Fun With Force Push

So … the Rakghoul Outbreak has been contained. I’m sure I’m not the only one that’s sad to see it end, yet at the same time, I’m looking forward to getting back to my regular questing. I accomplished pretty much everything I wanted to do with it. Van, Arelin, and Roz all got both the Crimson and Pale Raklings. I bought an extra Pale Rakling that I tried to give to Arv but his pet collecting apparently hasn’t followed him to ToR, so I mailed it to Kroy. Van killed all three world bosses, completing the event codex and earning the title.

Van and Arelin both got the full set of Containment Officer armor. Roz got the gloves and boots, which were actually nice upgrades for him once he slapped some mods in them. Arelin’s outfit is in his cargo hold … it requires Social I to use. Yes, he *still* has no social points. I know, fayle right? Van could use his, but since he’s too lazy to mod it all, he stuck it on Dr. Lokin.

Oh. Crap! I might actually have to gear that bitch up if they want me to go dps. /facepalm

The last thing I bought was one of the level 31 color crystals. Since Arelin is already 36, I stuck it in Roz’s bank. Plus, I figured if I’m going to be stuck using an obnoxious neon green over black saber, I might as well double the cornea burn and use it on the double bladed one.

So, now that that’s out of the way, I can get back to my questing. Arelin headed out to Taris, and since the zone is level 32-36 and he was halfway through level 35 already, I skipped the regular stuff and just worked on his class quests. Burek posted a really sweet video guide to using Force Push yesterday. So that was fresh on my mind. Now, I have a pretty regular rotation that I use. Force Push is in it, but it’s buried pretty deep and typically only gets used on elites because everything else dies before I get to it, except for random occasions when I use it as an interrupt. I learned some pretty cool things from the video, but there are other things to keep in mind when using it in PvE. Here are a couple:

#1) Knocking your enemies off a ledge to their deaths in PvP? Good.
Knocking your enemies off a ledge to their deaths in PvE? Also good, but keep in mind, you might want to loot that body, ya?

#2) Knocking your enemies onto a ledge that is ABOVE you. Not so good.
I didn’t even realize this was possible, but apparently, it is. This can be bad when the enemy is ranged, like this assault droid here.

He could shoot me without interruption. I could Force Charge, Force Scream, and even Force Choke him (still not sure how one is able to choke a droid, especially one without a throat) but could not use any of my melee abilities. And no, I didn’t have Saber Throw yet .. I got that AFTER I finished this questline and dinged 36. /sigh Hooray for DoTs.

Ok, I’m off to learn how to dps as an operative. I use the pointy end of the vibroknife, right?

Tags: , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Fun With Force Push”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    I’m pretty sure it is _always_ the pointy end :-p

  2. forthepie Says:

    That’s what she said.

  3. repgrind Says:

    You wouldn’t *believe* how many abilities I have tucked away in my spellbook that I didn’t look twice at because they don’t heal. It’s probably a miracle that I killed my target in that council fight in EV last week, considering I have a total of maybe three damaging abilities on my bar. >.>

  4. Arvash Says:

    Hmmm…maybe I should have taken the pet, I did give you the Green Macaw and TCG pets……..eff it, BUY ME A SAND SPEEDER!

  5. forthepie Says:

    Got my Sniper past the Chapter 1 story. I can see what you mean about the boss, although I died the first time because it sorta happened suddenly and I let Kaliyo die. I should make some of those healing packs that heal me and my companion.

  6. repgrind Says:

    Yeah I had a heck of a time with it. And I was just level 30 which probably didn’t help, I really should have been 32. Heck, I couldn’t keep Kaliyo up and I’m heal specced! I have no idea how you would do that as a sniper.

  7. forthepie Says:

    Every interrupt you have to keep him from casting, after that he’s a punk.

    Also, anyone know a great link to a guide for the level 50 dailies? I need to gather a ton of credits.

  8. repgrind Says:

    Dailies. *shudder* I attempted to do Ilum last night. That was a disaster. I was impatient and tried to stealth past a bunch of stuff and apparently the whole room is linked … or possibly bugged. It was not pretty.

  9. gromitdaddy Says:

    You hold the pointy end in your hand so you can bludgeon mobs to death… They die extra slow that way :D

  10. repgrind Says:

    That might still be more effective than trying to kill things in a healing spec. xD

    Must. level. warrior. faster.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

