The Best Part of Huntering

… is taming and naming new pets.

Some of my pets have names before I’ve even tamed them. Turtles, for example, are always named Killian, after a snapping turtle that I once knew in real life.

Others, however, have to earn a name through their personality and behaviour. (Don’t even bother to tell me they’re just pixels and have no personalities. What part of ROLE playing game do you not understand?) Sometimes this takes awhile. My ghost saber is still Cat … she hasn’t really been with me long enough to earn a name. Hmm … apparently she’s done enough to get a gender though. I hadn’t actually realized she was a female until just now.

Last night I was passing through Loch Modan on my way to Wetlands to do some archaeology (yes, yes I am addicted to digging in the dirt … enough to do it on a level 22). As I was riding, I realized ‘hey! I need a bear, and there are some LOVELY little black bears right here in the Loch.’ So I stopped and tamed one. I briefly considered a couple of standard bear-type names, and decided to table the issue until something came to me.

We stopped in Dun Algaz to do the little orc quest. (I had picked up the Hero’s Call: Wetlands breadcrumb in Ironforge.) Bear aggroed an extra orc that wasn’t all *that* close to the one I sent him on. I shrugged and chalked it up to the orc being in range of demoralizing roar and moved on.

The first dig spot was where the ebon whelps are. I sent him after one, we killed it, and then he kept running to one WAAAAAAAYYY over there, totally far away. He tagged it, and turned around and ran back to me beforeĀ facing itĀ and engaging it fully. I’m going ‘Bear, what the heck was that all about?’

We finished that site and did a couple of others in the zone before having to return to that spot. Again, kill a whelp and he goes halfway across the zone to tag another and bring it back. I type in guild ‘wtf Bear, why you aggro random mobs like that?’ and as I hit the enter key, I know exactly what his name is.

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “The Best Part of Huntering”

  1. Ado Says:

    I have to admit thats almost as good a name as Gurgie.

  2. Analogue Says:

    HAHAHAHA! oh dear. That actually did make me laugh out loud.

  3. Reversionlfm Says:

    I will have you know it took a heroic effort to not burst out laughing in this Critical Design Review I am in. Well played :D

  4. Troutwort Says:

    He he he, that is awesome.

  5. slice213 Says:

    XD
    XD
    XD

  6. gromdred Says:

    ROFLROFLROFL!!!

  7. rustbeard Says:

    Entirely true. And, frankly, I love the looks I get when I’m tooling around town, followed by a turtle named “Soup”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

