Farming Lovely Charms

Yesterday I was sitting here minding my own business at work when Trout e-mailed me complaining about the low drop rate of Lovely Charms the night before. I was like, ‘yeah, you know, I didn’t get very many either,’ so I hit up Google and went on a researching mission. Not surprisingly, the official forums are full of bitching about this. However, in between the whining, I also found some very helpful posts with suggested farming sites. So last night, after my daily ganking in Uldum for the holiday daily, I headed out to test the spot that I found most appealing.

The site I chose? The Iron Crucible located inside Halls of Lightning. This is the room full of elementals that you run through after you have killed the first boss. Why did I choose this place?

  • It’s instanced, so there’s no competition for kills, and most importantly if you are on a PvP server like my belfs, NO ONE CAN GANK YOU!
  • The adds are level 79 non-elites with just under 16k health, so they die very easily, even to a newb in greens like my third-string pally. (Seriously, he got a ring in ZA last night that was an upgrade for his ret set.)
  • The adds do not drop loot. Some might count this as a negative rather than a positive, but I’m there for Lovely Charms and only Lovely Charms. Looting would slow me down and take up bag space with non-Charms.
  • The adds have a very fast respawn rate.

So, how did the test run turn out?

In the first 20 minutes there, I went from 11 Charms to 81 Charms. Then I grabbed my mage friend who was looking to work on the holiday as well, and said hey come out to Ulduar and I’ll show you how to churn these babies out fast. Once I had her there, we each took a side of the room and neither one of us even had to move from our spots. I was standing in one place, perfectly still, and would have three adds at a time spawning on top of me. I’d use Art of War procs to one-shot slags to my sides for super bonus fun times. After another 30 minutes I was up to 200 Charms.

One other thing to consider…there have been complaints that people who have the Test Your Strength quest from Darkmoon Faire will get fewer drops because the Grisly Trophies and Lovely Charms cannot drop at the same time.  I did not get to test that last night … Kale had turned in Test Your Strength when the Faire opened on Sunday, so he does NOT have it in his log. I’ve seen reports that putting the Adventurer’s Guide in your bank when you go out to farm Charms remedies this situation.

So there you go, a perfect spot to grind out those charms, and you can even bring a friend to speed it up!

P.S. Today is my 3 year blogivesary. Three years! Is that crazy or what? Thank you to everyone who has visited over the years.  Don’t forget to mock Sorak in the comments!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Farming Lovely Charms”

  1. Analogue Says:

    Congratulations on 3 years! That makes you an oldtimer in the Wow blogiverse!

    Also Sorak needs to buy you a seahorse or something to show how much he appreciates your awesomeness for putting up with him.

  2. slice213 Says:

    Grats…now where was this awesome farming spot for charms….evil Van convinced me to get the pink ugly bird so I can kinda being like Arv!

  3. koalabear21 Says:

    Um proof that Slice doesn’t read.

    She said Halls of Lightning in Ulduar.

    Silly Slice.

    You know who else doesn’t read? Sorak.

    Grats sweetie!

  4. wolfgangcat Says:

    Oooo…thanks for the tip! I’m going to try that tonight (if it hasn’t been nerfed already.)

    I’ve already turned in the Grisly Trophies quest but I think I’ll leave the book in the bank just in case.

  5. Troutwort Says:

    I see, that’s an interesting tip. I would still question Blizzard on why one would have to find such a bizzare place to get a good run at the charms. I’ll have to give it a shot, I’m not sure how we’ll I’ll do there as a shadow priest though…if the spawn rate is too fast it might be overwhelming for me!

    But still, I’ll have to try it if this is apparently the way to do it. They should drop more frequently off daily quest mobs I would think!

  6. ReversionLFM Says:

    A couple years ago Ana and I went to Ulduar and ran around killing dwarves on vehicles. Got a zillion of them. I wish I still had some now because I need that mount. Time to hit HoL I guess. Thanks for the tip Rep! I will be there on my hunter tonight!

  7. repgrind Says:

    +1 intarwebz to Ana and Lyssi for mocking Sorak. The rest of you fayle. =P

  8. zarigar Says:

    lol Taunka rep

  9. forthepie Says:

    Sorak who?

    Also, conga rats on 3 years.

  10. Sorak Says:

    ….

    Bitches

    That is all.

    Grats on 3 years!!!!

    Now that is really all…

  11. repgrind Says:

    UPDATE: I just spent 15 minutes destroying Slag on Kerick … WITH the Darkmoon quest in his log and the Adventurer’s Guide in his bags.

    Before: 8 Lovely Charms, 23 Grisly Trophy
    After: 92 Lovely Charms, 250 Grisly Trophy

    So … ignore all that crap about the Test Your Strength quest. Maybe it was changed in the rolling restarts today, maybe it was just bull to begin with. Either way .. seems to not be an issue in here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

