Wega Who?

Yeah so … I needed to make a character on a different shard so that Tome could pass her extra skeletal dog on to me. Rather than just recreating Wega, I made something different … a Tiefling rogue. Yes, I know … rogue is so NOT my style usually. I mean, there’s a longstanding joke in WoW about how my rogues all end up as bank alts. But I’d heard they were fun in Neverwinter so I gave it a try.

Meet Lorne Bloodspike.

screenshot_2013-06-21-21-24-51

Rogue turned out to be fun and then some. Even before getting stealth at level 10, I was destroying stuff and having a good time doing it. I have an ability that stuns, a ‘finishing’ move that isn’t really a finisher because it doesn’t require any combo points or nonsense like that, throwing knives, and once I’ve built up enough action points, a blade flurry type thing. There’s also one that I learned later in the tree that is similar to shadowstep, which I use as my opener.

So anyway, I decided I liked the rogue enough to keep him, and tracked down Tome, who mailed me this little beauty. I named her Ancient, isn’t she awesome? She’s not just for looks either, she fights with me! Sort of like the companions in SW:TOR.

screenshot_2013-06-22-15-35-33

So the two of us set off for adventure together. We hit level 10 and got stealth and got to start on professions. These work sort of like in TOR, except they are separate from your companions. We tried out a quest from the Foundry. We got to 16 and … got to pick out a free companion from the ones that are available for a couple of gold at the vendor. I chose the man-at-arms because .. well duh. I get to run around with my own tank? He’s kinda cute too, he looks like Riker from ST:TNG. Hmm maybe I should rename him.

Somewhere along the line one of the Nightmare Lockboxes dropped that Tome had mentioned. I watched for hours as the system messages flashed across the screen … “so-and-so has received a Heavy Nightmare Inferno” … which is a mount that drops from them and looks sort of like a warlock’s Felsteed. I broke down and charged $20 worth of Zen so I could buy some keys. But … mounts and pets could come in it!

Speaking of which, at 20 I got the ability to ride.

screenshot_2013-06-23-14-52-00

This one is just a rental. You get three free tokens for rentals. Each rental lasts for 5 hours of in-game time. I figure I’ll use those up first and by the time they are gone, I will have the 2g+ to purchase a regular one. I have my eye on a pretty little Waterdeep mare. There’s also one for 500 Zen that I like.

You know, I just realized … Lorne got to 23 and has not died. The closest he came was last night, when my mouse battery died partway through the last boss battle of the night, and I had to rely on my encounter abilities, stealth, and the ability to roll out of harm’s way. Wega died several times on her way to level 9. She also had an ability, sprint, that could get her out of trouble, but it required holding shift + a direction key, which with my small hands I found to be very awkward. Lorne just has to double tap a direction and he’s gone, poof! Stealth is on tab. It’s funny how a class that I can’t quite get in one game, I find to be elegant and explosive and exciting in another, even though many of the abilities are similar.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Wega Who?”

  1. slice213 Says:

    Wow cheater! You cheated on Wow!
    :P

    Although I have no excuse myself…playing TOR and thinking about redownloading Rifts…..

    HIt 55 on my new Jedi Sage

    Prob going to work on the Jedi Knight next! Or maybe the imperial toons….

  2. repgrind Says:

    I thought about trying Rift. But I think I’m good with what I’ve got. Foundry quests could keep me busy until the end of time .. or at least until people stop making them.

  3. tomeoftheancient Says:

    I know! These Rogues are so fun! Mine’s only around 12 but now that you mention it I don’t think she’s died yet either.

    I think my favorite Foundry quest so far is that Nightmare one, thought it was imaginative.

    I tried to make a character that was outside my comfort zone which would be anything tanky but my Great Weapon Fighter only made it to level 3 when I gave up. May try again.

  4. khizzara Says:

    But… what did you get in your box? You can’t leave me on a cliffhanger like this! You spent real monies for keys and then don’t tell me what was in the box?! *dies*

  5. repgrind Says:

    Just enchants. And 10 bars of some special metal that is another currency for special items (some of which are mounts, I do have my eye on one of those as well).

    There are a lot of currencies to keep track of. And so many cool horses! The one I think I’m going to get with my remaining Zen has leather armor that looks really awesome. I’ve always been a sucker for horses. Even with all the dragons and things we have in WoW, my favorites if I could choose only a couple, would be horses.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

