cooldown again. Fortunately, one of Xu-Fu’s big attacks missed so that kind of balanced out the Feed that hit. I was so excited when my Gnome finished him off that I totally forgot to get a screenshot.

Those of you still trying, don’t give up! I don’t have a lot of the ‘necessary’ pets leveled .. no Anubisath, no Water Spirit, no Crow or Raven, no Chrominius, no Darkmoon Zeppelin or Mechanical Dragonling (although my Zep is getting close) … persistence WILL pay off eventually.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “SO. CUTE.”

  1. tomeoftheancient Says:

    Congratulations! He is cute! I think if/when I ever get them all down in one go he’s the one I’ll be picking too. Since I stole Clockwork Gnome from my Xu-Fu team to defeat Zao now I’ve got to think up a new team and onward!

  2. repgrind Says:

    I think I got really lucky, because the Gnome *was* in my Zao team. But I didn’t have to actually use him. My flying thing with flock (I think I used a Griffon Hatchling) and my Bombling took him out by themselves. If that can work every time, I might be able to use that third slot on Zao for leveling.

  3. koalabear21 Says:

    Grats!!

    He is rather adorable. :)

  4. wolfgangcat Says:

    Grats! Those celestial pets are adorable! Now you’ve inspired me to give it another shot :D

  5. Cymre Says:

    Congratulations! He’s a great choice.

  6. taintedsouls Says:

    I’ve found the serpent hatchling with Call Lightning pairs nicely with flying pets with stampede or flock (glowflies, turkeys, chickens, etc.). Each round gives you 3 attacks (that each proc the lightning) and the stampede/flock leaves the double damage debuff on Xu-Fu so rounds 2 and 3 of the stampede really eats up his HP. Flying pets take reduced damage vs his attacks, so you minimize his healing and maximize your survivability at the same time.

  7. Leit Says:

    Grats. My brother agreed that Zao was the best looking pet, so he went with that too. “He’s so hardcore” is a little different than “too cute”, though.

    Should really finish my “I beat the tournament” post. I went with Xu-fu, because actual good combos and he also looks fantastic. Spent the week in between levelling ALL the pets. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

