Crabby Old Woman Rant

You have been warned. Let the rant commence!

I logged on last night all set to adjust some keybinds and macros based on some tips I had read on a  … um … warlock blog (shhh don’t tell anyone I read those). Cynwise should be required reading for anyone, even if you don’t pvp or play a warlock. Her guide to warlock CC is awesome, and I added some mouseovers to my arsenal based on her new macro guide. Or, rather, I was in the process of adding mouseovers to my arsenal when the whole world went dark. The power flickered feebly a couple of times and went down for good. The flickers were quite eerie, really, because I could see the reflection of the streetlamps flicker in the window. Yes, that’s right .. it wasn’t just my house, it was the whole freaking neighborhood … a real life version of a visit from Deathwing.

Soooo … the whole area is dark. Turns out it was about 800 people with no power. Frack. I lit some  candles, put on an extra layer of flannel PJs, and cuddled up with the dog under some blankets with a bag of chocolates, a flashlight, and the Stormrage novel. Took them almost 2 hours to get power restored. Needless to say, I was cranky when I finally got to log back on.

Analogue nabbed me up almost immediately for a dungeon. I hastily finished the macros I’d been working on.  Well … I had to make some adjustments once we were inside the dungeon and a couple things didn’t work right, but still. Lost City … have I mentioned before that I hate that place? I mean sure, it was nice to do a random and not just farm SFK again but … ugh. I think there were about three different bosses where we wiped with a few percent to go and Time Warp had been still on cooldown when we engaged the boss … and we came back with Time Warp available and smashed them down easily. After the faceroll that was the end of Wrath, it’s a bit painful to realize that some bosses we just cannot down without having heroism.

Ok, so the dungeon part wasn’t much of a rant. I mean really, compared to some people’s experiences … I was in a guild group with some of my best in-game friends and we cleared the dungeon. I even got a drop. And saw two drops that Kerick would have loved that no one needed, but still … I left the dungeon still cranky, but not because of that. Just because, well … I don’t know why, actually. I just was. I felt like beating up on mobs.

(side note: someone just called and gave their address to have something sent to them, and pronounced the street as Ar Kansas. /facepalm)

SO .. I logged onto Kaly and ported over to Hyjal. Did a few quests, so far so good, mobs are dying, I’m throwing Howling Blast all over the place and reveling in huge Obliterate crits. (Seriously, if you want to see HUUUUUUUGE Oblit crits, grab a 2Her instead of doing DW.) Then, I’m on that quest with the Firelords and their fire elemental minions, where you have to talk to the fallen night elfs to get them to rejoin the fight. There are a lot of people here, from both factions. I land over near a fallen elf away from where others are fighting and engage the firelord. While I’m fighting, some @$#%$#&! warlock swoops down on his netherdrake and steals my elf. $#$@! And he was human,  too. Jerk. WTB the ability to gank members of my own faction when they act like dicks. I hearthed and logged back to Kar and went and did Archaeology for the rest of the night … the one thing I can do that NO ONE can steal what is mine or piss me off in any way.

Then this morning, I’m driving to work. Now, part of my drive consists of a few blocks through a park.  The road is one way, with one lane for motor vehicles, and one lane for walkers, separated by a double yellow line. The speed limit is 15mph. So I normally have a nice leisurely drive. I’m plugging along at 15, and the pickup behind me can’t stand it. He actually passed me. Seriously, WTF is wrong with people? It’s a park! With people walking!! The speed limit is 15!!! If you’re in that much of a @#%@#% hurry, stay on the main roads, dickwad. Yeah, I know it’s winter and there aren’t many people walking right now, but that doesn’t give you a right to be an asshole and break the rules.

And stay off my lawn!! *shakes cane*

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Crabby Old Woman Rant”

  1. Cynwise Says:

    I had no idea dabbling with macros could be so dangerous! I will put warnings on my next post. :-)

    Glad they were useful!

  2. koalabear21 Says:

    Oh and to poke the crabby old woman that is you, Cyn is a guy ;-)

    But yes he is awesome :D

  3. repgrind Says:

    Details, details. :p
    I tend to refer to bloggers by the gender of their character, even when I know different. Maybe that’s from rolling on an RP server originally.

  4. wolfgangcat Says:

    I’ve noticed there are a lot more “quest thieves” lately, but that might trickle out once Cataclysm isn’t so new anymore.

  5. DarthRegis Says:

    Naked auction house dancing would have cheered you up.

    With screenshots, of course.

  6. repgrind Says:

    lmao. Someone *really* wants some naked dancing for the New Year. Hmm … I’m not sure I have enough bag space on Kar to even GET naked right now.

    Oh! Almost forgot the good news! They added a mailbox to Ramkahen today.

  7. Analogue Says:

    It was a pretty good run even if I did give up and switch to my druid halfway. Is it just me or does this expansion seem a bit unforgiving for melee dps? If we’d had two rdps instead of two mdps, the fights would all have been cakewalks.

  8. gromitdaddy Says:

    WEll, I’m glad I got to run anything with you guys. Not only is it always fun, even with wipes, but I always seem to learn something about how to become a better player. YAY! for the Ramkahen mailbox! My would be from driving home last night, in a hurry to get there so I have a chance of grouping with you, light snow, streets are wet but not slippery, left lane – jeep – heavy lugged tires, right lane – Honda CRX – one of the best winter cars ever… speed? 10 in a 35 zone.

    I do have extra canes if you need one :)

  9. gromitdaddy Says:

    I hate how you can’t edit replies… “my would be…”

  10. gromitdaddy Says:

    why did it take out rant?

  11. slice213 Says:

    Crabby old people of the world unite!!!!

    /throws up cane in salute to the old crabby people posse

  12. DarthRegis Says:

    Bah, would you shaddap already! I’m tryin’ to watch the newwz!

  13. gromitdaddy Says:

    I’m old, crabby, and damn proud of it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

