Alt Week: Paladin

I hope you don’t have anything else to do today besides read this. It could run a bit long …

Kerick

When I first started playing WoW, paladin wasn’t an option for me. I was rolling Horde to play with my friend, and I wasn’t ready to shell out cash for the BC expansion until I was sure I liked the game. The first contact I had with paladins was when Juna hit 70 and the rest of the guild started teaching me about running heroics. Our tank then was a paladin. At the time I was slightly curious about them, but the Death Knight I rolled when Wrath hit filled the ‘I want to play a belf’ longing. There was sometimes a holy paladin in our Naxx runs, though, and that intrigued me much more than the tankadin had. I knew in the back of my head that I would roll one … someday. But I wasn’t ready yet.

I rolled Kerick midway through Wrath, but I was leveling him as ret. There was no LFD yet then, at least, not when he was FIRST rolled. He was still leveling when it was added though. Not that it mattered, I had no real plans for him at that time, I was just having fun leveling. He did things that I would never get to do again, completing the epic charger questline with the help of my good buddy Gromdred before it was removed from the game entirely.

Grom taught me how to ret, but deep in my heart, what I really wanted to do was to be like this guy …

Those of you who knew him, know how much fun it was to be around Hartbane. He made everything more fun. Even spending a year in ICC without killing the stupid Lich King was fun as long as Hart was leading the raid. So I picked up a holy spec when I hit 68 and went to Northrend, and I learned. I *almost* gave it up when the new Cata changes went into effect. It took some getting used to, as paladin was one of the classes that changed the most, with the introduction of Holy Power and all. I know some paladins who completely tossed the class aside and still have not come back to it.

In Cata, my intention was to stick with Karius as my main, like he had been through the majority of Wrath. But, well … healers are in demand, yo. Queue up for LFR and I guarantee, the role you will be waiting on to fill will be healers. So …

Kerick was the main man through Cata. Although, he would have a co-main before the expansion was over, named …

Vanicus

This is totally Lyssi’s fault. Shadow Rising needed some fillers for their raids. I already had my DK over there, he just needed leveling from 80 to 85. No big deal. I leveled him and started out filling in as off tank/dps in BWD/BoT. But, in the background, I had this little paladin that I’d rolled to learn tanking.

Well, as much fun as tanking for SR was, I really, *really* … well, I’m a healer. That’s it. So Van got respecced and leveled almost entirely through LFD. Whereas Kerick had learned healing late, Van learned from the ground up. Even though I’d been healing for awhile now, I feel like I didn’t really know the class as well as I could have until I did that.

As soon as he was leveled and geared enough, he stepped into the SR raids … as a core member. No more fill-ins, I was officially raiding on two different toons in two different factions. We downed Nefarian not long after I made the switch from Arelin to Van.

You guys know the rest of the story pretty much. The Alliance raid never quite got back together for MoP, so Van is *the* main now.

Kerick does LFR with the remnants of the old gang over in Crits though. I have multiple paladin alts besides these two … Kalethos sitting around at 85 on a server I’ll probably never go back to (maybe I’ll transfer him again someday), Rathanos at 52 who IS leveling as prot although not through dungeons, and at least two others at 30 that, well, I don’t know if they’ll ever get played.

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Alt Week: Paladin”

  1. zarigar Says:

    this post should be titled Main Week: Paladin

  2. repgrind Says:

    inorite?

    btw, Zari … you should check out Kerick’s offhand. it’s not a shield >.>

  3. koalabear21 Says:

    I expected that to be longer.

    And yes, things are usually my fault :-p

  4. repgrind Says:

    I got tired of typing >.<

  5. wolfgangcat Says:

    Nice Paladin roundup! :D
    For some reason I thought you had about 50 Paladins…

  6. zarigar Says:

    lol poor Kerick rushes into battle with his trusty cricket cage

  7. PlaidElf Says:

    Nice paladins. Now I’m even more excited about leveling mine and learning holy :D

  8. repgrind Says:

    Zari, he keeps a cricket close by so he can do pet battles between pulls ;)

  9. repgrind Says:

    Plenty of Paladins?!? That sounds like my kind of blog ^.^

  10. tomeoftheancient Says:

    I think my highest level Paladin only got to 45. I WILL one day successfully level one. My present Paladin is in a holding pattern at level 7 in Ironforge. She could go all the way!

  11. repgrind Says:

    Yeah, but you’re a druid, and my highest level druid is around 41, so that pretty much makes us even. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

