Farm Status?

After the awesome week we had last week with two new bosses down, I suppose it was inevitable that this week should be a letdown in some ways. However, I like to see the silver lining and point out the things the DID go well, lest we dwell too much on the bad and get discouraged.

Shannox was a nice, clean one shot. Arv and Cayle are great at getting their stacks reset. Would we one shot him if one of our tanks was out for a night? Meh, probably.

Baleroc was two shot.  I didn’t lead the healing this time. In fact, I had the fewest stacks of the three of us! But with all three of us having 75+ stacks …. well. Heh. Easy peasy.  I know it’s only the second week we’ve done him but I don’t see him being an issue in the future.

Beth, on the other hand … well, to be fair, we never HAVE downed her quickly. Four pulls last week was our best. And we were missing Adoe, who usually plays a big part in handling the spiderlings. Toss in a few of the usual small things that can go wrong and there you have it.

Ok, now, about Lord Rhyolith … no, you know what? Screw him. On our second pull Tuesday night, we wiped with him at something like 70k health. The five subsequent pulls were ugly. Last night we pulled him TWENTY-THREE times. No dice. Oh, we learned a lot about the fight. Like how much fire burns when there are three active volcanoes stacking the increased fire damage debuff on you … that sometimes can’t be helped when each volcano spawns clear across the effing platform behind him. It honestly was so disheartening that Sorak threatened to not post the logs (but he did anyway). Welcome to progression raiding! I’m sure some people were discouraged after the way it went, but I’m looking forward to kicking his butt next week. Even if it takes twice as many pulls.

Before I go, I just want to mention one more thing. I doubt our enh shaman Vyshus reads this, but I know a good portion of the rest of the raid does. He deserves a shout out this week. He did a much better job of surviving, he didn’t ankh on trash (yes, he kept asking to, but he didn’t actually do it unless we said it was ok), he didn’t shoot anything with his goblin rocket, he does a nice job driving Lord Legs, and his tremor totem timing on the core hounds was pro.

Bright spots, my friends. Focus on the bright spots. And kill that rat bastard Rhyolith next week. No problem, eh?

Tags: , , , ,

33 Responses to “Farm Status?”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    Yay for Vysh!!!

    I thought it was funny (to me at least) that the people saying that they are cool with wiping on progression fights were the first ones frustrated and pissed last night. Killing a boss once (and being lucky at that) does NOT put it on farm.

    With Beth, it was kind of the same situation. We had someone else doing Ado’s job. That person had to LEARN how to do that job. Not everyone is a Zug/Ado/Zarm and is an insanely awesome player. People have learning curves.

    I am still under the impression that Beth is NOT on farm. Shannox and Balroc are. Beth and Rhyolith aren’t.

    I do find it funny that I was teased for being too “positive” last night.

  2. slice Says:

    Shannox and Baleroc yes. Beth is getting there. Rhyo….the RNG on where those volcanos spawn is maddening.

    Zarm has posted something up at SR forums, read up and suggest away

  3. Arvash Says:

    I think this week has been more of a wake up call than anything else. It just goes to show you that nothing is certain. Everthing that could go wrong went wrong on Rhy, whether it was to bad RNG, bad volcano placement, stacks building too high, adds not dying fast enough, Van’s dps, not turning Rhy fast enough, whatever. Bedrock is technically the fifth boss in the raid, maybe Rhy should be guarding the gates instead.

    We’ll pick it up fresh next week. Who knows, maybe we one-shot Alysrazor next week, lol.

    BTW, Firelands hates SR tanks; one trinket and two belts in 8 weeks of raiding, I think Zarm is almost done filling his main and offspec with gear. /sigh

  4. repgrind Says:

    Why you got to bring up my deeps again? I am trying as hrad as I possibly can! U r so meen!!! *runs away and cries in a corner*

  5. Arvash Says:

    I blame the 70k wipe on your dps. Smite harder, slacking paladin!

  6. repgrind Says:

    omg smite is a priest spell! l2play our class!

  7. koalabear21 Says:

    Dude Arv thinks I can drop a table. I am not surprised he thinks pallys Smite ;-)

  8. Cayle Says:

    wanna think about something scary? Zarm was entertaining the idea of having Vysh heal Ryo!

    That’s scarier than looking at Lyss!

  9. Arvash Says:

    ^^

  10. repgrind Says:

    This is why I like SR so much. We can wipe 23 times on one stinking boss one night, and then my comment section erupts in jokes and laughter the next morning and we pick up and move on because in the end, what matters is we like playing together.

  11. slice Says:

    ….vysh heal? huh? does not compute.

  12. Arvash Says:

    That’s what you think, half my desk is shattered and I need to request a new monitor from IT cause one of them has a fist hole in it…

  13. repgrind Says:

    Next time I’m tanking and Arv is healing. We’ll one shot him for sure.

  14. slice Says:

    Arv is angry asian!

  15. Arvash Says:

    Arvash Smash! ><

  16. repgrind Says:

    Haha I am totally picturing you in your ogre disguise turning your desk into splinters.

  17. slice Says:

    I am no longer the reddest asian, its now Red Arv

  18. repgrind Says:

    Yeah, but your redness usually comes from Lyssi

  19. koalabear21 Says:

    That is in a completely different area Rep* and you know it ;-)

    *edited because Lyssi can’t tell one paladin from another

  20. slice Says:

    …shhhhh….lyss does not make me red…errr well yeah

    But looking back at Arv’s inital comment, yeah i think we may have gotten a little too cocky. Rng is Rng at times, and we cant do a damn thing about it. Karma is a bitch!

  21. repgrind Says:

    Way to change the subject there, Slicey. Are your cheeks warm?

  22. koalabear21 Says:

    Can anyone ever have too much cock . . iness
    :D

  23. Cayle Says:

    I can see Slice flipping his desk at work and saying “DOMINO MOTHER F*CKER!”

  24. Arvash Says:

    Thanks Lyss, I think IT is coming down not to deliver my monitor, but to confiscate my desktop instead.

  25. slice Says:

    snitch mod:

    Slacking Paladin’s – vanicus!

  26. repgrind Says:

    … you have to include Arvash there, too, ya know. I wasn’t slacking by myself!

  27. koalabear21 Says:

    Come on Arv, I said cockiness!

  28. Arvash Says:

    You couldn’t have said Roosterness or Foghornyness?!?

    Crap…..

  29. koalabear21 Says:

    :D

  30. Zerlegen Says:

    kolabear21 said “Not everyone is a Zug/Ado/Zarm and is an insanely awesome player. People have learning curves.”

    I am insanely awesome. I am a Belf with long luscious blonde hair, AND I am a hunter. That is pretty much perfection.

    That is all…

  31. repgrind Says:

    <3 Zerl

    well, other than that whole huntard part …

  32. Rades Says:

    We were having the same problems with Rhyolith of having the active volcanoes spawn just all over the place! I’m not sure if you are doing this but we found it really helpful to immediately swing him to the outside, and then turn him in, so he is walking a wide loop around the outside of the platform. That way, no active volcanoes will spawn outside his path (because for this to happen, they’d have to be out in the lava).

    Sometimes RNG is a dick and we still get an active clear on the other side, but we can still get it in half a circle, instead of having one spawn right to his left while he’s turning right, meaning we will miss it that lap for sure.

  33. koalabear21 Says:

    Rades, I actually emailed your Frost DK guide to our drivers. It was a fantastic guide. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

