You’re A Mean One

So, when I first read about the changes to Winter Veil’s quests involving Metzen the Reindeer and The Abominable Greench, I was both excited and appalled.

The Good

A chance every day at a pet in the bag! Hooray!

The Bad

A chance to not get a pet in the bag every day! (Van has struck out 3 holidays in a row now)

A group quest, not a dungeon. Will I have to fly to Hillsbrad every day? Will I be able to complete the quest if I don’t have a group, or will I have to fight to tag the bitch like with those lieutenants up on Sethria’s Roost that Kerick still hasn’t been able to complete? How big of a clusterfuck will this be on my PvP servers?

Well, let’s find out! I’ve got 45 minutes before I have to leave for bowling.

I decided to start with Kerick, since it at least would eliminate the whole PvP situation. The answer to the first question is … yes. You have to fly to Hillsbrad every day. From Ironforge. Well, when you’re a paladin with 310 flight + Crusader Aura, it’s not so bad. Kerick has it easy. So he flew out there, and hung in the air over this huge yeti with 3.4M health. Yeah, even if I go ret that ain’t gonna happen. As I’m hanging around, Arv whispers me about the new boots and gloves he found that are a better match for his transmog outfit. So I logged out and hopped on Wega to go check him out. (WHY did I not screenshot him? Total fayle there on my part. You’ll just have to take my word for it … he’s hawt.) When I logged back over to Kerick, the yeti was dead, the reindeer was standing in the middle of the clearing, and the bags just inside the cave entrance were sparkling. Swoop down, talk to Metzen, grab a bag, hop back on a mount and fly up into the air with my quest completed! (Proof that I’ve gotten used to the PvP servers. This is habit now, to never leave myself vulnerable. If they’re ambitious enough for an aerial attack though, they deserve the HK.) I check the guild roster and see that Bocat is on her way here. Excitedly, I inform her of the development, and I wait for her to get there. She’s all like ‘Will I get flagged if I pelt the Horde with snowballs?’ Um, no, not unless they are flagged. So I wait for her to get there and complete her quest, and as I’m flying away, I see her tossing snowballs at a belf. Haha! Kerick got some racecars or something, so he can go all Initial D on the raid Friday night.

Ok, time for bowling league.

Get back home, and it’s Van’s turn. Hop a zep to Tirisfal and fly down to Hillsbrad. A shorter trip than Kerick has, but there’s also that PvP issue. Plus the small population on Drak. I get there and the only other person around is a single Worgen hunter. I watch the dimwit pull the yeti and get stomped.  Then I’m all like ‘Arv, come kill this!’ So he and Stunnah group me up and I share the quest and summon them to Hillsbrad. We … well, I’ll be honest, we actually wiped on it the first time.  There are a couple of things to watch out for on this fight.

1. If a snowman appears next to you … RUN AWAY. It will do a frost nova that freezes anyone caught in it in an ice block.

2. If a decorated tree appears next to you … RUN AWAY. The Greench will soon be leaping to that spot and hitting everyone nearby with a knockback that does damage, throws you in the air, AND causes you to take fall damage when you land.

We completed it on the next try, with a little help from two others who showed up. Hearthed, turned in quests, queued for a dungeon. Inside the entrance to End Time, Arv opens his box. Darn, he just got some toys. Then Van opens his. OMG!

Awww……he’s like Pebble’s coal-colored cousin. So cute.  So Van won’t have to do the daily more than once.

We ran several dungeons, so it was midnight when I logged on to Kale to get his done. Firetree was a completely different story from Drak. There were two others on the zep with me. When I got to the site, there were several Alliance down below. There was some discussion in general chat and it became obvious that there were more Horde around than just the two others I had seen. I said I could heal if we had a tank handy, and I flew over to Tarren Mill to swap specs. Eventually we had a large enough force gathered to just land down there and pull him. Some of them invited me to a group.  Things were going well and then suddenly the hunter and his pet both had poisons. Uh oh, looks like the rogue is back.  I see the cat druid materialize just behind me and off to my left. Crap, I just know I’m about to get stunned. But no … he … cyclones me? Really?? During the few seconds I am cc’d I see the Greench go down and Metzen come walking out. You KNOW what I did when the cyclone wore off, right? Run right up to the reindeer, talk to him, head to the cave, grab a bag … and as I’m turning around, the mage is making a portal back to Org. Score!! I gtfo of Dodge then and there, leaving the people who actually wanted to PvP to fend for themselves. Eff that, I’m outtie! Unfortunately, no pet, so he’ll have to go back.

All in all, the quest was not as bad as I was expecting. However, right now *everyone* is doing it. I’m afraid that if I don’t get the pet early, I may be stuck having to actually beg people to group up and come kill him with me. I much prefer the holiday bosses that are instanced and can be queued for. But hey … it could be worse, at least I don’t have to actually tag or kill the beast myself. Maybe when Kerick is level 90 he can go back to Sethria’s Roost and solo stupid Kelbnar for his Flamebreaker title. >.<

P.S. Vacation starts at 5pm! Woooooooo! So … if the blog is dead for the next couple of weeks, it’s because I’m too busy playing to bother posting. I’ll try to post once or twice though.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “You’re A Mean One”

  1. Gromitdaddy Says:

    You’re a mean one, mr greench :)

  2. Navimie Says:

    Grats, Rep you have all the luck :P

  3. repgrind Says:

    Ha! Not hardly. Van took guildies along to queue for Lord Ahune at Midsummer .. they got frigid frostlings, he didn’t. He queued every day for Coren and for the Headless Horseman .. didn’t get a mount. He’s been very UNlucky at holiday boss drops so far. Kerick, on the other hand …

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

