“Bad Druids” and Halfus Dance Party

“Bad Druids”

I logged on last night with no real plan.  I was going to run through everyone’s fishing and cooking dailies and maybe fish up some buff food in preparation for this weekend’s raid and then go from there. I was in the middle of the fourth fishing daily when Cael asked if anyone wanted a random. I was on Rags so I figured ‘what the hey’ and said I’d go. We picked up a couple more DPS in guild and away we went.

Stonecore! Well, we have a repent, a sheep, and a mind control. How bad can it be? Famous last words, right? Although, the CC wasn’t a problem. The pug healers, however … The first druid we got, I spent more mana shielding him than dps’ing. I don’t know how he got so much aggro. He stood in Corborus’ burrow  twice, said “i think it’s time you made this an all guild run,” and dropped group. The second druid did the same thing once, but we downed him the second time. Then wiped on the next trash. Druid #2 dropped group in the middle of the next pull.

Cael tried to requeue us but I said “two was enough, I’m getting Kerick.” I didn’t want to deal with a revolving door of healers. I suppose I could have tried healing it on Rags, he does have a holy spec. But I have a bit of a double standard I guess. I’m perfectly fine with coming in as a DPS with no gems or enchants, but there’s no way I’m going to heal that way. As my fourth alt who has little to no chance of seeing the inside of a raid, I haven’t bothered to spend the resources to enhance his gear.

The rest of the run was fine. Sure, we had some rough spots .. it’s Stonecore! But honestly, I can say from healing the rest of it, there was nothing wrong with Cael’s tanking and he wasn’t especially squishy. I’ve been healing Log and Squishybear, trust me, I know squishy and Cael wasn’t it! So maybe we just got unlucky and got inexperienced dudes queueing on their offspec to not have to wait in line for an hour. (One was even named something with boomkin in it.) IDK. Maybe Analogue can tell me if resto druids are especially squishy … I know they have lots of healing aggro. But I don’t know enough about the class to definitively label these two as “bad”, so I’ll leave the quotations around it. 

Halfus Dance Party

While we were finishing up in there, Cruel was putting together a BoT raid. I hadn’t intended to go, but Rev and Ana and Empy were all in, and they were short one DPS, so I grabbed Karius. Trash went fine, then when we got to Halfus and there were whelps, I decided to swap to fire for more AoE when they are released. So we had a mage of each spec in the raid. That was kinda cool.

After a few wipes, one of the shadow priests had an issue come up and had to go. So … what do we do while we wait around for a replacement to be found?

DANCE PARTY!

Kar got down with Empyrean and Reciprocal.

And some catdog action to go with the squishybear.

And of course, Invariant had to get in some shots, but since she’s a tiny widdle gnome, she had to find a way to be seen.

Best part is, we did actually get him down … on what had already been announced as the last pull of the night. I know for some people it was their first boss kill of the expansion, so grats to them! It was the first time Karius had killed him, too, so I was pretty happy with that.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

26 Responses to ““Bad Druids” and Halfus Dance Party”

  1. Analogue Says:

    I had a lot of fun in there, pew-pewing away. Confirmed that my mage should be my pew-pew character. Now, I need to make her pants and a belt…. find her a backpiece that isn’t green…. let’s see, where can I get good trinkets…

    Druids seem to have an insane amount of healing threat, I don’t know why but you may have noticed that when we do Magmaw I’m out with the kiters…. because the worms are my friends. As to squishy, compared to paladins probably but doesn’t seem like we should be squishier than priests.

    One problem is that resto-healing is going to LOOK squishier in some ways. If a druid is doing it right, the tank’s health will take long slow trips back up to full, but stay closer to full all the time than if a paladin is healing him. The paladin will result in a “spikier” feel, where the dips are lower but the recovery time is faster.

  2. repgrind Says:

    I was just wondering if they were dying because they were so focused on keeping Cael up because he’s squishy and/or hard to heal. Since I stepped in and healed the rest, I know that he’s not. He was quite concerned that the run was going badly because of his tanking, so I know he was very relieved when the rest of it went pretty smoothly.

    I was actually kind of stunned when whatsherface went down, the last boss. I was like ‘waitwut? she’s dead already?’

  3. slice213 Says:

    Ugh stonecore…it is the new Hall of stone from LK.

    Sounds like an awesome time! :) Wonder what it would like to be in a Crits raid…

    Agreed Druid healing is insane imo. I think they are in a good spot atm, only thing I wish they had was some other kind of cooldown.

  4. Analogue Says:

    @ Slice – we need another dpser this weekend… bring someone over and check us out :)

  5. repgrind Says:

    Slice DPS? Aha. Ahahah. AHAHAAHAHAHAH!!!!

  6. Analogue Says:

    Well, if it’s Slice or McKenna….

  7. repgrind Says:

    I’ve seen him tank and heal. Don’t think I’ve ever seen him try to DPS.

  8. Jasyla Says:

    Druids do generate quite a lot of threat. Last time I did Maloriak I ended up tanking adds for a good portion of the fight.

    It makes me glad I’m a Night Elf. Shadowmeld is my friend – though I’d kill for a druid Fade.

  9. slice213 Says:

    Wait I tanked? Oh yeah i did lol. tanking is not my thing. Last raid boss I dps’d was Argaloth – 13-14K or so. (Lyssi cheated and beat me!) Maybe I would transfer over the 73 mage (and lvl them). hmmm. hmmmmm.

    @ Jasyla – Agreed our druid got chewed on by the adds for a sec or two. The mobs just want some HoT loving as well!

  10. repgrind Says:

    Yeeeahh … cuz we need more mages. Someone level a freaking huntard already!

    j/k We actually have just one mage who is on the everyweek roster. We’d love to have you come have some fun when you have time.

    Maybe now that I’ve got my three roles here covered, I can start leveling one of my hordies. Just let me know what you need the most. ;)

  11. slice213 Says:

    I would love to raid maor! Fri and Sat i haz no raids :P LOL I forgot about numerous mages ya’all have lol.

    As far as horde toons…take your pick…just no maor hunters!

  12. Analogue Says:

    Gif us a hunter nao!

    If you didn’t want to transfer, we’d take a dps-dk…

  13. repgrind Says:

    Shoot, I transferred all my stuff there. He can transfer something here!

    I suck at hunter anyway. But I have a(nother) mage and a(nother) DK that just need 5 levels. Just depends on if you need melee or ranged. Or tank I suppose. The alts are all listed up there to the right on the sidebar. Or at least, the ones on our two servers. We won’t talk about those OTHER alts over there yonder.

  14. slice213 Says:

    @ Analogue – I have a DK on Winterhoof…lol just 57 though lol. My lock in Crits is 12? and Rogue is 11. I is a slacker!

    @ Rep – A tank would be nice but up to you, play when you can and play what you like to. :)

  15. repgrind Says:

    My addiction to DKs is well documented. And he’s actually already started some questing in Vashj’ir, so apparently I had already sort of pushed him to the front.

    The real question is, keep mining/engineering or do something else? Wait. It’s a pvp server. Hm. Maybe engineering is good. I should go to Storm Peaks and find him a Jeeves. *plotting*

  16. slice213 Says:

    Engineering is cool lol. THe epic helm that they craft is pretty sweet

  17. koalabear21 Says:

    A tank would be welcome! BUT we also do not have a raiding mage. So take your pick :)

  18. lagalot Says:

    A tree can barskin and hot up, facetank as bear, shadowmeld, bash/cyclone/root whatever is hitting them, cat dash, travel form, cower (notbad now!), stand in the tanks aoe, etc. Agro or not they should be able to handle it imo.

  19. ReversionLFG Says:

    @lagalot: True, but if they know how to do all that they are usually good enough to not pull off the tank in the first second of the fight. And if they aren’t then they can’t handle all that stuff anyway.

    @Slice: Bring anything! Well almost anything… Anytime you need some help powerleveling, or just want company for the grind, let us know. My El-shamy is close to 75 and I have a DK I have been meaning to power through the outlands.

    @Anyone: For those that don’t know, ‘squishybear’ is what we call my spare druid Reciprical. Since she is perpetually less geared than Reversion she is the squishier bear. She is starting to be less squishy and has now fough 5 raid bosses, tanked 3 and downed 4. But she is likely to be the more squishy one for a long time.

  20. repgrind Says:

    It’s too bad Selv (lagalot) left the server before you came over, Rev. You two would have plenty to talk about. Selv was the main tank in the guild for a long time, and he’s reaaaaaaaalllllly good at resto pvp.

  21. repgrind Says:

    Also, I banged out two whole levels on the Horde DK last night in Hyjal. It was after midnight before I knew it! I do love questing.

  22. slice213 Says:

    Planning on beinging the mage over. Going to get them to 80 so i can leave the heirlooms behind. Then gonna bring da mage over

  23. Analogue Says:

    Yay! I vote you change to gnome because gnomes are totally awesome in every way. But if you change to NE or Worgen we will still love you.

  24. koalabear21 Says:

    He will be a space goat or worgen

    I don’t think he likes any other race

  25. slice213 Says:

    lol i was temped to make a gnome. But for the pure win of it. prob gonna make it a worgen for the movement speed ability and the 1% extra crit.

  26. koalabear21 Says:

    Don’t lie about the gnome making

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

