SR in Real Life

So, this weekend I went to visit Slice and Lyssi. Sorak was in the same state they are in on business, so I swung by and picked him up on my way there.

We got there Friday late afternoon, and we all piled into Slice’s car and went to Quaker Steak & Lube for wings. Sorak ordered some Atomic level stuff that no one else would touch. Friday night a few of Slice’s friends came over. First they taught me how to play Magic in preparation for Saturday night’s draft, then we all played another card game called Bang! that Sorak brought with him. Oh yeah, and we had these awesome enchiladas for dinner that Lyssi cooked.

Saturday morning Lyssi cooked breakfast for us, and we watched some netflix … then we decided we’d better get moving if we wanted to go to the zoo. Compared to our zoo here, the one in Columbus is huge. We were there four hours and didn’t see everything. But what we did see was pretty cool. Here are some of the things we saw:

Druid Tank (Brown Bear)

Brown Bear

Hunter Tank Pet (Black Rhino)

Black Rhino

Future MoP mounts! (Red-naped Crane)

Red-naped Crane

Wild Asians (Slice and Sorak)

Slice and Sorak, Got him with his mouth full.

Puma

Puma

Cougar

Me

Koala
Koala

Other Koala!
Lyssi

A bat at one of the flight paths in Forsaken territory (Large Flying Fox)
Large Flying Fox

It was pretty hot and humid. It had looked like rain, but then the sun came out. Bleh. So we spent a lot of time in line to refill our drinks, like Lyssi and Slice are doing here.
Lyssi and Slice getting refills

It was a lot of walking too, so Slice and I sat down whenever we could.

Me and Slice, Columbus Zoo

Not sure how much fun the boys really had, but Lyssi and I really enjoyed seeing all the animals.
Lyssi and me, Lyssi and me

Wow this is getting long already. Anyway, the coolest part at the zoo was Stingray Bay, where you can stick your hands in the pool and actually touch the stingrays. It wasn’t the best spot to get pictures though.

After the zoo we grabbed a bite to eat, then went to the home of the guy who came over the night before for our Magic tournament. I had no help at all on the drafting part, and I must have done ok, because they said my deck was pretty solid. I did have advice on what plays to make for the first two matches though.

Here we are doing the actual drafting.

Magic draft

And during actual play. Sorak really looks like he’s concentrating here.
Playing Magic

This is Slice’s brother making a play in his match against me.
Slice's bro

And here it is my turn as I decide what play to make.
Playing Magic

Slice and Sorak both kicked my butt good, but I finished with a record of 5-4 so I think I did pretty ok for my first time.

Sunday Lyssi cooked us breakfast and we hung out watching tv, then played a board game and went out for Korean BBQ before Sorak and I hit the road. We all had a great time.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

24 Responses to “SR in Real Life”

  1. slice213 Says:

    OMG it was a blast indeed! Hope to do it again!

  2. koalabear21 Says:

    Great pictures!!

    Despite the heat and all the walking, I did have a blast at the zoo. You captured the wild asians at their finest!

  3. repgrind Says:

    Sorak’s face practically screams “You did NOT just take a picture of me with my mouth full …”

    The ones you took turned out great as well, although I think the one of you and I together that Slice took might be the best of all.

  4. koalabear21 Says:

    Well duh, if you have an asian take a picture . . . ;-)

  5. arvash29 Says:

    Lmao, Sorak is hardcore! He got his mat out so his cards wouldn’t get dirty! That’s awesome you all got to meet up!

  6. zarigar Says:

    sorak looks as mean as I imagined him

  7. repgrind Says:

    lol Arv. We totally made fun of Sorak’s nerd mat all weekend. It was awesome.

  8. khizzara Says:

    OMG, pictures of the real you guys! That’s awesome! Sounds like you guys had fun, and I totally LOLed at the picture captions. :D

  9. Navimie Says:

    I was coming over to nag about lack of IRL weekend post and got rewarded with pics instead! What a fantastic time! I love the look of concentration on reps face whilst playing MTG. What a cool guild, full of Asians and girls!

  10. Navimie Says:

    And OMG I imagined Lyss all Goth and pierced. No idea why.

  11. repgrind Says:

    I should have taken a pic of that Bahamut model in the guest bathroom. That was such a nice touch.

  12. repgrind Says:

    lol Navi! It’s the whole warlock thing. She’s entirely too nice IRL to play a lock.

  13. repgrind Says:

    *edit – forgot to link Sorak’s name to his website. Fix’d!

  14. Sorak Says:

    Leave my nerd mat alone! It was fun times, it’s good to see somethings don’t change. Slice bringing shame to his race with his drafting skills just like his street fighter skills!

    Btw that is not angry Sorak, if you want to see red Sorak put me in a situation when I can’t skip RP!

  15. zarigar Says:

    sanrio.com must wonder why they keep getting increased hits

  16. Sorak Says:

    I modified my avatar just for you Zari.

  17. zarigar Says:

    is that little penguin flipping me off?

  18. Sorak Says:

    Doesn’t everyone flip you off?

  19. Bats Says:

    Looks like you had so much fun :)

  20. Lore Says:

    MTG.. man I remember playing that game. Still have all my old cards too.. All the Moxs (beta edition), and a couple black lotus’s.. Wonder if they’re worth anything yet? I dont even remember the last xpac i played to.. I think it was shortly after Ice Age? I just remember once they put phasing, and a bunch of weird stuff in, I quit.
    Looks like you guys had fun though.

  21. Cayle Says:

    depending on the condition of the Mox’s, they’re anywhere from 500-900 per. Black Lotus looks to be about 2k+

    You have a small fortune!

  22. Lore Says:

    Sweet! Knew I held onto them for something! lol

  23. epictoon1 Says:

    Really loved the caption, it was funny…. It looks you all have a great time.. Just wondering which one is the troll.

  24. Cymre Says:

    Nice pics!
    It’s nice to put a face to a name but no one ever looks like what I expect. Your whole guild seems to be a big card playing/collecting one :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

