Let Him Live!

Van’s raiding debut, night two.  SR’s first visit to Throne of the Winds. I tried to get a pic of me hanging out there on one of my prized ponies, but someone had to go and get in the way of the screenshot. *sigh* Oh well, at least he’s easy on the eyes … and even has on the right pants!

So, Conclave went about like I expected it to. It took three or four pulls but we were out of there in pretty short order, adding a new boss to the guild records and putting us at 10/12 for the normal tier. I had to do a lot more dodging of permafrost than usual … Arv bounced around a lot more than Rev does. I guess I should have told him that he really only has to move out of ice patches and can just eat the permafrost. Oh well.

We skipped back over to Nef for a pull or three, but then Zug had to leave. We had a guildy on that we could pull in, but he hadn’t raided yet this tier and wasn’t quite geared yet … so we postponed Nef and took him to BoT. Heck, Van hadn’t been to BoT yet either, so I was happy to get the kills recorded.

Now, those of you in Crits are familiar with the Let Log Die game (sometimes also referred to as See How Low Log’s Health Can Go but that’s too damn long most of the time). The healers let Log’s health bar flirt with death, while Log tries his darnedest to run me out of mana. (Not an easy task to make a holy pally go oom) Well, SR has their own game … Cause Cayle’s Death (or Sorak’s, or Nedden’s, or .. whatever toon he happens to be on at the moment.) If you win this game, someone in the group pays you 10g. For reals. Methods for achieving this include but are not limited to … misdirects, tricks, FD, ice block, turning mobs in his direction that have cleaves, shockwaves, etc. Being somewhat rebellious, I have been making it a priority to NOT let him die. It’s a real challenge … we don’t call him Cayle the Floor Tank for nothing. But normal old healing is boring, so this is how I make it interesting.

We’re on the second of the two drakonid mobs after Valiona & Theralion. Arv is turning the guy every which way trying to get Cayle in the cleave. I’m like ‘meh, it’s trash. I’ll have plenty of time to drink and regain mana once this mob dies.’ So I roll Divine Lights on him.  I win the game.

Now for the elementals. Plenty of opportunities for deaths here. Things are going along, stuff is dying, I’m sort of spacing out, when I hear Cayle on vent go ‘Damn, I’m dead’ … I look up and he’s got a sliver of life left.

/cast LoH

Then Slice’s voice comes on … ‘Ok who wasted a Lay on Hands on Cayle!’

I’m laughing my ass off but I key up and say ‘I have no idea what you are talking about’

The pull ends, I sit down to drink … and all of a sudden there’s a trade window open on my screen.

Score! That’s right, bitches! Cayle PAID ME for keeping him alive. You’re going to have to work harder than that to run up his repair bills now. Game on!

Tags: , , , , , ,

20 Responses to “Let Him Live!”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    We might have to re-work this so that Fayle starts dying again

  2. repgrind Says:

    Bring it on!
    I’ll just keep taking Cayle’s gold. It’s a lot more fun than undercutting Cownips.

  3. slice Says:

    …..Cayle = floor tank. Let Cayle die is the SR version of letting Log die in Crits! Stop breaking the universal law in the universe!

  4. Analogue Says:

    Do you think I could persuade Log to start paying me to save his butt?

  5. repgrind Says:

    But … WOULD you save his butt? I mean, it’s only gold.

  6. Analogue Says:

    Yeah but he has taken so much of my gold I think I should get some back…

  7. Sorak Says:

    “Stop breaking the universal law in the universe!” Slice is redundant.

    anyway…..GAME ON BITCHES!

  8. ReversionLFG Says:

    The orignial game was “See how low log’s health can go WITHOUT HIM DYING.” It is just to easy to kill the off tank…. well, if you are a healer. I go cat /cower and I still can’t get enough things on him to drop him very often.

    But you can’t leave that last bit off or it just messes the run up. Like the “Run Kerick out of mana WITHOUT WIPING THE RAID” game. It is a lot easier if you leave off that last bit…

  9. AngerFork Says:

    Aw man…does this mean that other heals are gonna start costing money too?

    *saves up a few thousand gold for his warrior, which should really be named Kenny*

  10. repgrind Says:

    Waitwut? Van’s getting a girlfriend named Kenny?? Or is your warrior going with MALE belf! That would be hawt.

    *makes Van an ‘OMG they killed Kenny! You bastards!’ macro*

  11. AngerFork Says:

    I hadn’t thought of rolling a Male…but I might test out a few looks. Z’s a pretty gender non-specific name anyhow. ;)

  12. repgrind Says:

    Well … it’s also belf. I don’t think belf and gender-specific often go in the same sentence.

  13. AngerFork Says:

    So true…yet Belf and hawt go together so well! Hmmm…

  14. Will Says:

    Lol!

  15. repgrind Says:

    Incognito today? It’s ok, I won’t give away your identity. ^.^

  16. Gromitdaddy Says:

    Naw, had issues updating phone software and had to start all over again :(

  17. repgrind Says:

    That’s what you get for using Apple products.

    /waits for Analogue’s response

  18. Troutwort Says:

    I named my hunter’s pet wolf Kenny because he dies so much.

  19. Chavor Says:

    Hi i would like to know the name of your bag addon.

  20. repgrind Says:

    Oh sorry, I was away for a week so I just now got this comment. It is … hm. I’ll have to look , it was one that was mentioned in the WoW Insider column on addons.

    Ah, here it is. Adibags. I’m not 100% satisfied with it, but it’s better than what I was using before, which was … nothing. lol

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

